We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for sundowners” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of sala rattanakosin Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
Ranked #80 of 1,129 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for sundowners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent location for throwing a party or reception. The view is amazing of wat arun and the wat pho and there is a great evening breeze. Snack food is delicious and so is the BBQ they have once in a while. We hosted 25 people there and it was great. Drinks are good and most of them reasonably priced. Staff very friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    95
    30
    10
    12
See reviews for
32
148
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had booked a room on the Wat Pho side of the hotel which was perfectly nice but when we saw the view from the rooms across the hall we quickly upgraded. We loved watching the traffic on the river, especially at night. The location couldn't be better, short walking distance to the Grand Palace, Wat Pho, river transport and much more. We loved the look of the room, very contemporary with clean lines. The breakfast was wonderful, you could order one of four or five choices, all really well prepared. Everyone on the staff was friendly and very helpful. The only caveat was that there are stairs involved. Our fourth floor room was 62 steps up a circular stairwell. Well worth the work as long as your knees are OK. Even though we had the name of the hotel and address written out in the Thai language the taxi driver had some trouble finding it. We told him across from Wat Pho which got him to the right area but he took the wrong little street (or alley) toward the river. Two men at the end of that street showed us where to go and even carried our luggage for us to the hotel. As of February 6th the building on the right side of the corner leading into the hotel is being rehabbed and has a covering that is yellow with lots of fake green windows. Hope that helps.

Room Tip: The added cost of the river view rooms is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We've spent two nights here so far, one more to go, and we have nothing but good things to say. The Hotels location is absolutely perfect, within walking distance of many of the "must see" places in Bangkok. Less than a thirty minute walk to Khao san Rd for example..

The staff has been great, both friendly and helpful. There is a great view of the surrounding area from the roof top patio/bar...

There are two points I like to share, but by no means are they a negative towards the hotel.

1) The hotel may be difficult to find, as it's not on the main street, and there is only a small sign on the main street. If you're coming from the airport, ask the hotel to arrange a pickup for you. This is what we did and it worked out flawlessly.

2) There is no elevator, so if you have mobility issues, this may be a problem.

I hope this review helps you choose the Sala as your hotel destination in Bangkok.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

LOCATION- I wanted a hotel near Wat Pho, Wat Arun, the Palace and a river view. The Sala Rattanakosin fit that requirement and you can walk it. I am in hotels 180 nights a year for work and suite 301 at the Sala is probably my favorite hotel experience of all the places I've visited for work or vacation. (Granted I don't stay at the Ritz but for my vac budget of $100-$200 USD you won't get that.)

Yes, it can be hard to find but getting the address & map in Thai printed out will save you any headache. If they drop you off at the top of the dead end street, it's a short 2 walk to the hotel entrance. There are old shops and street vendors in the area. Look for the white wall at the end with Sala Rattanakosin on it.

Some guest reported an odor (sewer line construction?) but I didn't experience it. We did have a small power interruption in about 10am for work on a building up the street under major renovation.

TRANSPORTATION- The airport Skytrain can take you nearby into the old city and then you can take a 10 minute taxi ride to the hotel. The hotel is also a 5 min walk through the adjacent market alleyway to the river taxis- a MUST DO! The public water taxi if fast and very cheap (under$1!) or you can get a private longboat and get a personal tour.

STAFF - very helpful & very friendly. Good English. Even got a welcome drink at check in.

HOTEL- A nice remodel of an old warehouse. Yes, it's true there is no elevator but for any reasonably healthy person this is not a factor. The top deck is accessed via a wide spiral staircase. All the public areas are wonderfully decorated. The theme is black & white. Free WiFi worked well.

SUITES- the Wat Pho side rooms are still nice rooms, but the view is obscured. The river view is what makes a stay here worthwhile- the ambiance. Our first night we did not have one and thinking I had booked a riverview room made our first night less impressive. Thankfully a room was open for the next 4 days and we switched or I would have been pretty disappointed. My top rating stars are for the upgraded room. So worth the extra money. The beds are perfect. There at snack jars of dried fruits in the room with the coffee maker. Yummy but not enough. The rooms have only white walls and the sinks are metal vessels on concrete countertops. the tile throughout is black & white. The shower in both our rooms was gigantic. My b/f even commented that the toilet had a view!

FOOD- was fantastic. (Is there bad food in Thailand?!) The free breakfast every day was big and delicious. Morning waiter was delightful. I made sure to take photos of the food. We had a dinner there that was actually featured on the local morning show (search YouTube)- the pork belly. Dinners there every night were not part of our budget but the meals we had were worth it. The general public makes reservations for the sunset/evening dinners on the deck- so be sure to make your own or it will be full.

BAR- this is the only part of my experience here that was sub par - the bar service. Enjoying the rooftop bar is a great perk but the bar staff was slow and unattentive the 2 times I ordered there. I had to get up and ask for my martini it was taking so long (I could see it sitting there.) It wasn't that packed either. Slooooow to get drinks and same to get check (maybe the Thais don't bring it until you ask?) New staff? Maybe as the woman I ordered with didn't even know about the specials they were advertising in the lobby. She had to call down.

Overall, I certainly would love the chance to go back. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The whole point of booking here is to have a RIVER view room. The Wat Pho side are OK rooms but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie_Flygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed in Sala Rattanakosin when visiting Bangkok for 3 nights and had an excellent experience here. On the night we arrived we were scheduled to arrive at 9pm but due to a delay in Abu Dhabi it was quite a bit later. When we realized the delay, I contacted the hotel as they had also organized a driver to pick us up. The hotel then offered to prepare some food for our arrival. When we got there the chef was waiting for us which after 33 hours of traveling and airplane food, couldn't have been better and a clear sign they were going to look after us!

On our first day after a great breakfast on the river terrace we visited the most well known temples in Bangkok, Wat Pho and Wat Arun which are just a few minutes from the hotel and the Kings Palace within walking distance.

The Saturday evening we decided to dine in the restaurant. We had booked in advance so got the river table. It will be hard to beat the view from here with Wat Arun directly in front lit-up. We tried a number of dishes from the menu and all were excellent and reasonably priced. The pork belly is a must!!

Any queries we had reception was more than happy to help and even suggest and book tours for us. After leaving the hotel we flew to Chang Mai and after our experience in this hotel we decided to book a room in their sister hotel. We were as equally impressed.

Room Tip: Really must stay in a river front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BravuraMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tagum City, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

stayed for 3nights..the hotel has an amazing view of the temple infront of chao praya river..very romantic for couples..big rooms.comfortable bed.and nice bathroom.good service and very friendly staff.the food in the restaurant was great too..definitely stay again if i go to bkk..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canestrel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

It's a rather small hotel next to the river, so breakfast at the riverside terrace and a drink on the rooftop-terrace is very nice, but to get a taxi is not only difficult, it is also very expensive, as most of the Bangkok-Taxidriver are Bastards and refuse to use the meter.
Breakfast was quite good, service -esp. on rooftop terrace- slow, not all staff is speaking english

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vielreisende R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Aurum The River Place
#285 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#26 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#38 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Sala Arun
Sala Arun
#54 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Inn A Day
#5 of 606 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#65 of 1,129 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to sala rattanakosin Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about sala rattanakosin Bangkok

Property: sala rattanakosin Bangkok
Address: 39 Maharat Road, Rattanakosin Island, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 1,129 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — sala rattanakosin Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sala rattanakosin Bangkok consists of 15 stylish guest rooms, most with river views including the luxurious arun river view suite. amazing dining and breathtaking views await the adventurous traveler who wants to and intimate and indulgent experience in signature SALA style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your sala rattanakosin Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing