We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was OK and Service Little off as well”
Review of Baluchi's Bangkok - CLOSED

Baluchi's Bangkok
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Banglamphu
Description: Baluchi'S Bangkok Located Soi-Rongmai Rambutri. PLEASE BE SURE TO WALK TO THE END OF THE LANE. NEARER TO THE MAIN ROAD.PASSING FAMILY INDIAN RESTAURANT TO REACH BALUCHI'S. Please do not be mis-guided or mis-understood by the location or similar menus. Look for Orange signs, and decorations. Please check with us, call anytime or ask sawasdee hotel counter for Vegetarian Indian INSIDE the Alley/Lane. Regards, Management
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food was OK and Service Little off as well”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We decided to try this restaurant based on the reviews on TA and wanted to try something new. The place was clean and well kept. Food-wise, the appetizers were good and overall the items were fresh. However, we found certain items either two sweet to our liking or a little off taste. Also, there was a couple errors in our order even after waiter asking us to repeat the order twice. I definitely won't call this the best Indian restaurant in Bangkok and will consider it average when compare to other places listed in Trip Advisor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick S, Owner at Baluchi's Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Customer,

We sincerely apologize for the mis-understanding in the service section and will surely train them better for the future to understand and to serve our customers well.

For the food, we try to fine tune it for each diner for them to enjoy it accordingly to their likings. We apologize that it was not according to your taste. We will make sure to acquire details and understanding those details next time anyone comes by so we can cater to their taste and needs.

Sincerely,
Wick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    12
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Indian food. A fresh place to go in that Khao San Rd place.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Ate there twice, great both times. Straightforward place, no pretensions, unlike plenty of other places. Too far away to go now, which is a shame.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimN1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick S, Owner at Baluchi's Bangkok, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to locate us an dining with us. As our first restaurant and location, we do understand its hard to find, and really grateful to all our guests who sort us out and dine with us. We will make it easier to find and reach you through deliveries and tiffin services!

Pleasure serving you!

Regards,
Wick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My first encounter with Baluchis was virtual as I tracked them on the net and passed on the contact details to my daughter who had just moved into BKK and was craving for Indian food !! This time, it was a real encounter.... I landed up with my entire family to have lunch. This is an unassuming small place but the quality of vegetarian food was awesome to say the least. I met with Vicky, the owner and yes he remembered me calling him up from a India way back in Jan14. A second meal was a dinner and was just as awesome and tasty as before. Friendly staff, tasty food at reasonable prices and adequate quantity.....will recommend them any day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Visha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick S, Manager at Baluchi's Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello,

It was indeed a pleasure meeting a gentleman like yourself, and a loving family who thus enjoy our homely service. We look forward to provide tailored services to our customers, and flavor the food to explode their taste buds. We are happy to serve and very happy in-deed when customer are satisfied with our customized services :)

Thank you for your great loyalty,
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good informal Restaurant”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Had the opportunity to visit this restaurant when exploring the Khao san Road. Difficult to find, as other restaurants in the street are trying to imitate it . However once we reached the restaurant, the chef and his staff are extremely polite and helpful.

The small menu means all items are freshly prepared on order and the food was really tasty.

The drinks list needs to be extended, and possibly extend the choice of Wine's available.

Credit to the management and keep it up..Will return soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank emeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Vegetarian Food!! Must try!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We ate at Baluchi's the other night while in Bangkok and really enjoyed our meal and the hospitality of the restaurant. We came in late, and were very well taken care of. It's a small, intimate dining experience. They were playing Bollywood films in the restaurant, which we enjoyed. It's really nice to have such a delicious all vegetarian restaurant!! We would definitely return.

We ordered samosas, dal, and garlic naan and enjoyed every bite. The portions were large, so we had left overs, but it was well worth it. The food was very affordable too - with a large beer and rice plus the three dishes, I think the bill came to between 300 - 400 baht.

This place is slightly off the beaten path, but well worth the extra 5 minute walk. We headed down Rambuttri Street until we reached Sawasdee Inn, and then it's at the end of that lane.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baluchi's Bangkok also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing