We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful if you like modern hotels”
Review of W Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Bangkok
Ranked #40 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful if you like modern hotels”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It's a beautiful hotel if you love modern looks. it caters to the younger crowd. I was traveling with my mother and older relatives. They did not like it and like more traditional looking hotels.
it is conveniently located beside the skywalk. Again, unless you are traveling with a young crowd, you probably would not use the skywalk much.
the traffic in Bankok is horrific. Unless you are using their public train system, plan to be stuck in traffic along this road for hours. Therefore, location is an issue with the hotel.
Staff are friendly. I did not meet any individual who raised their voice or was unwilling to help. The breakfast buffet was amazing. I love their almond croissants.
there was an aston martin party at the hotel when we went. I was worried about the noise level. but we were on the 17th floor and it was soo quiet.
definitely would recommend hotel, but be aware of its location among the sights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrappying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi scrappying,

Thank you for your great review. It is great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. This is exactly what we try do for all our guests through our Whatever/ Whenever service culture. I will be sure to pass on your comment to the team. Our Executive Chef Sarah and the team have worked really hard on the breakfast buffet. I’m happy to see that you enjoyed it and especially love our almond croissant. W Bangkok is in a CBD but if you want a party atmosphere, Silom is only one station away by BTS (Sky train). Silom area has many restaurants, bars, clubs, and a night market.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,492
    550
    149
    36
    16
See reviews for
209
781
202
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a Studio Suite and everything was perfect. The moment we arrived in the W wheels car service, we were whisked out of the Mercedes and into the hotel. The room was beautiful and very spacious. Not quite sure why people have complained about the location on here. Cabs are super cheap in Bangkok, and the train can take you to where you need to go in just a few minutes. The service at this hotel was excellent! Every request was handled quickly and efficiently. Every single staff member went out of their way to say hello and greet us throughout the 3 days staying at the hotel. KJ at Whatever/Whenever made an excellent Thai dinner recommendation. Pop and James were very helpful as well. All of the Valet boys were quick, friendly, and made sure the cabs offered metered fares, or accurately priced rates to where we needed to go. By far some of the best service i've ever received at a W hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_NY_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi James_NY_NY,

Reading your comment has put a large smile on my face. I can see that your experience was truly a memorable one. It is good to hear that our Talents have looked after you so well. This is exactly what we try to do for all our guests through our Whatever/Whenever service culture. I will be sure to pass on your comment to the Talents that you mentioned.

We look forward to exceeding all your expectations when you next stay with us at W Bangkok.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have been to more than a handful of W properties across the world and this one is no different. The place is buzzing with energy and the design eccentricity is in every detail. Rooms are nice and the amenities are mostly W standards. Still I have a few recommendations:
- Make sure you avoid rooms overlooking a nearby noisy construction site
- Don't expect a wide choice of dining venues - choice is quite limited
- If you are an SPG member and expecting SPG benefits, make sure you don't book on the wholesale rates; I personally believe promoting non-eligible SPG rates is against the core concept of loyalty that SPG promotes and can be very frustrating - I consider this a major black dot on the record of all SPG hotels!

Room Tip: Avoid the corner overlooking the construction site for some time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louayac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi louayac,

Thank you for you feedback. It seem like you enjoyed your room and design of the hotel; each W tells a different story through its design. Noisy construction came from the Heritage House which is it is still under construction but they mostly work on the day time but I will discuss with the team to decrease the noise down. There’s more outlet that you can have lunch or dinner as well at WET Deck, WOOBAR, or W the Terrace. You can order food from there and the Talent will deliver to you. For room rate, as a SPG member, can book a room on www.spg.com for a special rate.

I do hope that you will give W Bangkok a try on your next visit in Bangkok.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The visit to Bangkok was business but I wish it was for leisure! The W is truly funky - not the conventional business hotels I was used to. Neon lights at the elevators, piped-in pop music couldn't beat the surprise I got when I saw a humongous pair of boxing glove cushions which had the words "Lights" and "Out" on them placed on the bed in my room. My FaceTime with my 12-year old son to show him how fun the place was solicited this comment: "Gee mom, if you deck someone on the head with them, it will truly be lights out!"

Centrally located - in fact, the BTS station was right next door, made this convenient but facilities were a little lacking for business. The buffet breakfast was adequate and the service was pretty good but average by Thai standards. Would I go back? Probably with the family - because the hotel is meant to be fun. And I took a shot of the hotel pool from an office window at the higher floors of Sathorn Square - it looked like a whale beached on top of a building! Extremely hip!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi LenaYong,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a fun time during your stay. W Bangkok is only 1 station away to Sala Deang where you will find many restaurants, bars, clubs, and a night market as well. As to the service levels that you feel were just average, we are always improving the team by training and ensuring that we live the Whatever/ Whenever Service Culture so on your next stay hopefully you will feel the difference. Our swimming pool, if you look at it from above, is actually an eye with an eyebrow.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The rooms are immaculately clean and modern. Didn't get to use the facilities much though.

The only downside is that there is very little food or shopping within walking distance. It is however located near a BTS station which helps seeing as the traffic in Bangkok is horrendous.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarkLee774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi MarkLee774,

Thank you for your comment. It is good to hear that you liked the design of the hotel. Sathorn is CDB area, there’s only 1 station away to Sala Daeng station which you will find many restaurants, clubs, and bar. Yes, I have to agree with you that travelling with BTS is the most convenient during night time as Bangkok’s traffic is quite crazy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to W Bangkok in the near future.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Certainly different! I just came from the shangri la in manilla - old school impeccable service to W in Bangkok - new school, average service but lots of neon, dance tunes piped throughout, a dance pole in the bathroom and oversized boxing gloves on the bed - cool place catering for the younger crowd. The W have definitely carved a niche - and it's next door to Ku De Ta - recently opened and awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi ST911,

Thank you for your feedback. It seem like you enjoyed your stayed at W Bangkok. Just to clarify, the pole in the bathroom is not a dance pole, but a grab-bar to help you get up from the bathtub. Yes, Ku De Ta is newly open; it is right next to W Bangkok in the Sathorn Square building.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is typically for W very modern and stylish, nice mixture of design, art, sounds and colors.

The rooms are very modern as well and equipped with everything you need. I always like the pad-remote to control dnd-sign, ac, lights etc.

I only visited the restaurant for breakfast which was very good: nice selection and good quality of food and the staff is very friendly, fast and efficient.

The location of the W is ok. It is more located in a financial district but still very close to the city center. It is by train three stops away from the main shopping area in the city.

If you like modern and stylish hotels which are maybe a bit different than what other "normal" hotel offer just try this W. If you are young an open minded you will definitely enjoy it ;)

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank afro88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi afro88,

Thank you for your positive comment. I am glad that you had a great time during your stay with us. Yes, to have a touch screen room control is the most convenient thing for guests to not get up and down. It is good to hear that you liked our breakfast but for next time you might want to try our special lunch set at The Kitchen Table.
We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next stay at W Bangkok.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#18 of 867 in Bangkok
4,140 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#13 of 867 in Bangkok
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 867 in Bangkok
1,976 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 867 in Bangkok
6,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bangkok

Property: W Bangkok
Address: 106 North Sathorn Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city’s prestigious Embassy Row and pulsating commercial district is the W Bangkok, a stylish icon of Asian chic. Welcome to the new playground of ambassadors, jet setters and fashionistas, a hot destination by the coolest shopping and dining. In our 407 rooms, you’re dreaming sweet in the signature W bed, or lazing in plush bathrobes as you enjoy state-of-the-art entertainment and fully wired technology, the fabulous Munchie Box and our wonderful Whatever/Whenever® service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your W Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing