We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-eat place in Bangkok”
Review of East Meets West Restaurant - CLOSED

East Meets West Restaurant
Price range: US$2 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Silom
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A must-eat place in Bangkok”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Went there for dinner on Trip Advisor's recommendation and was happy to do so. Located on Silom Road just near Holiday Inn and Bangkok Fashion Outlet and a 10 minute walk from BTS Surasak. Simple yet elegant and romantic alfresco and indoor dining. Personal service and finger-licking good food. They even gave me a 10% discount for mentioning Trip Advisor. Must-eat place in Bankok specially for those who love seafood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Babar_Khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food at very low prices!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Me and my bf were staying at Lebua state tower hotel and decided that we needed to try some authentic thai food preferably at a cheap price as we had blown at lot of our money in Lebua's Mezzaluna restaurant the night before!

We found that East meets West was very near where we were staying so we headed on down. It was only about a 5 mins walk, but it could be easily missed as it's down a side street/square (which I'm assuming at some point was or is going to be a busy area - there's an unused water fountain at the front)

We got there around 8pm on a saturday and were very surprised to see the place empty. It is also quite a small restaurant (I was expecting an upstairs, but it's just a few tables inside and a few outside), but we sat down inside regardless and the service was very good.

The people who served us were very friendly and understanding and went out of their way to make sure they got the food right. I have a weird food requirement where I don't eat vegetables, but wanted to try the Pad Thai, and they accommodated me, no problem!

The food came out quickly and was very tasty and authentic, we would've happily gone back again if we stayed in Bangkok longer. Me and my bf both agreed that it was the best Thai food we had on our whole trip, and the best part was that it was so cheap! We ordered Pad Thai, Chicken Green Curry with rice, soft drink and Singha beer and it only came to about 540 baht!

Highly recommend this place and don't be put off by the location and size, the food is excellent!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yikyikyik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“When you are here, eat Tom Yum Kung! - Picrumb”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Shrimp / Fish / Seafood in spicy soup with lemon grass and herbs.

A bit far way from the station and you may have to walk long way but the taste of the food here exceeds all that. Just taste Tom Yum Kung soup in East Meets West. You will be surprized how deep the soup can be.

http://www.picrumb.com/east-meets-west-restaurant-silom/

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Picrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Good food served by friendly team. Location is not very attractive and somewhat noisy if seated on the terrace.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lys_1853
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food tucked away in a side street”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We spent our last day in bangkok walking around the silom area. We felt like some authentic thai before leaving and found this restaurant in a quiet side street next to a turkish restaurant! We had really good food and enjoyed our final thai meal and it was a very reasonable price which made it taste even better. We were on our way to the sky bar in the state tower when we found it so it's down that end of silom road. (We decided against going to the sky bar as we didn't feel like paying 15usd for a drink just to see the view!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Meets West Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing