We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passing through Bangkok”
Review of Baan Chart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Chart
Ranked #54 of 667 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Passing through Bangkok”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Thailand and we decided to see Bangkok. Friends recommended the Khao San area as it has a great vibe and many sights to see..

This was the best accommodation to make the lost of our trip. Located only 50m from the end of Khao San rd but no noise from it. Right on top of a great restaurant and lots of market stalls and food places very close.

Rooms were a great size, most comfortable beds and pillows with crisp white sheets, great after a long hot day!

Roof top bar and pool which was always empty so we had the place to ourselves. Another oasis away from the hustle bustle of the city

Bathrooms nice and clean and come with soaps/shampoo etc

Staff always friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was included and you could choose 2 mains, plus tea/coffee and a juice. had lots of options from American style bacon & eggs to pancakes to noodles. We tried everything and it was all excellent. Right next to a Starbucks as well for those who want a taste of familiarity.

Overall excellent accommodation, great location, amenities, service.
Would 100% stay again!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    113
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
17
111
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. Very clean and spacious. Pool and bar major plus! Live music and restaurant at night.
We enjoyed just spending time at the hotel relaxing, and getting away from the noisy smelly Khao San Road.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engelben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had provisionally booked this hotel for 3 nights but ended up staying for four. Centrally located within walking distance of the Grand Palace, Wat pho and Kho San Road to name a few of Bangkok's star attractions. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are charming and spacious in a traditional Thai style. Bathroom was large and shower was great. It is quite at night despite being a minute from the lively Kho San road. Only fault I could find is that it is pricy in comparison to other Hotels nearby.

Room Tip: A nice hotel if you're just getting off a Long Haul flight
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I decided to have a change from our usual area of town and stayed at Ban Chart based on a recommendation from a colleague. He rated the hotel highly apart from one bad experience that he didn't think would be repeated. It was exactly as he described it. The rooms are stylishly decorated, the bathrooms are very well equipped with good quality solid fixtures and fittings, although the shower is rather weak, and an excellent provision of shower gels, shampoos etc that belong in a much more expensive hotel. There is a little bit of noise at night but really not enough to disturb you unless you're a very light sleeper. The lack of curtains over the window in the door was a little annoying because it meant I woke when it got light but none of these very minor issues would have stopped me returning to this well equipped hotel.

The BIG NEGATIVE. My partner is Thai and when checking in I asked if she needed to write her name and details as well as mine, I had been the one to make the booking, the staff said this was not necessary. We went out in the evening and when I stayed out to watch the end of the football my partner returned to the room. She asked for the key and was refused it. She was told her name was not listed and giving my name was insufficient. Unfortunately her phone battery was dead and this meant she had to trek back across town to where I was so we could go back together. The following morning when checking out I asked to speak to the manager but he/she was not available.

Or experiences were very similar to my colleagues, in his case it was his partner, who is also Thai, who had checked in first but again when she returned to the hotel without him she was denied entry. He too asked to speak to the manager and was not able to.

The repetition of this experience leads me to conclude that this is a policy, discriminating against Thai women, rather than isolated incidents. You hear of this in cheap guesthouses but not when paying almost £50 per night. Since I had specifically asked the question on check in, to avoid the problem my friend faced, there can be no excuse.

I am extremely disappointed and will not use the hotel again. My partner found the experience quite humiliating and felt she was being treated like a prostitute. I will warn the many friends who ask me for advice on where to stay in Bangkok that this is one to avoid.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baan Chart K, Manager at Baan Chart, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Alex C,

First of all, thank you very much for your review detailing your experience while staying with us.
We regret and feel sorry that our services did not meet your expectation.

In particular, we are alarmed by your information indicating about discriminating against Thai women, Please be informed that this is absolutely against the hotel’s policy and the management does not accept such deviation from our standard procedure.

And as investigated your case, we have found a copy of your partner’s id in our profile, it might be some misunderstanding between our staff and your partner.

Therefore, we would highly appreciate more information on this particular incident (description or name of staff). Kindly send the information to info@baanchart.com We thank you for your kind cooperation as we would like to make certain that such incident will never be repeated in the future.

All your valuable comments have been addressed with our team and taken very seriously.
We appreciate you bringing some important aspects of the hotel to our attention.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and show our improvements.

Sincerely Yours,

The Management
Baan Chart Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laceby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is in the centre of the Khaosan district, literally 2 minutes from each of the '3' busy streets and opposite the taxi/tuk-tuk rank. It has the advantage of being very quiet at night, a rarity for the area. The staff are pleasant and helpful. It is on the more expensive side at about Baht 1750 per night. The hotel has excellently fitted out rooms although a little on the small side. The only downside is the lack of a hot water tap, requiring the wet shaver to have to stretch the shower head around the cubicle door into the sink. The TV only had Thai channels, a bit of a nuisance for anyone wanting to catch up with the news in English.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisj1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have stayed at Baan Chart on my last two visits to bangkok and next time I'm in bangkok I'll stay again, both the owner and staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel is very clean, tidy and modern, and is perfect if your looking to stay near khaosan road as it is about 1 min walk from khaosan, which is great because you don't get the noise from the bars and clubs etc... Personally I couldn't fault Baan Chart but if I had to think of some negative things that other people may not like, all I can think of is that the hotel is opposite a main road which some customers may not like the noise of the traffic (this did not bother me as the noise wasn't too loud) and the only other thing I can think of is that some people may find the rooms a bit small, personally I liked the size of the rooms, for me they are not too small and not too big (both of these things didn't bother me at all, I'm just trying to find some negative comments ) on the whole this is a great place to stay, I've recommended it a couple of times in the past, and no one has complained, I'll be staying again in the future..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny_c_84England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baan Chart K, Manager at Baan Chart, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear danny_c_84England,

Thank you very much for your time sharing your experiences and being very kind recommended us to Tripadvisor,com. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and be sure that we will share your compliments with our staff.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Baan Chart Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were so disappointed of Baan Chart Hotel for many reasons:
- Too noisy. Door of guest room are not suitable at all for outdoor corridor. Same as a simple wood door of closet, the noise comes true directly! We had asked to change for rooms more in the back. The reception said to us that they were full and they cannot. So we said to them, that we had just checked on AGODA and saw rooms available...! So they were a little bit uncomfortable and we were able to change for one room only.
- We had booked 2 rooms for 3 nights by AGODA and wanted to cancel the 2 second nights because of the noise. The reception was totally not helpfully and even arrogant saying that they can do nothing for us. And it was not possible to talk to management team. So we have no choice to stay and not able to sleep for 3 nights.
- We felt that it was big effort for staff to serve breakfast (no smile)with limited menu: only fried meals, no fruits or yogurt.
- And we asked the reception to call a taxi with meters for airport. And on the way to airport, the taxi driver told us that he won't put meters as he had a "deal/agreement" with the bellman of the Baan Chart !! So we had to pay a fixed amount without our agreement !

As we go often to BKK and we are in businesses hotel in Vietnam, we love to try new hotel boutiques. But, we will never go back to Baan Chart and for sure we won't recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gildas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baan Chart K, Manager at Baan Chart, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your review detailing your experience while staying with us.
We regret and feel sorry that our services and facilities did not meet your expectation.
All your valuable comments have been addressed with our team and taken very seriously.
We appreciate you bringing some important aspects of the hotel to our attention.
In particular, we are alarmed by your information indicating about taxi over charged. Please be informed that this is absolutely against the hotel’s policy and the management does not accept such deviation from our standard procedure. Therefore, we would highly appreciate more information on this particular incident (description or name of staff). Kindly send the information to info@baanchart.com

We thank you for your kind cooperation as we would like to make certain that such incident will never be repeated in the future.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and show our improvements.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Baan Chart Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#173 of 866 in Bangkok
1,296 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#378 of 866 in Bangkok
1,040 reviews
Banglamphu
Dewan Bangkok
Dewan Bangkok
#66 of 1,243 in Bangkok
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#95 of 1,243 in Bangkok
75 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Boutique Inn
Buddy Boutique Inn
#73 of 667 in Bangkok
308 reviews
Banglamphu
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
#93 of 1,243 in Bangkok
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chart

Property: Baan Chart
Address: 98 Chakrapong Road, Taladyod, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 667 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Chart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2-minute walk from the bustling Khaosan Road and various entertainment options, Baan Chart offers comfortable rooms with air conditioning and en suite bathrooms. It boasts a swimming pool and a restaurant. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Baan Chart is a 7-minute walk from Phra Athit Pier and Thammasat University. It is a 5-minute drive from Grand Palace and a 45-minute ride from Suvarnabhumi International Airport. Simply furnished rooms at this hotel are equipped with a cable flat-screen TV, a fridge and a safety deposit box. En suite bathrooms are fitted with shower facilities. For convenience, the hotel offers a 24-hour reception service. Staff at the tour desk can help guests with travel and sightseeing arrangements. Guests can enjoy a selection of authentic Thai cuisine served at Courtyard Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Chart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing