We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem, go and find it”

D.B. Bradley Dining Room at The Eugenia
Ranked #4,378 of 10,823 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Neighbourhood: Sukhumvit
Bangkok
Level Contributor
162 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, go and find it”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Eugenia hotel is a purpose built hotel that was constructed less than ten years ago but looks like a colonial home that has been there for ever. This olde worlde experience is increased by the old Mercs and Jag in the front. We were immediately welcomed by F&B manager Khun Tai who remembered our names all night when addressing us. A lovely touch.
The atmosphere is decidedly homely and the staff were more than happy for us to wander around and look at the eclectic decor from all over the world while we waited for our meals.
The restaurant seems to be divided into three or four small rooms and we were in the one by the French doors overlooking the pool. Sadly, because it is split up, it can sometimes take a little while to attract waiting staff but to be honest that just seemed to add to the charm.

The menu is considerably varied considering the size, ranging from tapas to pasta and including several Europen/French dishes. The Salade Lyonnais I had was tremendous as was the French sausage selection. The escargot was also delicious and served on a crunchy bed of salt and will be even better when they have invested in some escargot forks. My partner was very pleased with her snow fish and thought the mushroom and bacon was a nice accompaniment.
All in all, DB's is a great dining experience, it has one or two tiny issues (such as no evidence of a pepper mill) but what do you expect when you go for quirky and eccentric, it's a tiny price to pay. Another excellent touch was Khun Tai offering us tastes of wine by the glass BEFORE we bought it so if it wasn't to our taste we could choose again, I've never seen that before. Also, during the meal, the manager (I presume) dropped by to check we were ok and was very informative in telling us the history of the Eugenia.
We will definitely be back, and even though we live in Bangkok are also considering a night in the hotel as it looks so attractive.
Go find it, expect unusual and you'll love it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass H, General Manager at D.B. Bradley Dining Room at The Eugenia, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear KirkbyBlue,

You greatly please Khun Tai, Khun Michiel, the Chef, all the staff and me with your kind words and generous praise for The Eugenia’s D. B. Bradley Dining Room —Thank You!

Particularly satisfying are your comments about the gourmet dishes and the staff’s attitude.

Thank You also for your suggestions for improvements which are noted and will be actioned.

Kindly know that all the staff and I here in The Eugenia strive to please with cuisine and service that exceed your expectations and to help you feel a Valued Member of The Eugenia’s “Family”.

WelCome Back to The Eugenia for a memorable visit(s): as an esteemed hotel guest, a D. B. Bradley Dining Room patron and also may I suggest trying our soothing and rejuvenating spa.

Please, kindly look on its page on TripAdvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g293916-d3774673-Reviews-The_Eugenia_Spa-Bangkok.html.

Please feel free to contact me personally on gm@theeugenia.com if you have any further comments, questions or suggestions for our even greater improvement.

Warmest regards,

Olga Kovshanova,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pool Party more important than serving the Guests”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

After looking up the hotel online and encouraged by the photos, links and reviews we made reservations and planned a relaxed Sunday afternoon taking Tea in the colonial decor of the hotel. We arrived to find the Dining Room and Lounge in total dis-array. Furniture stacked up and rooms un-set. The staff were completely pre occupied with setting up for the evening Pool Party.
We were made to feel that our presence was an inconvenience. We were sat in a corner amongst the furniture at a table covered with the soiled linen from a previous meal.
We were not shown a menu but staff took the liberty of ordering for us. The food was equally disappointing. We got the impression it had been muddled together by a kitchen busy preparing for the night function. Just a few squares of bought in cake served cold straight from the refrigerator and some packet cookies.
if the Hotel is going to hold regular events in the space advertised for Guests then Management needs to communicate this to the guests to avoid disappointment and un-favourable reviews.
Judging by the night club style sound and light set up I would hate to be a resident guest or neighbour once the party gets going.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia-HM, General Manager at D.B. Bradley Dining Room at The Eugenia, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Graham S,

Thank you for taking time to write about your unsatisfactory experience at D.B. Bradley Dining Room for a Sunday afternoon tea.

Please allow me on behalf of all the staff, to apologize for your inconvenience. This is certainly not usual where we treat every guest as an esteemed member of our family and take pride in our renowned “delightful colonial silver service ambience”.

Please come and visit us again and I will personally see that you will have the top service and cuisine—kindly e-mail me personally when you want to come and I will be there to see that all is perfect and will include a special extra to, at least in part, make up for the unacceptable service previously: gm@theeugenia.com

Always at your service to please,

Olga Kovshanova,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Quebec Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Small intimate & delicious!”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We ate here one evening as we were guest of the hotel. Good wine list (A Chateau Petrus in Bangkok! and 3 premier grand cru classe on the wine list!)) Service is great, and while the menu is not that wide ranging, there is something for every taste

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass H, General Manager at D.B. Bradley Dining Room at The Eugenia, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Devon2325

You please your chef, staff and I with your kind review. Particularly with your “there is something for every taste” – Thank You!

Happified that our broad selection of imported French wines pleased your discerning pallet.

Kindly know that you will be WelComed back upon your next trip to the "City-o-Angels"!

Warmest regards,

Olga Kovshanova,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We dined at the restaurant at the wonderful Eugenia Hotel last night and had the best meal of our 13 night stay in Thailand. The delightful colonial silver service ambience, the fantastic waiter and fabulous food all came together for a wonderful evening. I had the rib eye - delicious, while my partner had the chicken and was very impressed. We loved this restaurant and would recommend to all. Prices were good considering the excellent quality. Yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravellers264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass H, General Manager at D.B. Bradley Dining Room at The Eugenia, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear AussieTravelers264,

Thank you very much for your “Yum” review!

All out team, chef, wait and hotel stall and I are always aiming to please and give as you kindly point out “Prices were good considering the excellent quality”. Particularly touching is your complement “the best meal of our 13 night stay in Thailand”—Thank You!

Always know you will be most WelComed again on you next and all future visits to our "City-o-Angels"!

Warmest regards,

Olga Kovshanova,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The setting was perfect to allow one to enjoy good food, and good food is what I had. Some of the dishes on the menu were very imaginative and the lamb I had was divine. One of the best dining experiences I have had for a long time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D.B. Bradley Dining Room at The Eugenia also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to D.B. Bradley Dining Room at The Eugenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing