We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Friendly Staff and Owner”
Review of D'Pelican Inn

D'Pelican Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D'Pelican Inn
Ranked #723 of 1,185 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So Friendly Staff and Owner”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Actually, I went to both the D'Pelican Inn and their bar and grill called Buddy's. I had an amazing hamburger and a bite of my friends chili hot dog and I felt like I was in America. Great fries and side condiments like jalapeno peppers and diced onions were excellent on the cheese and chili topping the thick hot dog.
The hamburger was big and perfectly cooked on a nice bun.
Perfection at both restaurants all around.
Also really good music constantly playing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank StarKnight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently. I planned on staying 3 days but left after 1. The price was 900b a night on the website. When I arrived, the owner quoted me at 1,200b even though the rate is supposed to be year-round and there were 3 rooms available. Once I mentioned the website, I got the 900b rate.

Staff is always distracted playing on their phones and talking to each other.

Rooms have ok beds, but the smell of smoke is really really bad. The entire floor smells like a 30 year old building. The water pressure on the showers was awful. The TV make a loud buzzing sound and was unwatchable.

I checked out the next morning. There are much better options in the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Punnawithi
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great location off beaten track.Loved BBQ,great service,rooms very affordable.It was great to
enjoy the quiet atmosphere.The staff was very attentive.I would recommend to my friends.They
also offer shuffleboard,darts,and pool table.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows be sure to ask ahead if window room required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

for gods sake maintain your hotel. where does the money they make go?
i understand it is a old building and i can see they have tried a little bit buy putting cheap tacky art work up throughout the place but they are not trying hard enough. There are some things that NEED to be maintained and should not be optional. also simple things like having bars of soap available. really poor. sure some rooms have it but some are overlooked.
worst thing is the smell of the place. the rooms smell like poo and ciggies. probably due to the fact that there is no airflow whatsoever anywhere. also the carpet would be harbouring a lot of the odour i think.
the tv was working but emitted a loud buzzing noise on all the channels... needed replacing.
drinking water. should be free but here you pay.
the rooms have a very dark dungeon sort of feel (no windows), they could remedy this if they changed some of the lightbulbs so that they actually work.
airconditioner is more like a fan. I've had it on for 2 hours now and it has just become bearable and starting to cool down.
bathroom sink drains to the floor (pictured). so having a shave and brushing my teeth i was standing there wallowing in my own waste which soon filled the bathroom floor.
then I had to tell myself that some people have it worse and tried to visualise conditions in a thai jail to feel at least a little bit better.
look at the website photos you should know that when even the hotels own websites photos look bad that the rooms are only going to be a lot worse.
i'm sceptical of the first reviewer, they are not traveller photos they are trying to sell the place photos.
on the other side of things you have the restaurant menu and bar... this is not so bad. they also have a small bar up the road. i ordered a chilli burger from there. it took about 25 minutes and i instead got a cheeseburger but just ate it. not a bad burger. still wanted to try the chilli burger though so i came here to try it. quite good really. was so hungry i ordered the swedish meatballs as well with the mash. swedish meatballs i thought were delicious but i felt for 250 baht or whatever that they could give you a few more. mince is cheap after all.
i felt some of the items on the menu were a bit overpriced which turned me off eating here as much as i would have liked.
the staff... staff were ok. there was one girl that seemed to laugh a lot for no reason and speak no english. she was actually half the reason i stayed here as she made me laugh but i think they sacked her.
anyway I hate to leave reviews like this but some things need to be said.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nak_lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Great hotel. Friendly staff and beautiful setting. The food is great and there is a barbecue every Friday that is only about 9$. It is great! I loved the area of Soi 22 and also recommend he little bar on the corner called Honey Bar

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovedurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The staff are very friendly and attentive.

The bar-b-que is very good.

However, all beers are in bottle and NO BEER is available on tap. There is no happy hour and the prices are are a little on the expensive side.

It does not offer anything exceptional in comparison to other bars in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Seven Hotel
Seven Hotel
#405 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Sukhumvit
Radisson Blu Plaza Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Holiday Inn Bangkok Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Marvel Hotel Bangkok
Marvel Hotel Bangkok
#502 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Sukhumvit
Kashiwaya Ryokan
Kashiwaya Ryokan
#535 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Sukhumvit
No photo provided
101 Sukhumvit
#581 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Pelican Inn

Property: D'Pelican Inn
Address: 6 / 7 - 9 Sukhumvit Soi 22, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #723 of 1,185 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing