We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for exploring the old city”
Review of Chetuphon Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chetuphon Gate
Ranked #290 of 1,210 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Whistler, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for exploring the old city”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I was in Bangkok for a flying visit and I wanted to visit the old parts of the city. This hotel has a near perfect location for this and I could see Wat Pho from my room window and Wat Arun just by stepping from the front door. I was happy to see that the excellent Deck restaurant at the Arun Residence was just a few feet from my door. My room was the one depicted in the images with the lofted bed, a really fun room that was clean and cool. The hotel does have a small cafe beneath it but it really caters for westerners who aren't feeling very adventurous...... I would stay clear of that and head to Arun Residence or Sala Rattanakosin for food nearby with stunning views of Wat Arun.

Being within just a few minutes walk to the Grand Palace, a few seconds from Wat Pho and views of Wat Arun was just perfect for my trip.

Room Tip: Room 201 has the lofted bed as you see in the pictures. Really fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whistlerdan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
30
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Was at "The Gate" the first time today and I wonder why?! Although the concept is of a snack bar with self-service, the service provided by the staff is still very efficient and forthcoming. The interior is classy and the aircondition makes it comfortable. WiFi is available. Food consists mainly of snacks like Panini with salad but Spaghetti and some light Thai dishes are on offer as well. Tea, coffee and a small selection of cakes and ice-cream (real, tasty ice-cream!) complete the otherwise small menu. Prices are very reasonable. A good place to pop in whenever near-by

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbertbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harthill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Rooms (as a family we have experience of three different rooms). All are clean, comfortable and serviced daily! Although not over large they are perfectly adequate! Beware the stairs are quite steep, though staff are most willing to help with baggage.

Staff - Jan was a very helpful person who did her utmost to make our stay successful and enjoyable, even going out of her way to get us a table at the Deck By The River restaurant when they appeared fully booked. She recommended trips and arranged for my taxi to Kanchanaburi at a discounted rate. Her colleagues were just as helpful.
As Jan only works part time the staff at the Deli or at Arun Residence (along the side street) can hold keys and book you in.

Situation - Just opposite Wat Pho and very close to the Grand Palace. Many tourist spots such as the museum and market stalls within easy walking distance. Parking opposite on Thanon Chetuphon is free for residents. Also convenient for ferry to Wat Arun and river boats.

Dining - Deli At The Gate on the ground floor has a good choice for breakfast and snacks throughout the day. In the evening the do have some 'specials.' Several doors away at another hotel is an acceptable and reasonable restaurant. However, just along the side street is the Deck By The River restaurant at one of the sister hotels -Arun Residence. We ate here most nights. The menu choice and quality are super, though not the cheapest in Bangkok. This restaurant is on two floors and is very popular, I suggest you book the evening before.

Several of our family have experienced some Bangkok hotels being very poor, but once discovered Chetuphon Gate is the one used on return visits.
Thank You Jan and colleagues!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilFret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This review is based upon a 50% discounted rate of 23eu per night. The full rate of 46eu is way to much and there are definitively better places in that price range.

We arrived at night and confirmed that it was possible, however upon arrival the place was locked down with no way to get in. Luckely a local helped us out showing where a sister hotel was and eventually we got in. The next day the staff acted like nothing happened and just asked for our passports.

The rooms are clean and a bit on the small side. Our room was filled with mosquitoes as the wood floors contained large holes.

The location for sightseeing is great as the grand palace and some major temples are nearby. However the area is deserted during the evenings and there are no restaurants or shops nearby.

The last day we asked to pay they said no need we already charged your credit card which we used for booking/reservation purposes only. We found this extremely rude.

During our stay we never say someone at the reception even at check out we had to hand the keys to the restaurant staff.

Overall the place was good for the price and good for sightseeing. However the bad service and nothing nearby like restaurants leaves us with mixed feelings.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManonChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2013

clean and quite. Service is so good. i would come again because it is so easy to access in the centre area. Staffs are so friendly and helpful. However, a room I was staying ,it was quite small room but cute. and one more thing I like about was there is a cafe shop at the ground floor so it was good to have a break there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenifer v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Aurum The River Place
#290 of 862 in Bangkok
191 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#221 of 862 in Bangkok
290 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#68 of 1,210 in Bangkok
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Pho Hostel
Pho Hostel
#335 of 1,210 in Bangkok
4 reviews
Banglamphu
Arom d Hostel
Arom d Hostel
#186 of 1,210 in Bangkok
78 reviews
Sala Arun
#53 of 650 in Bangkok
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chetuphon Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chetuphon Gate

Property: Chetuphon Gate
Address: 370-372, Soi Pratoo Nokyoong, Maharaj Road, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 1,210 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chetuphon Gate 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open in October 2012 - following our sister hotel -ArunResidence and SalaArun.. This 9 room hotel is located right next to Wat Po. New standard of living with traditional feel of home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chetuphon Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing