We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay but unlikely to come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metro Resort Pratunam
Ranked #474 of 732 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Our room is decent, fairly clean and spacious but doesnt come with a bathtub. The drainage was also abit choked so when we bathed, our feet were submerged in water. We got the room on 3rd floor, near to the elevator. The place still contains telltale signs that it was once a shopping mall. On the first floor, at the elevator area - it leads to the back of the kitchen, so you can catch distinct whiff of oily cooking smells when you pass by. At times, the oily smell can be detected on the 3rd floor and in our rooms too. I also concluded all our room doors are faulty - It is quite a challenge to lock/unlock them without using alot of strength. We could hear our neighbours trying to lock/unlock their doors early/late in the day too. Loud chatter and laughter of hotel guests who walked by our doors can be heard too - guess bec the place is quite huge so the echo gets abit louder. The bed is rather hard - each person only has one nearly flat pillow and one small square cushion.

Buffet breakfast items remains unchanged during our 4 days of stay although food is fairly decent. I stucked to toast and jam most of the time as I thought the street food outside the resort was tastier.

TV in our room had very bad reception. We could not watch any channels except one local channel, which was speaking in Thai throughout, so there was not much entertainment after we retire to the resort. The resort also did not have any room service for food/drinks - so if you are someone who is into late night supper, i would suggest you prepare yourself in advance. There is a refrigerator in the room but with nothing inside except 2 bottles of complimentary water.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AudKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

We booked 3 nights for end July 2012 thinking that it should be decent given that it only opened earlier this year. To our disgust it is in a bad condition!
The lobby looked fine but when we proceeded to the lift, we could see a thick layer of dust in the air as there was still renovation going on in the basement, the floor was greasy and it smelt of kerosene. We were given a room on 2nd floor which had a faulty safe with no instructions, the door latch was broken off and the door was made of filmsy wood. The toilet was appalling with what looked like pee stains on the seat. When we complaint to the reception, they reluctantly allowed us to change room.

At the reception, we were very surprised to see a notice that said that the hotel was sprayed for termites on that day(which expalins the grease and the smell) because this is a new hotel!

We were reallocated a room on the 4th floor which is in a better condition. However, when we returned at night, we discovered that there was plumbing problem and the shower area will flood when you shower. We had to wait 1 hr for the water to drain off so that the next person can shower.

Throughout the night, we could here doors closing and opening and could even hear very clearly the walkie talkies the housekeeping staff were carrying. We soon discovered that the hotel staff were sleeping in the next few rooms (in actual guest rooms!). We also noticed a backdoor that was always open and could be accessible by public from the alley which makes it very unsafe.

Totally disgusted, we checked out of the hotel next day. The reception did not even realised or was bothered to ask why we are checking out 2 days earlier. We moved 2 lanes down to Centrepoint Petchburi 15 which was a haven compared to Metro Resort.

I have stayed in budget hotels before and hence do not have unreasonable expectations given the price I paid. But this hotel is way below standard. There are much better value for money hotels in BKK of better location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
4  Thank Eviljojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I have just stay at this hotel from the 4/7 - 7/7, room is big, clean, aircon is cold but do not adjust to below 25 deg as it will have leakage problem.
I have tried to ask to extend the check-out time till 4pm but they refuse. Only allow to keep the room till 1pm, if need to extend till 4pm have to pay THB500.
B/fast is simple :- bread, fried noodle/rice, egg, veget, sausages, ham & fruits.
Location wise it's at the main road just about 5 - 10 mins waliking distance to Platinum Mall very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the 1st floor if possible if not then get the rooms near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

just back from bkk .. main reason for staying here.. its location.. just a short walk to platinum mall and to ratchathewee bts station. bts is fast n convenient to travel which we took bts to chatucak.. can even walk to mbk mall abt 20mins. save us the hastle of jams n bargaining when taking tuktuk or taxis.
staff are friendly.. good wifi reception in the lobby n rooms for your smartphone and there are 2 pcs for use in the lobby. the rooms are basic n comfortable.. aircon (split unit) is good. hotel needs to tune its tv channels properly.. most channels blur.
walls are thin.. can hear ppl walking n talking down the corridor.

we are out the whole day.. so as long as hotel location good, room is clean n aircon cold.. is good enough for our need.. which metro meet the need for traveller looking for good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank patkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel used to be a shopping center and has been transformed into a hotel over the past months. Being new, the rooms and toilets are really clean which made the stay there pleasant. The hotel is also located along the main road and within ten to fifteen minutes of walking distance to the Platinum mall.

However, do not expect too much of the breakfast -- it's a simple affair. Not to worry, there are many eateries around the Platinum mall area. My suggestion is have a light breakfast at the hotel and find a nice place for a satisfying lunch. There are two 7-eleven convenience stores right beside and opposite the hotel.

Also, do expect some noise along the corridors as the walls are not sound proof. I could hear other guests walking or talking as they walk through the corridors.

All in all, the stay was not too bad. Thumbs up for cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WinnyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The check in and check out was smooth and the staff was friendly. Some of the reception staf, able to understand up to an acceptable level of English.
The location was rather good as its about 10 mins of walking to some shopping centres, cant really recall their names, and about 5 mins of walking to a street of massage centres.
Room was spacious and contains a safe( not working ), a refridgerator, a table and 2 chairs and still theres plenty of walking space. The cons of the room, there was 2 places where water was dripping down. There was a hole right at the edge of the room and my friend placed her hard case luggage there the first night and the cover ended up damp. The other hole was near the wash basin in the toilet. Luckily only our toiletries got wet only and my electronic shaver wasnt placed there. The walls of the room were rather thin as my room companions said that they could hear the footsteps and conversations of the other guests who were walking past early in the morning. We placed our valuables with the front desk for our entire trip as our safe wasnt repaired yet.
Wifi is available but limited to one person per room using at each time.
Breakfast was acceptable but the tea and coffee seems too diluted for our taste. Btw, there is a leak around one of the breakfast area table as well. Do watch out for it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DICKYLEE_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RendySurijanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
myhotel Pratunam
#510 of 891 in Bangkok
284 reviews
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#381 of 891 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cubic Pratunam
#747 of 891 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Metro Pratunam Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,347 in Bangkok
313 reviews
Baiyoke Boutique Hotel
#650 of 891 in Bangkok
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Resort Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Resort Pratunam

Address: 599 Soi Petchaburi 13, Petchburi Road | Thanon Phayathai, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #474 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £26 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Resort Pratunam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Metro Resort Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing