We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stop over in bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mode Sathorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mode Sathorn Hotel
Ranked #142 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“stop over in bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed her 4 times over the past 18 months. Well located hotel for the Skytrain and the river.
Great well furnished modern rooms. Excellent breakfast choice. Food and service excellent. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    522
    177
    43
    26
See reviews for
133
727
110
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful, modern hotel right next to the Sky Train and near Silom and Siam Square, which is ideal for zipping around Bangkok. Great staff and breakfast and the rooms are just stunning. The most comfortable beds ever and the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because the gym is dark and small.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I've been a regular to the city of Bangkok due to work. Stayed at hotels usually in the 4 to 5 star categories each time and I'm usually rather satisfied with those I've stayed with, until this one. There are many to choose from within the same pricepoint. Since this is a fairly new hotel, expectation was naturally high. Aside from wanting convenience of location (this one is adjacent to BTS Surasak skytrain), the other aspect that I generally is quite particular with is service quality. This unfortunately, is where I believe the hotel needs to improve on the most. Front desk should have a crash course in courtesy training and most definitely, English skills to be able to communicate with their non-Thai speaking guests. Granted, some of the staffers are quite good at what they do, but a few rotten apples within their ranks would most certainly spoil the good image the rest are trying to uphold. I've been here since March 20th, 2014 and will be leaving on Sunday. So far, I've made a few constructive criticisms to the Duty Manager Nipat who's promised to look into the issues I've raised. Here are some issues I've encountered:
1) Rude Front desk staff,
2) Inability of staff to understand English,
3) Very poor lighting level in corridor and gym - safety risks,
4) Limited gym equipments,
5) Limited selection of breakfast choices,
6) 1 Lift out of 3 has malfunctioned twice,
7) Inconsistencies in their Service Mode guidebook and actual site notices, especially on operating hours,

At an average 3,600baht per room night, there are certainly better options to choose from in this city where hotels are aplenty. Take Eastin Grand Sathorn right across the street for example. I stayed with them on many occasions and each time, I left happy. In terms of price, service quality, facilities, food varieties (complimentary breakfast buffet), they are way ahead of Mode Sathorn. I do hope something positive will come out of reviews from their guests. As I was told and noticed, issue that was raised before still remained an issue even after several similar comments made in TripAdvisor. The management had better start reading up and pay attention to these comments.

Chris Lee

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisKSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel some days in March. This is a new and nice design hotel. I was exciting from the reception till the room. The staff was very welcomed and helpful. The ambiance was so quiet and comfortable. My room was so nice and comfortable bed with view to the city. The rooftop bar and swimming pool were amazing. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoko84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We liked it very much: central location. (Complimentary) Breakfast was really great. Staff is very friendly and the pool as well as the root top terrace are awesome.
Skytrain is in front of hotel and it is a short walk to the river.
In general I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars_G_aus_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3days...and we had a wonderful experienced..the staffs were extra helpful.loved their service.we had the deluxe urban style room.room were clean and great design.had a separate bathtub and shower.the food at the restaurant were abit expensive but was excellence.the bar at the top floor was awesome.the best of all,the hotel was exactly at the front of sarusak bts skytrain.a MuST try hotel.will definitely be here on my next visit to BKK.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ayden S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Last week I went to The Roof @ 38th Bar with friends to watch the sunset and enjoy a drink on my birthday. Arriving at the entrance of the hotel we were greeted by a very charming team of staff and escorted to the elevators up to the rooftop bar. Once again at the bar, the staff were all charming and attentive. The panoramic view was stunning and the sunset that evening was beautiful. Drinks are a bit expensive by Thailand standards but from 6:00 to 7:00 they have a happy hour and you can enjoy as many drinks as you like for 590 Baht, which we were happily surprised to discover was inclusive of tax and service. We managed three drinks in the hour, and my mojitos were perfect.

I used to enjoy drinks at the SkyBar at State Tower but prices there have gotten out of control and the bar is far too popular since it was featured in the movie Hangover 2. The Roof @ 38th Bar is a welcome alliterative and a place I plan to visit again. If the service and decor we enjoyed that day are any indication I imagine the hotel must be pretty amazing too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NipponNewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#47 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Silom
The Grand Sathorn
The Grand Sathorn
#206 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Silom
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
#86 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mode Sathorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mode Sathorn Hotel

Property: Mode Sathorn Hotel
Address: 144 North Sathorn Road, Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mode Sathorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Mode Sathorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing