We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel,But suffers from exterior noise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #99 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Chalais, France
Level Contributor
194 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A nice hotel,But suffers from exterior noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a nice hotel,nice staff,good food,lovely decor. The hotel is well appointed and set in a good location with Asoke BST just 200 metres away, BUT even on the 27th Floor the noise from ground level including the BST (Sky Train) is unbelievable, this continues right through the night,even with the curtains shut the noise and vibration are very noticable.
In fairness to the Hotel staff they offerred to move me, but a swift recky to another room on another floor soon told me that this would make no differrence at all, so I stayed put. This and the overly loud background music (Most of which is banal Techno crap more fitting to a night club than a hotel) is the only other annoyance.
The room size are under for an Asian hotel,quite small more like a European hotel.
Some staff are ok but most tend to make it up as they go along,it seems the manager and Fairy were the only two that were switched on.

Room Tip: For the same rate you could find a much better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMThecontinenthotel, General Manager at The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Paul E,
Greetings from The Continent Hotel, Bangkok!
Thanks for your kind review.
Sorry for the bad experience that you had with us during your stay.
Your room has been fixed and no noise anymore. For sure, higher floor is better due to Bangkok is very busy city.
Lobby and corridor music will be turned off at 11pm and ON at 11am and it will be very well controlled to avoid noise or any inconvenient for our guests.
Thanks for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Zaki Baz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    489
    150
    40
    20
See reviews for
147
528
189
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gamba, Gabn
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Perfectly adequate, but scope for improvement; manager needs to intervene for some easy fixes.

Continent Hotel in Bangkok is well located at the Asoke intersection right next to Sky Train access stairs. Staff are friendly and motivated. Décor is modern and tasteful, but I suspect it will quickly date.

Rooms are small but well appointed. Lights switches are clearly labeled and easy to locate. Curtains are proper blackout but I struggled to get my room dark though; the room and bathroom night lights, flashing phone charge indicator, red thermostat and iPod clock radio all needed extinguishing. Neither my iPod classic nor iPhone 4 would work on the dock. Rooms feature a marvelous large TV, but the signal is reduced so the image is not sharp. A listing of the TV stations would be useful.

Room 1702 shower smelt slightly moldy and the water pressure, while adequate, didn’t deliver the luxurious hot shower I’d have preferred. Towels are plentiful, thick and high quality.

The mini bar coffee facility and bathroom amenity draws were helpfully left ajar on arrival. Locating them would be a challenge otherwise.

Despite three attempts and clearly offering to pay, I was defeated in having a morning newspaper delivered to my room both mornings I was there. Ridiculous for a hotel so well located for business customers.

Breakfast is typical hotel buffet style, the venue is the impressive main restaurant with floor to ceiling windows but the loud jazz music seems inappropriate at breakfast time and somewhat spoilt my enjoyment. Like hotels the world over the toaster is awful, after passing my bread through two excruciatingly slow cycles, rescuing it twice from the slide it was still pale and completely untoasted. Why not just have the staff bring us toast? Oh, and the yoghurt is completely lost amongst the salad dressings. All effortless things to solve. Hint, try sitting in the small alcove in the corner.

There are only two guest elevators, so allow time for them to arrive. Card access is required and guests seem to struggle with the confusing button layout for selecting the floors. Outside guests are welcome to the restaurants and bar.

Free throttled Internet is a welcome touch and faster access is available for a fee.

In balance a hotel worth considering for your Bangkok stay, but there is so much choice here. Intervention from the manager could make the hotel even better and help differentiate it from the competitors.

Continent team, let us know here when you have attended to these minor issues and I’ll try you again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Standard room size and may not be big enough for guests who are shopaholics...they may need to manage the room space accordingly. Superb location, right next to Asok BTS and a few minutes walk to Terminal 21 mall. As for bathroom toiletries (shower gel, shampoo), do bring your own. Generally a clean and tidy hotel with friendly staff! Will stay there again the next round.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank drimmieus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My first experience with this hotel in Bangkok. Very impressed by the hotel staff and hotel rooms.

Staffs like Ice, Gy, Eve, Faii and Mac are well commended for their good altitude, friendliness and being helpful.

I will defintely recommend this to others and will choose this hotel for my future stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CALM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We booked for an 8 night stay in Bangkok, we are Thai ourselves. I will make these as point form to make it clear.

1. Upon our landing at Suvannabhum airport, I called to reception in seeking for the best route for the taxi. Responses over the phone were "I don't know", and when I asked for confirmation on the exact street no, the response was "23 Sukhumvit road". I couldn't hear him as he was mumbling so I had to ask again and the response was more of a sarcastic and ignorant tone "23 Sukhumvit road". Note again we are Thai.

2. Upon arrival at the front desk on 01/10/2013, I confirmed on our requested highest floor possible & non-smoking, I got the response as a nod of the head rather than yes/no.

3. The front desk staff gave me a sheet of paper to sign confirming the stay, the paper written room '2605' which is for level 26. We were given level 25 but as shown on the keycard. When I queried about this error, again I was given the silent but rather arrogant look, he then simply use the pen and crossed out the room number and looked at me. At this point me and my wife were already not satisfied with the service being the 'reception/customer service front desk'.

4. On 02/10/2013 (basically the following day), both our key cards were not active for some reason, the lift took so the restaurant on level 35 and the restaurant manager was kind enough to take us down to the reception and advise of the issues. The restaurant manager also said 'apologized' to us both.

5. At this time, I noticed couple of staffs at the front desk was chatting and giggling which I find a bit unprofessional for a 5 star hotel. Once I walked over to the counter, the group breakaway and left with a girl who was just about to pretending to be busy??

6. They fixed it by inserting both of our keycards to the machine, when I asked 'what's wrong with our cards?', the response was 'I don't know'. My wife also asked 'will this happened again?', there was on response..

7. Another one, we also received a random call looking for 'hooker'?? the call came through our room's phone. I hung up since.

8. Last night we brought our friend over for a chat and whilst I walked in I was asked for the keycard and not a friendly look at all..

We are still staying here and do not want to think about what we'll find out next.

We never received any smiles or greetings when we enter the hotel.

The maid & restaurant staffs were nice. Front desk staffs require extensive training on how to perform at least to the competitive level being a 5 star hotel.

We are on our first night and already not happy at all.

Had we not paid for the hotel we would have moved out.

I declare all above statements are true and correct and hope the management gets this feedback and check through your CCTV to support this matter.

Regards,
Nara Barameetham

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank em7nara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just nice hotel as the location was perfect..straight from the airport to the hotel in no time..But found the reception crowded and the staff not well trained..Took some time to check in but they were polite and helpful..Rooms were neat and chic , bathroom good ..went to the axis bar but found it a bit closed..All in all a nice hotel in Bangkok with good location but we have had a better stay..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

It is just two mins walk thru the flyover from ASOK BTS station. Shopping mall Terminal 21 and some cozy spa is just nearby. We received warm and nice service from front desk, concierge and F&B staffs. Thanks for the upgrade to continent room so i could enjoy the bath every night in my birthday trip. Great variety of choice in buffet breakfast and nice atmosphere to enjoy my breakfast. The swimming pool on the roof is nice but too small.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennychak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
S Sukhumvit Suites
S Sukhumvit Suites
#218 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Sukhumvit
Four Points By Sheraton Bangkok, Sukhumvit 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#59 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#77 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Address: 413 Sukhumvit Road | Khlongtoei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly The Continent Hotel Bangkok)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continent Hotel, Sukhumvit Bangkok is a luxurious hotel in a convenient location that suits all types of lifestyle, business or leisure travelers. In just a few steps out, you can enjoy a range of shopping malls like Terminal 21, Robinson and more. The public transport like BTS (Asok Sky train Station) and MRT (Sukhumvit Subway Station) is just next door. The hotel is positioned right in the heart of Sukhumvit between Soi 21 and Soi 23 , near Soi Cowboy and other night life entertainment. The hotel offers 153 guestrooms which are designed in four different themes called Ocean, Forest, Desert and Space. All rooms and suites are well appointed and present a lifestyle of comfort and convenience with sophisticated in-room amenities. Additional facilities include innovative bars, a lofty restaurant, a meeting space, a sky gym with city view and an elevated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing