We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W Bangkok
Ranked #42 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
176 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Funky hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The W hotel is a very funky hotel and at a very convinient location. Rooms are great, but be sure to ask for your preferred color: blue, magenta and gold. Fantastic bathroom with the coolest black wash basin tabs. Breakfast was ok, but nothing special and the eggs didn t turn out well ( I love eggs benefict) . Music in the lobby is a tick too loud in the evening, you feel more you enter a bar than a hotel. Overall the staff was incredibly attentive and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank doritg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi doritg888,

Thank you for your comment. It is great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and the design was your liking. Music is one of W Hotels Worldwide passion points, so everywhere in the hotel will always have music in the background. The W Lounge is next to WOOBAR and every night we will have our resident DJs spinning at WOOBAR so you can hear the music from the W Lounge as well. I will be sure to pass on your comment to the chef and to all the Talent regarding their attentiveness.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    496
    137
    34
    14
See reviews for
190
705
181
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
152 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, great staff. I go there all the time for business. Very professional and friendly staff. Of course it is a W so you need to like the atmosphere. The rooms are great, excellent wifi and efficient business center. Very near to the BTS so good connectivity.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paoloc0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi Paoloc0211,

Thank you for your great review.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed the W experience and the hotel design was to your liking. I will be sure to pass on your comment to the Talent.

We look forward to welcoming to back on your next business trip at W Bangkok.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

It was good more than i expected!
I used us W hotel in Korea, but Bangkok W hotel is totally different class.
little bit far from center of city, and if you tried to go out from hotel without car it looks like difficult.
but few minutes way have BTS. and all the quality of service, room, foods, etc make other thing forget. recommend !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Pros
1. 1st experience and BEST experience
2. Everything is good
3. 2-3 mins walking distance to Chong Nonsi BTS/Bangkok BRT
4. Near to Lalaisap Market & Sathorn Square
5. Central location in Silom/Sathorn
6. Breakfast & Lunch at Restaurant is good - fantastic breakfast buffet
7. Service is excellent at restaurant and concierge
8. Requested for a local taxi to a local office building and the concierge helped me print out a Google map in Thai for safe keeping plus explained throughly to the taxi driver where is the building and how to get there (exact route and highway to take)
9. Cleaning lady is excellent - I told her to come back during lunch time and she did. Even asked if there was anything additional I required for the room
10. The style is very modern, chic, funky and state of the art technology in the room - a definite must if you are young, fun loving and from the new generation

Cons
1. Nothing is bad
2. I hope they keep the prices below USD200

Recommendations
Please ensure you stay at W Hotels anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweeteners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi Sweeteners,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad that you had a wonderful time during your stay. It is good to see that our Talent has did a great job in looking after you and that you left the hotel with such a positive feeling with our Whatever/ Whenever service culture. For the rate, go onto our website www.whotebangkok.com where you can get the best available price at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is my first ever W experience. And this sets for me personally the W benchmark to a whole new level. And many reviewers who have stayed in many W establishments world wide says that W, Bangkok is not as "great" compared to the W in Taipei or in Hong Kong. I can't wait to see how much "better" can they be. Because W, Bangkok was perfect in every way for me and my family.

Here's what stood out for us:

Service - Genuine, friendly and warm. From the driver that picked us up from the airport to the bellboy that helped us with our luggage when we checked out. Everyone we met were so friendly.

Housekeeping & Maintenance - Housekeeping was amazing. Our room was clean and everything was perfect after the morning clean up and also after the turndown service. (we had a 11 month old baby that was turning the room inside out) And they knew from the first night onwards we would require 10 bottles of drinking water for the night, so they had them all prepared on subsequent nights. That is what I call housekeeping with an initiative. Maintenance also repaired our slight sliding door malfunction and even left a personal handwritten note to let us know that the issue was fixed. This was a first for me in all my years of travelling.

Concierge - These bunch of gentlemen knew everything you need to know about bangkok. From cheap shopping destinations, to fine dining restaurants. They not only know where exactly they are they will also share other guests review of those places. They also did a great job ensuring all the taxis that picked us up used the meter.

Room Amenities - TWG teas and Bliss products. Nuff said. And they were also nice enough to provide bath amenities for my little one including an infant bath tub.

WooBar - I only had the chance to have a couple of drinks on the last night of my stay. The cocktails were really really good and the waiter's recommendation were spot on. Do try the W signature cocktails from the world over.

My only comment for the Hotel is they need to improve on their breakfast. Don't get me wrong it's a pretty good spread but I would expect them to at least change a few items on the breakfast line instead of just offering the same items day in and day out.

I will definitely be returning to W, Bangkok. It's just a matter of when.

Room Tip: Ask for high city view floors. Don't be fooled there are two corner rooms one has a great layout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnappyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi SnappyFingers,

Thank you for your positive review.
I can see that you had such a memorable experience with us. Reading your comment put a large smile on my face. I am proud to see that our Talent looked after you so well, this is exactly what we try to do for all our guests through our Whatever/ Whenever service culture. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Talents. On our breakfast, we will look into your comment and discuss with our Executive Chef.

We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next stay at W Bangkok.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

W Bangkok - non stop excellent service from beginning to end. You never have to ask twice. The pool and fitness center is very well laid out and spacious. Conveniently located and a short walk to the skytrain to get around the city. The breakfast - full of choices to meet everyone's taste and well done. I highly recommend the W if you want something fresh and easy.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank indo_chine00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi indo_chine00,

Thank you for your great feedback. It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. I am happy to see that you left the hotel with such a positive feeling with our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our Executive Chef Sarah has worked really hard on breakfast buffet, I am happy that you enjoyed it.

We look forward to exceeding all you expectations when you return to W Bangkok.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uae
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was my first experience of a W Hotel and if they are all like the W Bangkok I have clearly been missing out. The first positive thing that happened was before I even arrived. On my booking I put that I would be arriving at 2am. To ensure that there was no confusion the hotel emailed to clarify exactly when I would be arriving and then confirmed back to assure me my rood would be ready for me when i arrived. A small detail perhaps but showed a high level of customer care.

Arrival in the hotel is quite a sensory explosion with the decor and the lively bar near reception. I had a very warm and friendly welcome and was quickly up in my room which was exquisite. Loved all the little touches like the gold boxing gloves on the bed. Sometimes it was hard to pull myself out of the room and go and see the city!

All the staff I met were super friendly and helpful. I got the impression that the staff genuinely enjoy working here and that fun and enthusiasm transfers itself to the guests.

Breakfast was always smooth and efficient. Arriving 30 minutes before closing on a Sunday in some hotels can be a less that pleasant experience, but not so at the W. Whilst it was very busy I was seated efficiently, served promptly and there was still a full selection of food in the buffet.

Whilst it is a bit unfair to single out any of the staff as all the ones I interacted with were truly wonderful, I do have to say a special thanks to Connor. His natural friendliness and helpfulness put that extra sparkle on what was already a truly awesome vacation.

For sure this is where I will stay next time I am in Bangkok and I am also sure the W deserves a higher rating than it currently has on trip advisor. Maintaining and building upon the current level of service should ensure the W is soon at the top of the list.

As for value for money I found the hotel excellent value and the rates very reasonable for the standard of accommodation provided. I pre selected the breakfast and wifi package which made it even better value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank britinuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi britinuae,

Thank you for your great feedback. I can see that your experience was truly a memorable one and now you have become a W fan. Reading your review put a large smile on my face as this is exactly what we try do for all our guests through our Whatever/ Whenever service culture. I will be sure to pass on your comment to them. Executive Chef Sarah and her culinary team have worked really hard on breakfast buffet, I am happy that you liked our breakfast.

We look forward to your return so that we can offer you the same experience.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,814 reviews
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,921 reviews
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bangkok

Property: W Bangkok
Address: 106 North Sathorn Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city’s prestigious Embassy Row and pulsating commercial district is the W Bangkok, a stylish icon of Asian chic. Welcome to the new playground of ambassadors, jet setters and fashionistas, a hot destination by the coolest shopping and dining. In our 407 rooms, you’re dreaming sweet in the signature W bed, or lazing in plush bathrobes as you enjoy state-of-the-art entertainment and fully wired technology, the fabulous Munchie Box and our wonderful Whatever/Whenever® service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your W Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing