We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect service!”
Review of Tara Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tara Place
Ranked #56 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuiaba, MT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect service!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was just one night there and I was very surprise with the treatment in Tara Place is wonderful and the hotel are in the good place in Bangkok around the Khao San. The bedroom is not so big, but the hotel is very new and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    498
    71
    9
    5
See reviews for
165
745
77
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent our holidays in Thailand for 2 weeks (Bangkok, Koh Tao, Ko Samui, Krabi, Phi Phi, Phuket). According to the evaluation of tripadviser we decided to book in advance TARA PLACE incl. breakfast for 3 nights (19-22 Oct 2013). The ENTIRE STAFF (front desk, porter, cleaner etc.) was ALWAYS very helpful and very friendly. Especially the front desk always gave us support and information to all questions we asked around (sightseeings & how to get there, power supply adapters, payments and so much more). We always felt well informed. We never expected this kind of quality of hospitality and services. The Hotel and the rooms are clean. Tea/coffee/small snacks for free in the lobby. WIFI for free, Hotel TukTuk-service included. TARA Place offers a complete package that we just can recommend. TARA Place is located near to Khaosan Road (10 min walk) and not far away to other sightseeings in Bangkok city (10-15 min by TukTuk or Taxi).

Compared to other hostels or hotels in Thailand and e.g. Germany too, TARA PLACE is a real reference for kindlines. In addtion the check-in and check-out was VERY fast (sometimes too fast ;-), especially our check-in as three friendly ladies at the front desk took care of us SIMULTANEOUSLY ;-).

Compared to the german hotel standard, TARA place is an excellent 3-STAR Hotel. It's very good value for money! If the hotel can keep this level of quality, it will receive many guests for many years. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again! Last but not least: Because it's not a budget hostel for party people or party-backpaper you can sleep well here. If you wanna stay in a hotel near to Khaosan road without loud party people but CIVILIZED backpacker like us then stay at TARA Place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

First and foremost, I have to compliment on the staff at Tara Place. They are not only courteous, helpful but also heartwarming. They really made us feel that they cared about and valued us as their clients. We were in a group of 10 and a rental van. The rooms were no problem based on our booking selection (it had been a problem in 2 other hotels on our trip). They took care of the parking of the van with us and was very accommodating. rooms are clean and tidy. Except for a spotty internet connection, everything is perfect about this place. It's not a luxury resort, but it's very cozy and economical. In the lobby, they have complimentary snacks and drinks for those needing a bit of a filler. It's centrally located but quiet and roomy. It's so easy to find unlike many in the streets of old town. Loved it.

Room Tip: if you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on our second trip to Bangkok. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Khao San road which was close enough if you really felt the need to go, but far enough away to forget it is tourist town. The staff are lovely here, quick to answer questions, give advice and organize anything you need. We had breakfast included which is in the little cafe next door and was pretty decent. The rooms are recently renovated and are really really clean. There are some good local restaurants in the immediate area, and the hotel lobby had tea and coffee available for free all day ( plus little cakes and snacks ) I would highly recommend this hotel, there is also a complimentary tuk tuk trip to the Grand Palace at various times of the day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Tara place is in a great location within walking distance to the palace, Wat Pho and the Khao San Road. The river dock is also just a few minutes walk away. However, the hotel also offers a free tuk tuk services to some of the main sites at various points of the day. The hotel is set back from the main road so it's peaceful and quiet - a welcome retreat from the busy streets of Bangkok.
The staff on reception were very welcoming and friendly and had good local knowledge. They were very helpful when we needed to confirm and print some ticket information. We had a standard double room which was very spacious, clean and attractively designed. There was also a roof terrace which is a bonus.
The breakfast offered some good options and was served in the restaurant in front of the hotel.
The hotel can arrange airport transfers, however, the taxi's are metered in Bangkok and it works out much cheaper to go to the taxi rank at the airport.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel and whenever in Bangkok I would definitely return to Tara Place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t2000Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed 3 days here. I'd like to recommend to people who like exciting Kaosan rd, but prefer to stay quiet and clean place at night. Just 10min to Kaosan on feet, als very kind staff

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyorithegrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya-shi, Aichi, Japan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Not far from Kao San Road and some of the temples, Tara Place is a good low budget option in Bangkok. The internet service is not very fast but they got some computer in the lobby that provide a better connection. Also, there is no breakfast, but they are very close to a cafe that offers good food. The beds are great and the service is very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok Loft Inn
#59 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#113 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#70 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit
#69 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Place

Property: Tara Place
Address: 113, 117 Samsen Rd. | Wat Samphraya, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tara Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Place is the brand new hotel, where it is located at the perfect area. The hotel is away enough from pubs and bars that ensure your comfortable stay. However, you are able to experience the amazing walking street, such as Khaosan Road and Rambuttri Road, in just 10 minutes walk. We also serve the customers for the free TukTuk to Grand Palace and Wat Pho at the scheduled time. Importantly, our friendly staff make every effort to help the customer enquiries with sincerity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing