We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai villas are fabulous”
Review of Davis Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Davis Bangkok
Ranked #272 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 18 May 2010

For small groups of friends, colleagues sharing, families (or those who just want to REALLY spoil themselves) the thai villas at the Davis are a dream. Located in a central compound of the larger hotel complex, they feel a world away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, a real oasis in the city. Rich teak ceilings, walls and floors set off beautifully appointed rooms. Our 2 bedroom villa could sleep 4 adults comfortably, with good privacy for 2 couples: we had 3 bathrooms (an en suite for each double bedroom, and a further bathroom next to the kitchen downstairs. The surrounding gardens are small (after all, this is the centre of Bangkok) but beautiful. There is a small pool for the exclusive use of the guests in the villas, and you also have access to the main hotel pool, spa and gym on the roof of the main hotel. Breakfast was served in the main restaurant, and was your usual 5 star hotel style, with eggs cooked to order. Service was good: when we found that one of the waffles was a bit stale on the buffet, the staff instantly went to cook up a fresh one for us. Villas are not cheap, but represent good value for those who would normally require 2 or 3 rooms. Location is good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2010

Been here before, and found the same high standards prevailed. Was quiet due to weekend, and threatened trouble from Red Shirts.
But... same cool reception and attentive service given.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

My friends and I have stayed at the Davis many times over the years and have always found it to be a consistently great choice.

All the good has already been said in other reviews.

The neighborhood offers a full spectrum of accommodations from older serviced apartments, to new and ultramodern exec apartments/hotels, to boutique hotels etc. My friends and I have tried many of them and can recommend most (though we suggest you stay away from Hope Land) in the sense that you will get what you pay for so long as you shop around.

Tips: Book a package which includes internet service if you plan on using the WWW. Skip the expensive spa and go down the soi (toward Sukhumvit / Emporium Shopping Center) to the Asian Herb Association for a massage and pampering.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerwin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed at the Davis for two nights and would have stayed for a bit longer if we knew how nice it was. We did this before we flew home which was a lovely option as we had just spent a glorious 8 days on Koh Pahgnan.

The location of the hotel is very good, central to all of the markets, bars, restaurants and shops as well as being very close to Liumphini park (lovely green open space).

When we arrived the staff were very helpful and drove us to the corner wing which is a separate building (the newer part) two buildings away from the main building. We thought we may be in for lower class rooms but as this was the newer part of the hotel it was actually beautiful. We were wowed when we entered our room, nothing like we imagined as we only booked two days before on hotels.com and paid £35 per night instead of the £80 a night we would have paid if we just turned up at the hotel.

We had booked their basic room but it was utter luxury! All of the furniture looked new and very classy. We had a huge bed with labelled pillows (soft/hard) and a chez lounge for reading. The mini bar was fully stocked and very reasonably priced as well. Normally we are a little scared to eat from the mini bar as it is so expensive but here it was very affordable.

The bathroom was again, pure luxury. It was wonderfully modern and had a large bath tub and shower and a huge glass panel above the bath so you can watch tv while you bathe!! Don't worry there is a curtain that you can close if you want some privacy!! There were some very good little handy bits in the bathroom such as free toothbrushes, combs, hair pins and all your usual bits like soap and shower gel and you are given two free bottles of water everyday.

In the main building there is a huge restaurant that we did not try out although it looked lovely. We did, however, sample the room service a few times and were very pleasantly surprised. Room service is available 24 hours a day and is very cheap so we actually had it twice! Breakfast on room service was such good value for money, we couldnt finish it all. It worked out as about 3 course breakfast and two drinks for around £7!! I saved some of mine in the mini bar fridge for the next day!

We checked out the spa as well which was very very high end. It looked beautiful but was a bit pricey compared to the places on the main road. You can get a massage on the main road for £4 for an hour but the hotel charges £20 for an hour, still cheap but overpriced for Bangkok. The swimming pool is on the roof of the hotel and was very nicely done, unfortunately there was not quite enough shade for us as it was 42 degrees centigrade but very clean and pretty.

Overall if we went back to Bangkok we would definitely definitely stay at the Davis and we will be telling all our friends about it. As far as we are concerned it was as good as, if not better than any Marriott/Hilton hotel we have ever seen.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curleesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The Davis is the first boutique hotel in Bangkok. It is really stylish and impressive. I had a room in the corner wing and was most satisfied. The room was very clean, large and had many amenties.

Very nice and spacious bathroom and very comfortable bed. This hotel is really good value and certainly one of the better places I have stayed.

The staff are extremely helpful and very polite. Just outside is Subway and some other places to eat if you don't want to eat in the hotel.

The Davis is situated right at the end of Soi 24 and to get to Sukhumvit road and Phrom Phong BTS station it is a fifteen minute walk or a short taxi ride. They do offer a free shuttle service but I have heard that this is quite unreliable and a taxi is very inexpensive anyway. I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Wonderful facilities, great friendly staff and a location within walking distance of the sky train and shopping centres. Would not hesistate to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

A very nice boutique hotel with luxurious amenities but some illogical procedures and staff that could improve on their service.

Pros
· Beautiful rooms, modern design with all the amenities you could desire
· Wonderful swimming pools, one on the roof with beautiful view, another in a quiet garden
· Spa on the top level
· Stunning breakfast buffet for 199 Baht.
· Free shuttle to the BTS 1 km away, maybe back if you happen to catch them dropping someone off.
· Across from a supermarket
· Has a Starbucks (I consider this a con but many think it’s a pro)
· Upgraded us to a superior room in the Main Wing even though we’d booked a studio through Expedia

Cons
· Painful check in process. We booked through Expedia and gave the driver the address on the form, which is the main wing. When we pulled up, the doorman ran in to check and found out we were in the corner wing 100 feet away that has it’s own check in desk. When we got there and unloaded all our luggage, they decided we were to be upgraded to a room in the main wing. So some of us trooped back there, some took the golf cart thinking it was further away, then they loaded all our luggage up and brought it along. We were 7 people with 4 rooms and it took 30 minutes to get checked in, some of it due to the ridiculous Thai rule of having to photocopy passports. But really, for this class of hotel, if you have 7 exhausted air travelers in your lobby, take their passports, give them their keys and let them go up.
· Staff all wear fake name tags with Western names. What’s that all about?
· Pools close at 7 pm!!! What??? It’s on the roof, who will you disturb if you swim at 9pm, 10pm. It’s hot, the view is tremendous, open a bar- you’ll make a killing!
· Some of the front desk ladies were on the edge of surly, quite surprising for this level of hotel and this being Thailand. One even tried to lie about her name when there was a problem then claimed she was wearing an old nametag when she was caught.
· The distance from the train to the hotel is 1km, okay not so far in the whole scheme of things and tuk tuks are cheap I suppose but after shopping for hours and in the middle of the day heat, it’s a trek. Perhaps the hotels down at this end of the street could get together and have a direct phone in the Emporium Mall that guests could pick up for a transfer; hey, charge a little if you have to, I think it would be appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddyinbedtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#342 of 891 in Bangkok
778 reviews
Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
#264 of 891 in Bangkok
1,596 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#160 of 891 in Bangkok
1,748 reviews
Sukhumvit
Majestic Grande Hotel
Majestic Grande Hotel
#164 of 891 in Bangkok
1,673 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#96 of 891 in Bangkok
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davis Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davis Bangkok

Address: 88 Sukhumvit 24 | Klongteoy, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#99 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#194 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £41 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Davis Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Davis Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davis Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Davis Hotel
Davis Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing