We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but far away from city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nine Forty One Hotel
Ranked #621 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel is new and is equipped with all neceesary stuff. Room is clean, staff are nice. Transportation is not very convinient as this hotel is far from city and any touristy attraction. However I knew that before I booked this hotel so nothing to complain about this.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Nine Forty One Hotel for 8 days while visiting family in Bangkok. It's located outside of the main city and not in a touristy area, but it was close to my family's house. While the hotel was nice, I don't think I would stay there again as the room pricing was a bit shady. My dad had been there several times and talked with a manager about the room price several weeks prior to my arrival in Bangkok. A price had been agreed upon, and my dad had it confirmed in writing from the manager. However, when I arrived at the hotel after 20+ hours of travelling at 3 am, the price was suddenly 200 Baht more than what was originally quoted. We were also told that instead of an 8 night stay, the hotel me staying for 20 nights which was totally incorrect. My dad asked to speak to the manager, but we were told that the manager was not available that morning/night or the following day and could not be contacted until two days after I checked in. When my dad finally spoke to the manager, the manager admitted that he had quoted the original price but was unable to honor it. The dealbreaker really wasn't the extra 200 baht a night that we ended up paying (it's only about $6+ extra per night), but we were disappointed in the seemingly dishonest pricing practices and the untimely availability of management to resolve the issue. Given these issues, if you still want to stay at this hotel, it’s probably best to book through the internet to assure your pricing and bring a print out of your booking to ensure that the rate doesn't suddenly change when you check in.

We stayed in the “Superior” room which is the base level room. I would not describe the room as superior, but it was fine.

Pros
-Fairly close to the airport
-Very clean rooms
-Newly built hotel
-Modern style
-Air conditioned
-A safe is available for use in the room
-Friendly housekeeping staff
-While we were there, it seemed like the hotel had low occupancy, so we didn't hear noise from nearby rooms
-Located across the street from the Nine, a shopping complex with a 24 hour supermarket and lots of places to eat
-Free parking
-Modern bathroom, but the lighting was a bit dark

Cons
-No dressers in the room so we had to keep all our clothing in our luggage or on the desk
-A bit stuffy
-The fridge is only used for in-room drinks that you have to pay for
-Complimentary breakfast wasn't very appetizing, and food didn't seem to be replenished after 9am (breakfast ended at 10am)
-The windows seemed to be single paned glass, so we could hear a bit of noise from outside including the engine of tour buses idling, a dog living across the street that would bark on schedule, loud bird noises that would also occur on schedule, and the never ending whistle blowing from the parking attendants at the Nine (across the street). Luckily the small street that our room faced didn't have a lot of traffic, otherwise we would have been kept up by that noise.
-Not close to touristy areas in Bangkok
-Dishonest pricing as described above

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancing_Baker310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The staff could not do enough to help, very friendly and respectful but discreet so you don't notice them until you need them. The location is 2 minutes walk from a shopping mall, but I'd call it an eating mall as 90% of the premises are restaurants. I had a driver each day so did not have to worry about getting trains or taxi's but I did get a taxi to the hotel and the driver was happy as it was only 15-20 minutes from the main airport, he did need to call the hotel several times though to figure out where it was (200 Baht from Siam district). The room was very clean and well appointed, an iron and ironing board is available free of charge from the reception, wifi internet is free. The breakfast was ok, nothing amazing but more than enough variety to keep me content for 3 days. The swimming pool was rather lovely, an infinity type, although only open 0600-1900.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nats8784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here our last night in Bangkok in order to be closer to the rail link for an early morning flight. It was clean, had a funky-cool modern theme going on and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Rooms and bathroom were nice and clean as well (although, we did have some small ants in the bathroom). Nice showers too.

They're pretty strict about the check out time but, as you check out, they send a guy up to your room to scan for anything you've left behind, which is pretty - ok, really cool. A great idea!

Only downside is you can't walk to the raillink from here but we weren't able to find any hotels that seemed like you could. It's a quick cab ride away to the train station, <$2.

A cab ride from Sukhimvit to here cost about 159 BHT (on a meter) and then another 150 BHT to the airport if you cab-it.

The hotel is located right next to a nice little shopping center with cafe's and restaurants...it's your best landmark when looking for 941 hotel.

We're sad we didn't have more time to stay here...it was very nice and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We choose this hotel as we had two nights in Bangkok before a flight.
The taxi drivers all found it very difficult to find so it was helpful to have directions written in Thai by the hotel staff.
Its right next to a delightful coffee shop called JC coffee gallery which was great for breakfast as it was not included with our booking.
The room was lovely. A little small for all the furniture but the bathroom shower was really good. The toiletries smelled amazing and the robes and slippers were very cosy.
The hotel is right next to one of the freeways so it is very noisy with the traffic but I imagine this is pretty hard to escape in Bangkok.
What we really liked about the hotel is that it is close to two stations on the airport link train (you can't walk to them you can get a very cheap taxi) which made it very easy for getting into Bangkok for day of sight seeing.
We had to pay a deposit for the room key which we weren't expecting and didn't have much cash, but they're open to negotiation on the cost of the deposit!

Room Tip: Worth seeing if you can get a quieter room. There are some at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pop17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

It is good time to sleep there , for it had my time to wait for my flight ( 2 days ) so, we enjoy with

good food from chef . Moreover , it is next to big shopping mall ( The Nine Shopping mall ).

I DO NOT FORGET A BOUTIQUE ROOM WHICH IS A GOOD MEMORY FOR MY FAMILY///RICHARD

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kosumatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Hunz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Xtreme Hotel
#818 of 885 in Bangkok
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Aspira Hiptique
Aspira Hiptique
#707 of 885 in Bangkok
247 reviews
13 Coins Airport Grand Resort
#786 of 885 in Bangkok
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine Forty One Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Forty One Hotel

Address: 74 soi 43 Rama 9 Rd | Suanluang District, Bangkok 10250, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #621 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £37 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nine Forty One Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nine Forty One Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing