We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Bangkok with good price vs. quality”
Review of Tara Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Place
Ranked #55 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, CANADA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel in Bangkok with good price vs. quality”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Plus:
Clean room and bathroom (nice glass shower!), good location for us as a going couple near Khao San Road. Free tuk tuk service every 2 hours from the hotel (limited places though so we didn't use) to Grand Palace in the morning and Khao San rd in PM. Take a room in the back of the hotel if you can, less noisy. We had booked a twin room by mistake, even if they didn't have a double room available they accommodated us by sticking the two beds together. Very nice and helpful staff who speak decent English. Free water bottles in the fridge. We are returning here on our last night in Bangkok. Thanks!

Less:
Walls are thin, our room was far in the back and on the last floor so less noisy but I can imagine some other rooms being less insonorised. Absolutely no problem sleeping though.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    505
    71
    9
    5
See reviews for
167
753
78
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Located walking distance from Khao San Road, this hotel offers affordable and convenient accommodation. The breakfast is served by the neighboring restaurant, but is more Western than Asian. The curtains do not black out the sunlight, and as Bangkok is a late night / late morning city, this should be addressed and corrected by the management. The rooms could be cleaner and the shower water pressure is lacking. Polite front desk staff and helpful security.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBone_Rock_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgau, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Tara Place twice during our recent trip to Thailand. The hotel was perfect for us because we did not wish to stay in a large hotel. The rooms are large, clean, comfortable with good hot showers. The location is excellent and just 10 minutes walk away from the Koh San road. The hotel has it's own tuk tuk and offer a free shuttle to the grand palace and the koh san road. But the best thing about Tara Place is the staff. They are so friendly and help you with anything you need. They helped us book a bus to Chiang Mai, and even went to the bus station to pick up the tickets for us. Next door is an agency which will help you with anything that the hotel cannot. Also next door, is the very nice cafe where you have your free breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here on our way from Hong Kong to chiang Mai for a night. We chose this hotel because it was affordable, was in a location that allowed us to see lots in our limited time in Bangkok and had great reviews on trip advisor. We were extremely impressed with the service and the rooms. The place was spotless, and updated. The staff were extremely helpful and kind. We had accidentally booked a double bed instead of two twins and the staff were extremely accommodating and updated us to a room with two beds immediately without a problem. The only advice I would give is to try to request a room that is not on the main street as it can be quite loud but otherwise we were sad that we only stayed one night and would definitely consider staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elysha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel is a 10 minute walking distance from Khoasan Road. The hotel has a tuktuk that takes off a couple times per day to the main landmarks. The staff arranged our taxi, printed our airline tickets and provided us with snacks. The service is above average.

The rooms are modern and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuudKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We checked in for 2nights on the 8 December staff were very pleasant and helpful in great location near all the main areas for tourists walking distance to ko san road markets and bars. restaurant beside hotel is quite nice for breakfast also.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Avril G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel was very new, rooms were clean and looked fresh.
It was very nice to relax in this quiet hotel after a long day in busy and chaotic bangkok.. Location was great. At walking distance of Khaosan road and the hotel offers a free shuttle tuktuk service to, for example, Grand Palace.
Breakfast was included in the rate and it was good.

Room Tip: we stayed in the back of the hotel and the room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lot_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok Loft Inn
#58 of 858 in Bangkok
1,493 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#97 of 858 in Bangkok
893 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#32 of 858 in Bangkok
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klassique Sukhumvit
#77 of 858 in Bangkok
698 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#69 of 858 in Bangkok
1,003 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#86 of 858 in Bangkok
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Place

Property: Tara Place
Address: 113, 117 Samsen Rd. | Wat Samphraya, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tara Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Place is the brand new hotel, where it is located at the perfect area. The hotel is away enough from pubs and bars that ensure your comfortable stay. However, you are able to experience the amazing walking street, such as Khaosan Road and Rambuttri Road, in just 10 minutes walk. We also serve the customers for the free TukTuk to Grand Palace and Wat Pho at the scheduled time. Importantly, our friendly staff make every effort to help the customer enquiries with sincerity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Tara Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing