We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Cheap Charlie's Bar
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
154
115
32
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
154
115
32
13
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Absolutely worth of take few drinks/beers. Prices are so cheap all drinks and the whole bar area is great.The cheap Charlie really can do that job.Thanks for great athmosphere and drinks.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank juhasatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2017

This may be one of the best and saddest things we did while in Bangkok.

The best, as Cheap Charlie's is one of the most absolutely fantastic dive bars I have ever been to. Tucked down in an alley just off of Soi 11, it epitomizes all that is great with dive bars - cheap drinks, limited seating and unique charm. We got there early, but even in the short time we were there the seats filled up. The conversation with strangers was great - I wish I was back there having another!

The saddest, as we heard that the block has been purchased and Cheap Charlie's will be closing later this spring. What devastating news - we come across one of the best dive bars in perhaps all of the world, and it is closing. At least we got there!

If you can - get there while you can!!!

Farewell Cheap Charlie's - glad I got to experience you!!!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank rdubbs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Having regularly visited this hole in the wall for a number of years, it will be a sad loss to Soi11 as it is closing down in March due to the building being demolished.

The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and the beer is cold and cheap. Seats are hard to come by due to it's popularity, it will be a sore miss.

Thanks Charlie for all the years of fun.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Katco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Great little iconic bar decorated with an eclectic assortment of "things". Cheap drinks, plenty of westerners. Great vibe. A must see whilst in Bangkok. Look for it though. It's tucked in an alley off Soi 11.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank GetawayGurll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We saw the buz while going to the hotel the first night and decided to try it the nxext night
definitely worth going there I have not seen drinks that low cost anywhere in the world
if you are willing to stand (tables are hard to get) inside a rope and talk and be merry with the crowd it is damn good
worth it

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank RajiveKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews