We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My stay at Mode Sathorn Hotel”
Review of Mode Sathorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mode Sathorn Hotel
Ranked #138 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My stay at Mode Sathorn Hotel”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent. I stayed here in July 2014 and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Every member of staff was so friendly and helpful and always greeted you with a welcoming smile. I generally do not eat much at hotels I stay in but this hotel was the exception. The food was fantastic wether it was in the restaurants, the bars or at the swimming pool. Really good quality food. The rooms are brightly coloured and very clean with good views over the city and my bathroom had a shower and a bath too. The BTS Skytrain is right outside the front of the hotel so it is so convenient for getting around Bangkok without sitting in traffic jams in a taxi. The swimming pool while not very big, is very nice and has a relaxing sun lounging area next to it, and a very good pool bar. I cannot say anything negative about my 16 night stay at Mode Sathorn Hotel. I will definately be booking up again for my next trip. An excellent hotel with exceptional staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    558
    183
    47
    26
See reviews for
141
768
116
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SE London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived at the Mode Sathorn exhausted after a long journey. The modern reception and helpful staff were very welcoming. We were swiftly shown to our room which was very pleasant, clean and of a good size. Our room was cleaned daily and their system of switching on a light to say the room was ready to be cleaned efficient. The mood lighting and aircon, the rainfall shower and modern facilities were very comfortable and in fact I don't think I have ever slept in such a comfortable bed! The hotel pool was chic and very chilled, with amazing views. When we discovered how central to facilities we were and easy it was to access the Sky Train at Surasak, we had an amazing time in Bangkok! Would 100% stay at Mode Sathorn again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sezza75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maspalomas, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel twice, two weeks apart from a tour of the rest of Thialand.

So a quick run down
Location: Perfect for exploring Bangkok just a quick jump on the Sky Train to anywhere.

Roof Bar:
Definitely a highlight well worth a cocktail or ten. Great sound system and music make the city relaxing.

Breakfast: Great offering and overall good service. Although did wait for coffee one morning and the wall on the far side is where the air con comes out and can be a little cold.

Ground floor bistro: superb light a'la carte breakfast lunches and snacks. Not cheap but worth it for simple but stylish fayre.

Pool bar:
Nice area gets a little bit busy at times. The bar roof could be adapted for some sun lounger space with a set of steps. A few of the metal furnishings in the pool and light surrounds need some maintaince.
The pool didn't seem to be heated so was cool but nor unbearable when cloudy or dull. However a great facility for a city hotel.

Gym and spa didn't try but looked good.

Rooms. First visit we had room 2202. Lovely room great size and couldn't fault it. Lovely touches as in subsequent rooms such as in dependant air con in bathrooms and bedrooms, Safe, intelligent lighting, smart tv, free wifi, good selection of toiletries, modern stylish decor, well stocked mini bar, good view. We had requested early check I'm but reception didn't seem aware we killed some time at the pool however.

The only complaint one day returned at 5ish and the room hadn't been cleaned I phoned down and a chambermaid was at the door within seconds. On out second stay found some of the servicing is done quite late on the day.

Second time round:
We were told to book direct for best price. It had however shot up a bit from first stay and managed to find it cheaper on Internet. When we arrived we asked for a room on a high floor and non smoking. We were shown to a room on 3rd floor. Big room and just a nice looking as our first. However we noticed a smell of smoke then found an ashtray so asked to be moved. The next room was 3207.

Unfortunately this room isn't quite as nice it is considerably smaller. The wall by the window and beside the bed are quite marked and needs repainting. The carpet strip at the foot of the bed is stained and a bit thread bare in places. The stool for the desk is ok for just writing a note or using a laptop but no comfy seating like another room.

Perhaps we were just spoilt with other rooms!

Also the decor of the coridoor on the 3 2nd floor was quite shabby corners quite damaged and a leaky air con vent needed attention.

Then our keys didn't work and they asked us to collect new ones then only one out of two worked and needed sorting again.

We also didn't get our little offers we had received before with discounts and welcome drinks in it.

All that being said would come back and recommend just shop for prices and check rooms before comitting!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank davidcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Brilliant room, service, decor. Really friendly, helpful staff. Brilliant price. One of the best hotels I've stayed in. Highly recommended. Pool bar is cool and reasonably priced. Beds are super comfy

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancsamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Hotel is located right in front of Surasak BTS Skytrain which made it very convenient to travel using public transport. If going to Chatuchak it's easier to travel using Taxi, but make sure you agreed on the fare or use meter.

The bar @ 38th floor offer panoramic view of Bangkok & you can actually see Lebua from there. The swimming pool @ 11th floor also offer a very nice view.

The staff have good command of English.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A truly exceptional hotel. Modern, luxurious rooms with big beds and top quality fit out. Staff were fantastic, they organised our taxis, planned our day trips and booked restaurants on our behalf. The staff walked us to a fantastic Thai restaurant around the corner, if you go, make sure you order the Beef Massaman. Roof top pool was awesome. Awesome value for a true 5 star hotel. My wife and I look forward to returning to stay next time we are in Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 days at the hotel with our family of 8, paying for the executive room with my club benefits and we were quite excited as the website looked great. Arriving in the hotel we were impressed by the decor and the staff were welcoming however their English was so poor. I know we're in Thailand and can't expect fluent English but simple requests were impossible. The room was amazing and the view is to die for!! My major complaint is that the my club benefits were never explained... Little things like we were meant to get free cocktails from 6pm but we never shown where to go so ended up being charged £80 for cocktails as we drank in the wrong place once .We never got the free soft drinks aswell!! When we asked about the benefits no staff seemed to understand so we gave up. Having paid extra for these benefits it did annoy us.The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and the pool area was good however I never went in as it was freezing!!! The best thing was the spa, very reasonably priced and a wonderful experience. Overall it's a lovely hotel but service is really letting it down - if you get it cheap like we did it's worth it - I doubt we'll stay again though.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peace1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#44 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Siam
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mode Sathorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mode Sathorn Hotel

Property: Mode Sathorn Hotel
Address: 144 North Sathorn Road, Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mode Sathorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mode Sathorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing