We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great old Thai house”

M.R. Kukrit's Heritage Home
Ranked #152 of 552 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Another great old Thai house”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I came here right after the Suan Pakkad Palace Museum. Both are interesting and worth going to, and IMHO a better choice than the Jim Thompson house. Kukrit's was deserted on a friday afternoon, and we were free to look around by ourselves. The houses are well maintained, furnished lavishly, and intriguing. For some reason, Kukrit's house has several sad looking dogs lying around and they have a money jar for "dog food". I love dogs but it reminded me of all the stray dogs you see in Thailand and Asia. Also, I think Suan Pakkad is a little bigger and nicer if you can only go to one, but both are nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MrJoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pahang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Oasis in the Concrete Jungle”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A beautiful home that still feels like a home, and not a museum. So many things to marvel at and so few tourists make this a great site. My favorite part was the bird watching pavilion, with its views of not only the birds but also the tranquil garden.

A beautiful space. Great way to relax and escape from the chaos of the city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Feel at home”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This place is a little hard to find. You need to watch out as you're going down Soi 3 from Sathorn Road for the single brown heritage sign clinging by a thread to the post on the left hand side. The tiny Soi you need to go down is on the right. Or, from Chong Nonsi station, continue down the skywalk to the buses (BRT) and then take Soi 9 on that road.

The house is small and can easily be seen within a hour. It hasn't been changed much since its owner lived there. There's a "been there since the 60's smell" hanging in several of the rooms. If you're interested in Khon theatre or how the 13th President of Thailand and founder of the Thai Rath newspaper spent the last 20-30 years of his life, or want to see the bed of Rama V this is the place to come. It's really more of an afterthought or something to do if you're in the area than a "must see." I'd been in Thailand a year before I ticked this place off my list of places to go at the weekend. It's worth a look but if you have limited time in Bangkok, don't go out of your way unless you have a specific interest in Mr Kukrit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank BibianaBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning and historical home”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

The gardens were spectacular. It was so quiet, calming an peaceful with the birds chirping and the flowers blowing in the wind...which is hard to find in the middle of Bangkok. It was a nice history lesson as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katybell31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Was going to say better than J.T's house, but notice someone already said it!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

But it is! And so much more interesting and meaningful. Quiet calm and peaceful and no shop attached! We came here as part of the Follow Me Bike Tour, so I'm not sure how to get there. Our ride leader was able to tell us all about the history, and it was so interesting, and we were lucky enough to say Hello to his Grandson. M.R. Kukrit Pramoj loved dogs and it is very evuident! It's a cool, calm and interesting place to visit. http://www.kukritshousefund.com

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Kiz105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed M.R. Kukrit's Heritage Home also viewed

 

Been to M.R. Kukrit's Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing