We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banglamphu in comfort”
Review of Tara Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tara Place
Ranked #56 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Banglamphu in comfort”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here as I wanted to experience Banglamphu without ending up in some horrible backpacker fleapit. The hotel is about a five minute walk from Khao San Road with its bars and so on, and had I not already visited them (trekking over from Patpong) earlier in my holiday it would have been a good base for visiting the Grand Palace and Wat Pho.

I wouldn't say the hotel is amazing value for money, but I think by Bangkok standards the price is reasonable-verging-on-good for the quality of the accommodation.

I turned up about 7am rather dishevelled after an all-night bus trip from Chiang Mai. My room wasn't ready but I went out for breakfast and a wander and was allowed to check in just after 9am, which I thought was pretty good given the nominal check-in time is something like midday.

The room was clean and modern, the bathroom was one of the nicest I came across anywhere in Thailand.

The wifi worked OK, though since this is a "proper hotel" it would be too simple to just have one password for the wifi network which guests are given, you have to use your web browser to enter your own private username and password, and then repeat that if you haven't used it for a few hours.

The air-conditioning also worked fine.

The staff were very helpful and advised me how to get to Don Mueang airport for my flight out and how much time to allow for the journey, they got me a taxi off the street to take me there as well.

I would definitely consider staying here again. It's not the hotel's fault, but Banglamphu is not very well connected to the public transport in Bangkok (unless you feel comfortable using the buses). I had quite a bit of trouble trying to get taxi drivers to understand where I wanted to go, even after showing them a sheet of hotel notepaper (which didn't have the address in Thai script). Saying "Khao San Road" sometimes, but not always, got me at least that far so I could walk the rest of the way.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZornsLemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    512
    71
    9
    5
See reviews for
170
761
78
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were more than happy that of all the other hotels in Bangkok we chose Tara Place, because it has everything you would need for a stay in Bangkok. This place was clean, cozy and quiet. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was fantastic - just around the corner is a lovely cafe where they serve breakfast for hotel guests - you can choose from the traditional Thai porridge, pancakes to the European style cooked eggs. Tara Place is a 10-20 minutes walking distance from all main tourist attractions and also from Soi Rambuttri street and Khaosan Road.At the same time it is in a quiet street a little further away from all the noise. If you don't want to go deep to the city, you may find some street food, bars and massage parlors just a few steps away. If we ever go back to Bangkok, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuikiai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights total in Tara Place, and had a great time. Location is great, as you are in walking distance to the Palace, Wat, and Khao San Road, while being relatively quiet, which I think is probably hard to find if you want that area. The rooms are quite new looking, and very clean.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We actually booked 3 nights right away, and then realized that the third night we would actually end up taking a night bus to Krabi, so when we asked if we could cancel (it was through Booking, and technically we could not cancel it), they said no, however asked if we would be coming back through Bangkok (which we were), and if so, we could just move the one day to later on in our trip. We did that, and it was great, as we then could schedule out our trip a bit more.

Tara Place was a bit above our backpacker budget for accommodations, however it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnipeg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It's simply home away from home. Front desk, support staff n all in the hotel were extremely helpful. Kept us informed all the time. So we never felt alone in Bangkok. .. Thanks to O n her colleagues. ...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santosh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuiaba, MT
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was just one night there and I was very surprise with the treatment in Tara Place is wonderful and the hotel are in the good place in Bangkok around the Khao San. The bedroom is not so big, but the hotel is very new and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent our holidays in Thailand for 2 weeks (Bangkok, Koh Tao, Ko Samui, Krabi, Phi Phi, Phuket). According to the evaluation of tripadviser we decided to book in advance TARA PLACE incl. breakfast for 3 nights (19-22 Oct 2013). The ENTIRE STAFF (front desk, porter, cleaner etc.) was ALWAYS very helpful and very friendly. Especially the front desk always gave us support and information to all questions we asked around (sightseeings & how to get there, power supply adapters, payments and so much more). We always felt well informed. We never expected this kind of quality of hospitality and services. The Hotel and the rooms are clean. Tea/coffee/small snacks for free in the lobby. WIFI for free, Hotel TukTuk-service included. TARA Place offers a complete package that we just can recommend. TARA Place is located near to Khaosan Road (10 min walk) and not far away to other sightseeings in Bangkok city (10-15 min by TukTuk or Taxi).

Compared to other hostels or hotels in Thailand and e.g. Germany too, TARA PLACE is a real reference for kindlines. In addtion the check-in and check-out was VERY fast (sometimes too fast ;-), especially our check-in as three friendly ladies at the front desk took care of us SIMULTANEOUSLY ;-).

Compared to the german hotel standard, TARA place is an excellent 3-STAR Hotel. It's very good value for money! If the hotel can keep this level of quality, it will receive many guests for many years. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again! Last but not least: Because it's not a budget hostel for party people or party-backpaper you can sleep well here. If you wanna stay in a hotel near to Khaosan road without loud party people but CIVILIZED backpacker like us then stay at TARA Place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

First and foremost, I have to compliment on the staff at Tara Place. They are not only courteous, helpful but also heartwarming. They really made us feel that they cared about and valued us as their clients. We were in a group of 10 and a rental van. The rooms were no problem based on our booking selection (it had been a problem in 2 other hotels on our trip). They took care of the parking of the van with us and was very accommodating. rooms are clean and tidy. Except for a spotty internet connection, everything is perfect about this place. It's not a luxury resort, but it's very cozy and economical. In the lobby, they have complimentary snacks and drinks for those needing a bit of a filler. It's centrally located but quiet and roomy. It's so easy to find unlike many in the streets of old town. Loved it.

Room Tip: if you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok Loft Inn
#57 of 861 in Bangkok
1,497 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#90 of 861 in Bangkok
910 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit
#73 of 861 in Bangkok
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#35 of 861 in Bangkok
419 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#88 of 861 in Bangkok
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Place

Property: Tara Place
Address: 113, 117 Samsen Rd. | Wat Samphraya, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tara Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Place is the brand new hotel, where it is located at the perfect area. The hotel is away enough from pubs and bars that ensure your comfortable stay. However, you are able to experience the amazing walking street, such as Khaosan Road and Rambuttri Road, in just 10 minutes walk. We also serve the customers for the free TukTuk to Grand Palace and Wat Pho at the scheduled time. Importantly, our friendly staff make every effort to help the customer enquiries with sincerity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing