We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great new addition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #113 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great new addition”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is fantastically located next to the Interchange building of BTS Asok. Though it has 38 floors, the hotel itself is small with a small area per floor. Each floor is dedicated to a world renowned city with its pictures in the corridor.
The rooms are small but interiors are brilliant.Spaces are used very well. Breakfast is adequate but could have more variety. However, a hotel boasting to be a 5 star with Cappucino not included, is just not done. The pool is small but well located with two cute cabanas.
The wi fi is free, but goes on & off. One has to log in every 24 hrs for the free wi fi which is irritating. Two computers are there at lobby level for surfing. TV channels are very inadequate with few English channels.
Staff members are sometimes inadequate as we passed the unmanned main gate one evening. Housekeeping can be slow sometimes.
Spin & Axis are lovely roof top lounges with great ambiance. Great little place to stay. Executive room highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sky train can be noisy as it is close by. Try to take rooms on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    508
    162
    43
    23
See reviews for
156
552
197
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just came back from a 02 night stay with The Continent Hotel in Bangkok, conveniently located right in the heart of Sukhumvit Intersection, within minutes of walk to Ashoke BTS (via overhead bridge) or Sukhumvit MRT Station (via traffic lights) and the same distance to the hip and trendy Terminal 21 Mall.

I have made it a point to try all hotels around Sukhumvit area for the last 05 years, after more than one and a half decade of visiting Bangkok but never have I encountered such sincere top-notch service from a boutique hotel.

I had arrived early on my TG flight at around 11am from Singapore and decided to try my luck to see if I can check into my room 03 hrs earlier and the Front Desk Staff, Ms GY has been nothing but accommodating and sincere with her smiles and services.

Even when the next morning, I came down in a disheveled look - having a bad night's sleep because of the noisy next-door Korean neighbours, she was very quick to help me arrange for another room. NOTE OF ADVICE: if you are a light sleeper, do not take the connecting rooms, worse if your neighbours are noisy. So about two hours later, I was swapped to another room and enjoyed the 2nd night in total peace and quiet.

Breakfast on the 35th Level is excellent with a great view and the swimming pool located on the 37th floor is nothing short of fantastic - gentle reminder, if you want a nice bronze tan, go during lunch hour, BEST TIMING for a total tan.

Security is top-notch too, I left for supper at 2:30am on the first night, after being awaken by the snoring Koreans next door, and came back around 3:30am when the security guard had sort of changed shift and they actually bothered to stop and do a security check on you.

Well, I am definitely going back to The Continent Hotel ... planning for a End of May trip again !!!

Oh yes, a final note, internet is a little tad slow, for a Techgeek like me - so not advisable for playing games if you wanna hole up in the hotel and play.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are non-connecting and of course, flash your best billion-dollar smile when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGeekyBeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel has an excellent location with no more than 100 meters to the skytrain station and half block from the Terminal 21 mall.
Also it looks new, the restaurant had a great view and the breakfast is very good.
The room was big enough and brand new with a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverhg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morocco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great Hotel in the heart of Sukhumvit area. We booked a suite with a stunning view. Daily breakfast buffet is served in a private room at Medinii. We did not receive the complementary fruit basket even after my call and a promise to fix this. The overall rating is excellent and will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Najib_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZakiBaz, General Manager at The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Najib_EM,
Greetings from The Continent Hotel, Bangkok!
Thanks for your very kind review!
Great to know that you had enjoyable stay with us.
I am sorry about the fruit basket. I already informed the hotel House-Keeping about your comment and rest assured that this issue is 100% fixed.
Many thanks and all the best,
Zaki Baz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

the hotel is great for traveler who is Shopaholic, as hotel is easy access to BTS and MRT. Also it is close to T21(2mins walk). I stay in hotel at 4 nights, everything is fine. Just 2 things I would like to point out,
1) Soundproofing is bad, as you can hear everybody who talk in lobby and every morning you might wake from their lobby speaker which play the music in whole day@@
2) If you take Taxi, it is very very hard to find the hotel entrance, as it is small and not good for look if you are in the taxi. So pls beware about it as well

Hotel staff is helpful and polite and everything was great in room!!

Room Tip: dont choice the room which close to lift as you will here the speaker sounds><
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SausageWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZakiBaz, General Manager at The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear SausageWong,
Greetings from The Continent Hotel, Bangkok!
Thanks for your kind review!
We are glad that you have had enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comment about the soundproof glass is very valuable. We’ll check your room and take all necessarily actions.
The hotel is very new and not all taxi know the way. But the location is very well known and easy. We also provide a very details map on our hotel website.
Thanks again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
All the best,
Zaki Baz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Continent Hotel

Located on Sukhumvit road neighboring the Terminal 21 shopping centre, this hotel provided a great base for my stay in Bangkok. Taxis, public transport, shopping, restaurants & bars are all at the doorstep.

The hotel presents as new and is a very comfortable, fresh design that incorporates many unique and interesting design features. The rooms are great size despite reading complaints regarding this within the Tripadvisor forum. They feature full height floor to ceiling windows with spectacular views, large Flatscreen TV, massive rainshower and all the other normal 5 star hotel inclusions.

The pool area is quite small and has a pool bar attached to it, this area looks better in the pictures than real life. If you are seeking a hotel to sit poolside then perhaps consider other options.

The gym area is well equipped with weights & machines and features spectacular views, it also provides changing rooms, showers, TVs and high tempo music for workout inspiration.

Breakfast on the 35th floor was a wonderful way to start the day with a delicious fresh omelette, some juice fruit and the view to compliment. A full hot buffet was also available including fried rice, eggs, pork, noodles, sausages and other options.

In my opinion this hotel was great value,great location and excellent design, the staff were all very friendly, very professional and would highly recommend the Continent Hotel to other travelers.

I shall certainly stay here again when next visiting Bangkok.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Scview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZakiBaz, General Manager at The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Scview,
Greetings from The Continent Hotel, Bangkok!
Thanks for your kind and fantastic review!
As you’ve mentioned in your review… the hotel is located in great location and within walking distance to many of Bangkok attraction areas.
The rooms are not very big, but are not small. Very comfortable for 2 persons in the room. We have also executive rooms for family or friends where we can accommodate 3 persons.
Our hotel guests find the pool very entertaining area because of its Sky view and relaxing atmosphere.
The gym is also has great view. It is located on the 36 floor and it is fully equipped for daily exercise.
We serve an international buffet breakfast on the 35 floor with very wide selections of vegetarians and non-veg food.
We are glad you’ve enjoyed your trip and we hope to meet you again soon and serve you the best,

Regards,
Zaki Baz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our party of 4 was very happy with the hotel during our stay early April 2014. Free upgrade from Premium to Sky was offered if survey was taken at time of reservation and room is available. Our upgrade did not include the Sky complimentary daily fruit basket (banana, grapes and tangerines) and swimming bar tab must be paid in cash. However, we were on Floor 32. (For the superstitious guest, there are no floors that include the number 4 or 13.) The wait time for elevator was never an issue for us as other reviews stated. We took the stairs once to the excellent breakfast buffet when elevator time exceeded 5 minutes. We heard that Bangkok tourism suffered due to months of somewhat violent protests. Maybe the hotel was not very full.

The English speaking staff from front desk to the doorman was very friendly and helpful. There is also a taxi caller outside. (Don’t wave to him like I did or he will think you are requesting a taxi.)

This hotel is centrally located for night life. Soi Cowboy is a 5 minute walk and various massage parlors (both the certified places and the Full Service places) are within 10 minute walking distance.
Terminal 21 shopping mall with many restaurants is just outside the hotel.
As others mentioned, our taxi driver had a difficult time finding the hotel. We just asked him to drop us off at Terminal 21. Overall, this hotel exceeded our expectations. Mass transit next to hotel gets you to places by day and nearby night life establishments entertain you in the evening.

Detailed Description:
Electricity – Electrical converters are not necessary room outlets accept any type plug. As with many Asian and European hotels, a slot for hotel key card must be filled for electricity to be operational. I usually put a hotel business card or equivalent to avoid accidentally locking myself out for a momentary task (stepping out to neighbor’s room).

Breakfast Buffet – We did not have to wait for seats in the 5 days at the hotel. We only had to give our room number the first day. The staff recognized us for the following days. The variety of food on Floor 35 was very good. Eggs to order, waffle (a bit hard), rice, hot dogs, noodles, hash brown, fresh fruit and various juices were offered. The menu was slightly different each day. No bananas were available though. Hardboiled egg requests were not served to my specifications even though 8 minutes of boiling was stated on the second attempt.

Bathroom – Large. Shower can be from the usual portable shower head or ceiling unit that pours water rain style.
Large (7 inch diameter) circular vanity mirror
Glass view between living space and bathroom with button controlled shades (for voyeurism?)
Hair dryer has adequate air flow

Room Temperature – easy to control the air conditioning

Security – Good. Key must be placed in slot before going to floor. Elevators are accessible after walking past the front desk. Peep hole has cover. In room safe is estimated to be 14 inches wide, 5 inches high and 13 inches deep.

Staff – Friendly and English speaking. I had a nice rapport with Ice who works the front desk and doorman initiated talks with me.

Internet – Two guest computer stations are available in lobby. One was very responsive while the other one was very slow. (I did not know if Wi-Fi is available since no device was carried overseas.)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZakiBaz, General Manager at The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Harold H,
Greetings from The Continent Hotel, Bangkok!
Many thanks indeed for this great and detailed review!
We are very glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us during your 5 days stay in Bangkok.
I cannot say or explain any more about the hotel more than you did!
Thanks again and we look forward to welcome you back and serve you the best!

Zaki Baz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#56 of 858 in Bangkok
1,436 reviews
Sukhumvit
Four Points By Sheraton Bangkok, Sukhumvit 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
S Sukhumvit Suites
S Sukhumvit Suites
#194 of 858 in Bangkok
857 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Address: 413 Sukhumvit Road | Khlongtoei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly The Continent Hotel Bangkok)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continent Hotel, Sukhumvit Bangkok is a luxurious hotel in a convenient location that suits all types of lifestyle, business or leisure travelers. In just a few steps out, you can enjoy a range of shopping malls like Terminal 21, Robinson and more. The public transport like BTS (Asok Sky train Station) and MRT (Sukhumvit Subway Station) is just next door. The hotel is positioned right in the heart of Sukhumvit between Soi 21 and Soi 23 , near Soi Cowboy and other night life entertainment. The hotel offers 153 guestrooms which are designed in four different themes called Ocean, Forest, Desert and Space. All rooms and suites are well appointed and present a lifestyle of comfort and convenience with sophisticated in-room amenities. Additional facilities include innovative bars, a lofty restaurant, a meeting space, a sky gym with city view and an elevated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing