We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“US equivalent would cost $300+”
Review of Silom Art Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silom Art Hostel
Ranked #232 of 1,276 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

I think the other reviewers must have stayed in the dorms (which we didn't see). For a young married couple who want a private, en suite room and appreciate cleanliness, comfort and quiet within easy walking distance of amazing food and sights, this place is Eden. We never saw a single bug and I can't imagine seeing a cockroach here.
The Silom Art Hostel is one of the best hotels we have EVER stayed in -- and it cost us $40 USD a night through Agoda.com! We're from South Florida, and the same accommodation would cost $300+ in Miami. This place doesn't have many reviews because it's very new, and amazingly it was quite empty during our four-night stay. At first, I was wary because the facility is so nice. I thought, "There must be a catch." But if there is, we never found it. The building is located down a quiet alley off Silom Road (slept great!). The Skytrain and numerous yummy restaurants are within easy walking distance. (Try the amazing Pad Thai at Suzy's in the lane across from the Indian temple). Stepping into the lobby of the hostel/hotel, you feel like you have entered a modern art museum. Colored glass bottles and construction worker hats have been brilliantly transformed into light fixtures. The sofas look like aluminum barrels cut in half with rubber boots playfully attached. Everything is colorful, funky mismatched -- and clean.
We had room No. 308, ("King Bed en Suite), a spacious, spotless room with a very comfortable king-sized bed (storage lockers ingeniously built underneath) a desk, a funky sofa, space for hanging clothes, a small balcony and attached toilet and large shower (with reading material afixed to the ceiling!). When we walked in, I ran around the room examining each feature with delight. I was so happy - especially after paying $85 for a tiny room in Singapore. Each day when we returned from sightseeing, there were fresh towels, chilled bottled water and a made bed awaiting us. The in-room AC is adjustable and quite powerful. The staff is friendly and helpful. I didn't want to leave. I wanted to move in - or at least decorate my future home like this fun, artsy hotel. I can't complain about anything. Superb.

Additional features: A beautiful rooftop deck, do-it-yourself laundry (30B for wash / 40B dry / 10B for soap), free (fast!) WiFi that works very well in the rooms (I even uploaded a video to YouTube) plentiful reading material to borrow, indoor hammocks, a computer area and drinks for sale ($1 canned beer!) Elevator. Dorm rooms available.
*Don't forget to greet PeePee, the adorable, mohawked mutt that lives at the laundry shop at the end of the alley.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CompassWhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Silom Art Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

Nice design, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Not much in the neighbourhood, like in banglamphu, but only a 10 minute walk to the skytrain. Got almost everything, working hot shower (as far as needed in bangkok), laundry and quiet, but friendly atmosphere, alas no food/restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank von_eschenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Unique if sometimes strange styling, quite spacious room (stayed in a double) with all the must-haves: free and fast WiFi, comfortable bed, shower (difficult to adjust).
Quite clean but that doesn´t save you from the occasional coackroach (hey, this is Bangkok !!).
Friendly staff, especially at the reception.
Because of the open staircase it could be noisy during the night (equipment and music at the reception).
Unfortunately without any atmosphere- probably it´s just too new ?!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rheinschiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This place is new, only 5 months old, very clean, amazing modern decoration, nice service, very cool room and great huge king size bed. nice location in Silom road.

The receptionist allowed me to take a shower after I checked out before my flight - very generous.

Recommended!

Room Tip: Could be still quite empty, and you can take a dorm room for cheap and stay alone!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oded1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights but we will definitely come back at the end of our trip. We stayed at a 5 beds room and it was really clean. We didn't like the plastic on the mattress but we understand why they do that. The bathrooms have hot shower and were also perfectly clean. The staff was so helpful, they helped us with every question we had.
There were not so many guest but we liked that. Our room was at the first floor and you could hear the people speaking in the lobby, so maybe if they are fully booked, it could get a little bit loud, but didnt happen at our stay. They are situated in the centrum, so everything ( 7/11, food court, shopping center ) are close to them.
All in all a perfect stay for a few days in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I got a lot of pics when i stayed at this hostel lol.. cant stand it to take pic of almost all corner and detail from this building. Very artistic, creative, and beautiful color make it perfect for ur memorable pictures from ur trip in bangkok.
Nice and helpful owner with good english. a young couple at the frontdesk i supposed, own this hostel.
what can i say more? just booked this hostel rightaway! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Very good Hostel...
Despite there is not enough people yet to create an atmosphere...
But it is one of the best i ve ever stay in my world tour...
I highly recommend..
Staff is super real friendly.....
The place is artist place decoration with an excellent vibe...Security is 200%....

Room Tip: You can bargain for a private room as they just open.....they are worth it....
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
I Sleep Silom Hostel
I Sleep Silom Hostel
#143 of 1,276 in Bangkok
101 reviews
Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
#16 of 1,276 in Bangkok
824 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Loftel 22 Hostel
Loftel 22 Hostel
#80 of 1,276 in Bangkok
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#29 of 1,276 in Bangkok
365 reviews
Silom
Amber Boutique Silom
Amber Boutique Silom
#32 of 691 in Bangkok
223 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#30 of 1,276 in Bangkok
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom Art Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom Art Hostel

Address: 198/19-22 Soi Silom 14, Silom Road | Suriyawonge Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 1,276 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £10 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silom Art Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silom Art Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing