We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, not so great dorm rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hello Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hello Hostel
Ranked #777 of 1,132 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, not so great dorm rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hello hostel for 2 nights in March.

As a solo traveller I had booked for its proximity to Khao San Road. Just a 2 minute walk to all bars and nice restaurants on Ramboutee Road.

The street that the hostel is on is also the main clothes market area so it gets quite busy.

The rooms were very basic but for the price that's what is expected. The bunk beds were decent sized but had a horrible plastic material under the sheet which was very uncomfortable with a thin blanket also.

The toilet was shared in the bedroom between 8 people with a massive dust bin in which seemed to attract cockroaches as I spotted a couple in there.

The fan was powerful only if you are on a bottom bunk, if you were on the top it seemed to miss most of you as it was in the middle of 2 bunk beds.

The wifi is quite good they also have a quite a few computers to use in the reception too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank xtashadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    5
    9
    5
See reviews for
1
2
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I booked this hostel and it was my first time visiting BKK. I stayed in a 10 people dorm. Comfortable beds, wifi included, shower was clean enough. Fans in the room worked well (no air-con) and staff spoke great English. For 200THB a night I was happy with the place. Computers downstairs were always available. So close to Khao San only a 2min walk. You can hear music pumping all night on the weekend but I don't mind that kind of thing.

Room Tip: Be aware there are only stairs to get to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I have been treated really badly by the staff. I asked for the password of the wifi and I couldnt understand what the lady has written. Therefore, she became really angry and shouted to me that I was asking too many questions.
Furtermore, the toiletseats are broken and there is not hot water.
The beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotte18394055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

suffolk england
Level Contributor
240 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Got back late by bus from Chumphon and rather than risk cowboy taxis and tuk tuks which surrounded the arrival at the bus stop I decided to look for the nearest place which was the Hello hostel.amongst the grimy buildings
I paid 540 baht for a rear room (£12) with aircon and could have a second guest for an extra 200 baht but was solo The owner was asleep on the couch but awoke to take my money plus a 500 baht deposit for the key Room was basic and I changed the sheets from a pile on the stairway and grabbed a couple of towels The shower worked alright and there was nothing alive in the room. There was a mini fridge so that ws handy I had 2 excursions planned for the following days so left the bags there and enjoyed Bankok not for families or honeymooners.

Room Tip: Ask for a key and try to find the best. Room 33 is at the rear with a view of tenement roofs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

The staff are a bit hit and miss some were friendly but others weren't. The dorm room was very very hot with very few fans. I've stayed in places for the same price on Khaosan Road that were much nicer, but I was trying to escape the craziness for a while which worked out okay. But the traffic is really noisy during the day when you're trying to sleep, if you're out and about that would not be an issue though.

Room Tip: Often there isn't anyone staying in the air conditioned dorm and its not locked, so you can just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khao Lak, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We arrived in the morning, at due to songkran we couldn't acces to the hotel we wanted in Kao san. So we stopped at Hello hostel! Mistake!! VERY bad welcome. My sister had a big, not so heavy just big, luggage and she asked if someone from the hotel could help her to to take it to the room(4th floor) they said NO, she even said she will pay for the service! NO and no was their answer. The had to beg a guy in the street to help her. Then arriving in the room, big , massive horror. The rooms( we had booked 2 rooms) were NOT clean. The sheets were dirty and not changed since the last occupant, with stains. I am not even talking about the shower. We had a quick look before we book but just a quick one, we should have had a better one to be honest. So the sheets were dirty, as was the shower. We called the maid to change the sheets, it was like we were asking for the moon!
We went out straight after for the festivities. When we came back at night we discovered that the rooms were FULL of coackraches. That was really too much, when we went down to ask for a cockraches spray they looked at us with disdain.
We decided to leave. As soon as we told them we were leaving they asked to empty the room IMMEDIATELY. Not in 5 min no , right now! So we packed and were outside with no idea were to go. When we asked the reception to call us a taxi, they just said they can't !
So NO CUSTOMER SERVICE, NO CLEAN!, NOTHING that will ever make us want to go back there...ever!
We went to Thaicozy guest house instead! So much more better, for the same price!

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snounite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Hello Hostel is a decent choice for a few nights in Bangkok. I paid $10/night for a bed in an 8-bed dorm w/ AC and found it to be pretty clean. The front desk staff is very unhelpful, and may even ignore you all together upon arrival. However, the location makes up for the inconvenience, as you're just blocks away from the action on Khao San, but the hostel itself is quiet.

Just FYI, I had my laundry done through the front desk and it came back sans a pair of Nike socks and belt. The staff tracked both down within a day, but only after I realized what was missing and made a bit of a stink. Be sure to check that you get everything back if you go this route.

Room Tip: They have individual rooms on the upper floors for approx. $25/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Baan Bovorn Khaosan
Baan Bovorn Khaosan
#208 of 606 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Banglamphu
The Street Hostel
The Street Hostel
#134 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Banglamphu
No photo provided
Brunch Makers Hostel
#497 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Counting Stars Hostel
Counting Stars Hostel
#213 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Banglamphu
Rang Kha Mhin Hostel
Rang Kha Mhin Hostel
#120 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Banglamphu
Warm White Hostel
Warm White Hostel
#92 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Hostel

Property: Hello Hostel
Address: 147/5-6 Kraisri Rd. | Taladyod, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #777 of 1,132 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hello Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Khaosan / Grand Palace, Hello Hostel is the perfect place to experience Bangkok and its surroundings. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Wat Bowonniwet, Rambuttri Road, Khao San Road. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Bangkok hotel. A selection of top-class facilities such as safety deposit boxes, Wi-Fi in public areas, business center, coffee shop, laundry service can be enjoyed at the hotel. Step into one of 11 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as shared bathroom, television, shower, satellite/cable TV, refrigerator. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Whatever your reason for visiting Bangkok, the Hello Hostel is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hello Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing