We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent services and good taste Thai food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron at Banyan Tree Bangkok

Saffron at Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #103 of 10,625 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Sathorn
Description: “Authentic Thai Cuisine with an Innovative Twist” - Richly inspired by the art of traditional Thai cuisine, Saffron allows one to savor Thai flavours in a contemporary yet classically elegant setting. Traditional cooking methods reminiscent of the techniques passed down from generation to generation are complemented with the warm and graceful service distinctive of the renowned hospitality of Banyan Tree and Thailand.
2 reviews
“Excellent services and good taste Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The manager and waitress are very nice and patient to explain the dishes.

Even we requested food out of menu, but they still try hard to get us the wanted dish, thanks a lot.

The signature dishes tried (banana blossom salad, beef curry and mango with sticky rice) of course brought us great satisfaction.

A place worthy to re-visit.

Helpful?
Thank Chung Ming W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    50
    15
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“4* meal overlooking Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a very nice time at the Saffron restaurant where my family and I had an amazing dinner overlooking Bangkok on the 52th floor. Food was delicious not to mention the great service. I recommend this place for special occasion. Prior or after your dinner, you can enjoy a drink at the vertigo sky bar on the top floor - experience guaranteed especially night time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

On our first night in Bangkok, we didn't feel up to leaving the hotel but our experience at Saffron told us we didn't need to.

Everything about the meal was terrific. Staff were friendly and helpful, taking the time to explain dishes we had questions about. They offered a hand washing at the table and brought out several complimentary dishes. We ordered two starters and two main courses and with the addition of the complimentary dishes, we were well and truly full by the time we left. Prices reflect the fact that the restaurant is located in a 5-star hotel but the quality of the meal and service reflect this, too.

I wouldn't necessarily call it a romantic restaurant - tables are too close together to achieve the intimate feeling a romantic dinner requires - but it was certainly atmospheric with Bangkok spread below us.

We overhead guests at the table next to us saying that they had enjoyed Saffron so much, they had eaten there every day of their 3 day stay. We couldn't fault the experience at all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The reason why we decided to dine here was because we were too tired to leave the hotel to find a restaurant. Saffron serve contemporary Thai food, which wasn't all that great. We ordered a few traditional dishes like the Tom Yum Goong, Pad Thai, Stir Fry Morning Glory and a Curry Duck to share but it tasted only so-so. The complimentary starters were very good though. The food was rather costly, as we paid more than US$100 for our meal with just simple dishes. We also find the service to be average. We ordered our food with the waitress repeated our order correctly. But when the food arrived, instead of curry duck, they gave us curry chicken. We told them that this wasn't what we order and they were initially a little reluctant to change it. We had to tell them a few times that they gave us the wrong order before they offered to change it for us. Not too impressed with this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have been here twice, and both the times were truly amazing! I wasn't disappointed even a little bit. It has a romantic ambience. Many often say, the food is overpriced, but come on, you're dining up in the sky, on a 5-star hotel, you can't compromise on that! The food is truly amazing; I've read other people's comments that the food is westernized, and it's sweet, well, you can ask them to make it "Thai" style and spicy. They will adjust it to your taste, all you gotta do it tell them! The service is excellent, the drinks (cocktails) were good too, and the food is also great (as aforementioned). It's on the 53rd floor, and they also have a fantastic view of the city! This is a great place, must go! Strongly Recommended! If you're looking for quality, this is it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukh747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron at Banyan Tree Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Saffron at Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing