We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very romantic hotel in the middle of Bangkok & very tasty thai food”
Review of Lai Thai

Lai Thai
Ranked #1,704 of 10,776 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Banglamphu
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very romantic hotel in the middle of Bangkok & very tasty thai food”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I choose that restaurant, because to eat on a small lake in Bangkok is not really easy to find. So we made reservation for the 2 tables on the water (have to call them and reserve).. all other tables are around the water...

The food was really excellent thai food.. not "farrang" spicy.. but real thai spicy they serve the dishes.. also prices are quite moderate for so a nice place and good kitchen.

Go there and try is worth ....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dude_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Urban Oasis with great Thai food”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We found this place by accident and are very pleased about it. The ambience is lovely with a large nice pond and lush tropical plants. There is a nice air conditioned area to sit indoors or you can sit outside beside the pond and amongst the gardens. We chose the latter and it was really very relaxing and peaceful. We noted that the indoors area was very tastefully decorated.

We found the service to be very efficient - the staff were lovely and friendly. The food was excellent in our opinion - well presented and cooked with great flavours. We had the Tamarind fried prawns, chicken Panang Curry and a beef salad dish - all of which were very nice.

We highly recommend this place for anyone seeking a little escape from the busy and hectic streets of Bangkok. Great food, reasonable prices and lovely ambience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place, ordinary Thai food”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The restaurant is very beautiful and romantic with lush tropical outdoor setting and a pond. But the Thai food served here is so so. I would come back but only if it were for a first time romantic dining with someone special, otherwise no.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luxuryoutlet I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Back here, and happy about it as before”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I came here some months ago, but I decided to come back for the place: it is really a special location, deserving a visit just for that. But the kitchen is good too, and the prices almost cheap (I mean, average for Bangkok downtown, but in an environment way better than conventional places with football matches on tv in soi Nana - something you may decide to avoid from the beginning). Obviously my favourite restaurant in this city .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and charm, good cuisine”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

A wooden house with a garden around a small lake, filled with art pieces, placed in the Sukhumvit area. This was the house of the Italian writer Terzani, and now it is a very nice restaurant, in an relaxed, quiet ambient, in the middle of downtown bustle. Price is cheap for such a fine place, and thai food is good (but this is a foreigner' opinion, I am not an expert).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lai Thai also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Lai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing