We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the walk”

Royal Barges National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.13*
and up
Half-Day Thonburi Canals Tour in Bangkok
More Info
US$27.63*
and up
Bangkok Rice Barge Canal Tour
More Info
US$66.52*
and up
Private Half-Day Visit to Thonburi Canals and Old City by Long Tail Boat
Ranked #82 of 558 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum is home to the ornately decorated boats used in State ceremonies.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,996 reviews
1,772 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,671 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The large building housing eight Royal Barges is hidden down some narrow laneways that run alongside small canals. It is all very well signposted.
It costs 100 baht to photograph the elaborate barges and 200 baht to video. Of the eight - the most important is the one with the Golden Swan figurehead - called Suphannahongsa - this is the Kings personal barge. Each barge is laden with thousands of gem stones and intricate gold detailing. One with multiple snake heads was built for King Rama VI. There is also a Garuda headed one for King Rama IX and one with the monkey god Hanuman straddling a cannon. You are most likely to see these on the river around the Kings birthday in the first week of December.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    111
    42
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful but hidden away”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I only rated this average because of all the things to do in Bangkok it wouldn't be in my top 10 recommendations. The boats are splendid and everything they promised to be but I doubt you'd be here longer than an hour and the trek to find it takes quite a while so unless you like exploring walkways and locals haunts I not sure the average tourist would find it worthwhile. We had taken a canal trip on a longtail boat a couple of weeks before and we didn't stop here so if you want to do it by longtail ensure you are specific with the driver. Having said that I am glad we did it. Yes you have to pay to take photos but it is only 100 baht so pay up! The ferry at pier 12 takes you within a short walk of Khao San Rd.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful Royal Barges”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This museum is easy to get to by the long boats on the river. The entry fee does not allow for photos but for 90 Baht they give you a stamped tag to put around your neck so you can take as many photos as you want. They did walk and watch to make sure the people without neck tags didn't take any photos. I was more than happy to pay to take photos, it was well worth it. That being said the barges are huge, beautiful, with detailed carving, and they are encrusted with colored glass that is amazing when the sun hits it. I would love to see these out on the water for the King's birthday. I was really interested in seeing the differences between the different Kings' barges. I was the most interested in Rama IV's who was the King that was Yul Brynner portrayed in the King and I.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

As some of the reviewers have commented it is rather difficult to find unless you take a long tailed boat to their own jetty, otherwise it is a hike through narrow passages which does give you the opportunity to see how Thais live and work. The barges are very interesting although when we visited they were obviously undergoing some renovations so we were unable to get close to some barges. There was no entrance fee and we could not take photos from inside. They have obviously missed a trick as they don't sell postcards either. Perhaps when renovations are complete the experience will be more fulfilling as these types of barges are quite unique and certainly worth seeing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank trickydicky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
767 reviews
351 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was a surprise. These barges are exquisite and all housed in one place. They are gold and gem incrusted and yards long, sleek in every way. There are several of them and for any boat enthusiast or gem and gold enthusiast, this is impressive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pbuntarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Barges National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Royal Barges National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing