We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would have moved if a room was available at another hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silom Art Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Silom Art Hostel
Ranked #188 of 1,136 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would have moved if a room was available at another hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Interesting building and reasonably comfortable rooms, though I kept hitting my head on a section of the ceiling that was too low. My main problem was the poor service and the detached and unhelpful staff. Not even a tourist map available. Luckily for me, the Lub D Silom hostel was nearby and the friendly, helpful Lub D staff gave me all the information and maps I needed. Lub D even helped me arrange day trips around Bangkok. Silom Art Hostel staff seemed completely uninterested in their guests. It was the worst accommodation experience during my Asia trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerM141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    21
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
21
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
washi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here nearly twelve nights on and off as we are traveling through Asia and using Bangkok as our hub. We originally picked it due to proximity to where friends were staying and we have stayed elsewhere in the city but always keep coming back when we need 2 or 3 nights of easy familiarity at the right price. The place is super clean, incredibly comfortable and the boys at the front desk are so sweet. Awesome roof deck and only 10 mins walk to Chong Nansi BTS. Better street food options on weekdays since so many offices are around. Sukhumvit is a better location but for the price 1,200 baht for 1 night for twin or king room it can't be beat. Great showers, fast wifi, comfy beds, and funky vibe.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dckatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Clean and spacious rooms. tastefully done rooms and hostels. Helpful staff. We would highly recommend. its equivalent to a 3 star hotel. Good value for money. They have a good sit out on the top floor. Chong Nansi station is close, its about 7- 8 min walk. Its close to Siam (50-55 THB by taxi). There is free bus service (77,15) to siam, central world area.

Room Tip: Double bed and Twin bedrooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smriti82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed in Silom Art Hostel for a couple of nights during my stay in Bangkok. The hotel itself is very, very cool. It is extremely well layed out and decorated. There is so much detail in every item and wall in the entire hostel. Even the chairs in the lobby had cowboy boots!

Apart from how awesome the place looked (I could go on for hours), Yoshi at the front desk was nothing short of perfect. He was super helpful with even the smallest of questions and was a joy to chat to. I cannot talk him up enough!

The location of the hostel did seem to be a decent distance from any tourist sights we wanted to see, such as the main temples, Khao San road and most of the "red light" streets. Bangkok is massive and sprawled out though, so it is hard to be close to everything.Luckily there is ample transport to make it pretty easy to get anywhere for quite cheap, so it didn't bother us too much.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hostel. Make sure you check out the awesome rooftop as well, and pay attention to all the little details all over the place. It truely is a work of art. Say hi to Yoshi for me!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

After arriving here I wrote a quick review about how amazing this place is. I still stand by what I said about how well designed and incredibly decorated it is. It's literally a work of art from the ground up... However, what totally detracts from that is the atrocious service given by the staff. Not only are they unhelpful, they are rude, and make you feel like you are inconveniencing them by staying here. It quite unfortunate because this place has a lot of potential.
Note to the owner:
1. Fire all your front desk staff and replace them with people who actually enjoy working in the hospitality business. People who have a personality and make the guests feel welcome.
2. Keep the air con on in the lobby. It's hot in Thailand and it makes the guest feel welcome when they walk in. People don't hang out here because they don't feel welcome. Keep the music on in the lobby during regular hours. Make people WANT to hang out here. People staying at Silom Art Hostel go to hang out at Lub D because they have a great staff and make EVERYONE feel welcome. Right now the majority of your guests only stay here because Lub D is fully booked. Is that what u want? This place could be serious competition for other hotels and hostels in the area. Right now it is not. It's not because of your staff and some other basic rules of hospitality that you are not offering. Such as soap in the bathrooms. How hard is that?!

I would really like to see this hostel succeed, but if some things don't change this place will never, ever be successful.
By the way, this is not only my opinion. All of your guests are saying the same thing. They talk about it in the room. They talk about it at Lub D when they go there to hang out and get away from Silom Art Hostel. Learn how to run a better business and I would love to come back and stay here. As for right now, this hostel gets a score of 3/10. Good luck ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theduke180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Me and my boyfriend only stayed here one night after our super long flight from Canada. That being said, we had a great stay. We payed 1200 baht ($40) for a nice, private room with air-conditioning and we found the place to be really cool looking, clean, quiet, and just all around great. Compared to the number of other hostels we stayed at in Thailand, this was definitely one of the nicest and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessM604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed the first night in a dorm. We had the room next to the laundry room, wich was quite noisy. The room was clean, the beds soft. The other four days we stayed at a king suite room. We payed $40 a night. We expected a lot for this price since it is quite expensive for Asia. Unfortunually it did not meet our needs. The floor was dirty, no towels, after the second day we received the bottles of water.

The shower was not working proparly, after one minute it turned very cold, and than it turned very hot after one minute again, and cold, and hot. We asked to repair this but the staff didn't do anything about. When we asked the second time about it, he said:'euhh, I think so yes..'. Worst shower we've had in our 2 months trip through Asia, especially for this price.

The staff did not speak English well and seemed not interested at all. We were not greeted when we enterd the building what is common in Asia. When asking information about taxis they did not offer any help or asked if they should call one for us.

The sounds made at the reception and hallway could be heard in the room, especially the printer, every morning around 7 we woke up from it. Eventhough we were on the third floor.
The roof terrace was nice at night. To bad we found half a hamburger and 20 empty cans of beer waiting for us. After our 4 night stay they were still there.

After two months of traveling in very crap and cheap hotels in Asia ($10) we hoped to stay here more luxary but no. The beds are very spacious and very soft. But the beds and the nice arty stuff in the hotel do not make the hotel worthwhile staying here again. The hotel could be very good with this arty stuff, if they improved certain things!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maar-itt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
I Sleep Silom Hostel
I Sleep Silom Hostel
#141 of 1,136 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
#14 of 1,136 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Silom
HQ Hostel Silom
HQ Hostel Silom
#117 of 1,136 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Amber Boutique Silom
Amber Boutique Silom
#27 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Silom
Orchid Hostel Bangkok
Orchid Hostel Bangkok
#105 of 1,136 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Silom
Triple 8 Inn Silom
Triple 8 Inn Silom
#138 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom Art Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom Art Hostel

Property: Silom Art Hostel
Address: 198/19-22 Soi Silom 14, Silom Road | Suriyawonge Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 1,136 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Silom Art Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Silom Art Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing