We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Accomodation & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Wanglang Riverside
Ranked #184 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average Accomodation & Service”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have just returned from Bangkok and spent our 5 nights at Baan WangLang Riverside. We had booked the Panoramic Suite (from hotel directly) and felt that it was just not really worth the money.

The response was swift during the booking however things were different when I asked them about the cancellation (I made my reservation last year)) in the event that the protest in Bangkok worsen and in case air lines cancel our flight. No response from them although I sent a few reminder after my initial email. And when finally they replied, nothing mention about the cancellation!
We booked airport pick up with the hotel as many taxi drivers are not familiar with the place. Guess what, the limo driver lost his way and it was his first time taking deal from the hotel! It took us almost 2 hours to reach our destination!
The "suite" is merely a bigger room with view. Very small bathroom and bathroom door (smaller than those in Hong Kong), no shelving for you to place your toiletries etc. Noisy air cond compressor, limited TV channels etc. For those who wish to wake up late, you may want to consider to have room away from the river as boats will wake you up early in the morning (with their noisy engines).
We were on the 5th floor and 342 Bar was just above us. We didn't have a good sleep throughout the stay. Staff dragging furnishing (pass midnite), people jumping etc causing loud noise and we can feel the vibration.
Service-expect basic service. Although, we had feedback (3 times, on different days and to different people) the noise from the bar above our room, nothing much was done.
The hotel is far away from the major shopping belts, taking taxi may not be a good option, as it will take about 1.5hours. Next best alternative will be taking the boat to the Central Pier and get on to BTS. However, do note that the last boat will end it service at 9.30pm from the Central Pier (do check). We missed the last boat by 10mins, ended up taking taxi from the Central Pier which cost 150baht and 45mins!
There isn't much eatery (especially during the night) nearby the hotel, unless, you don't mind having your meals at the roadsides stalls. Do avoid Black Canyon Coffee at the WangLang Pier, it was the worst meal we had, uncooked Chicken, salty soup and a big fat rat running across the counter!
Breakfast-a real disappointment. Usually hotels in Thailand serve very good breakfast but not here. We took egg and 2 mouthful of noodles for the 1st day, a cup of lukewarm coffee on the 2nd and had breakfast at the local shops for the rest of our stay. Food were cold, staff more interested to play with their phones etc.

We probably wouldn't be back to this hotel again as there are other better option around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvonneSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    133
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
157
18
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here in December for 4 nights.
Very difficult to find , taxi driver had to call them for directions.
Most of your trips will start with a boat ride over the river, jetty is only 5 minutes walk away and tickets are a few pence...really.
A real local market atmosphere surrounds this place, quite nice and non touristy.
Room was adequate as was restaurant. They messed up our food order a couple of times but the staff are so sweet we just ate what they served.
One moan is that I contacted them a couple of times to ask about transportation and directions to the hotel. It wasn't until the last day that the Customer Relations boss told us we could have ordered a taxi direct from the airport for 600 baht ..£12. We asked about trains and buses expecting a taxi to be a lot of money as the airport is a fair way out of the city...bit annoying but maybe I should have asked, not just expecting them to offer.
When you visit the palace opposite ignore the official looking people tellig you the monks are sleeping between 12 and 3 but they can take you somewhere else...they have official looking pass around their necks but they are LIARS.....they just want to take your money in some way...you have been warned!

Room Tip: Higher gives better view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brielks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in January.

This is a new, small boutique on the river (opposite side from Bangkok city).

We chose this hotel as a) we always prefer to stay on the river, and b) cos my partner cannot take elevators, so a low rise was perfect for us. The hotel itself is lovely with fabulous views of the river. We had booked a river front facing room but was upgraded to the penthouse room! It had fabulous views all the way up and down of the river, as the room had floor to ceiling windows! To the right you could even see the grand place. The room was very stylish with nice furniture. We had a huge lounge area with patio doors leading onto a balcony which was great for watching the river traffic. The bedroom was a separate room. The bathroom was small, badly designed, and had minimal space for toiletries. I believe the original class of room we booked would have been the same as the penthouse, but just on the floors below I think?

We ate in the restaurant the first night. Food was reasonable, but service needs tweaking. As their English was poor, it was difficult communicating. They didn't even understand when we asked for water. Overall, it just seemed all seemed a bit unprofessional. We went to he bar on the top floor which was really cool, and again with fab views. The staff were lovely, and very sweet and obliging. But again just a couple of things which the hotel need to improve on. I wanted a glass of red wine. They don't serve in the bar - only the restaurant. Ok - so I asked if they would bring a glass up. They rang down for me, and it turns out there was no red wine left by the glass. Only by the bottle. They weren't willing to open a new bottle. It all felt a bit unprofessional, and I started to miss the comforts/convenience of a big corporate hotel. I was very jet lagged, and just wanted to go back to my balcony, have a glass of wine and go to sleep. Not much to ask for in a hotel?

The breakfast was ok. I've had much better in Thailand. Again it was difficult to speak to the staff when they took your egg order, and nobody seemed to know why they were doing. The omelettes, however were lovely.

The location is fine as you next to a ferry pier with regular cheap ferries taking you across the river. You can walk to the pier easily.

The staff at reception were lovely and very helpful.

Overall, I probably would stay here again cos I loved the simplicity of a low rise hotel, the closeness to the river and the views, and the lovely staff. However I think they need to tweak some of the issues I mentioned to bring them in line with other hotels in Bangkok.

Room Tip: River front rooms are gret
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpeakirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Interesting to be located right inside the markets- mainly frequented by locals, so not as touristy. Very easy to get the cross river ferry (3 baht) to then walk to Grand Palace, and cross again to Wat Arun. As others have written- taxis do not know the location, & ours even got confused after phoning the hotel & tried to just drop us in the general vicinity. Yes, as others have mentioned- a very compact bathroom, and the floor continually wet- ? from leaking plumbing rather than the shower. Everything else was lovely,& enjoyed complimentary drinks on the roof top bar. The hotel tuk tuk dropped us to the main road & flagged down a taxi to get us to the Hua Laphong Train Station - all at no charge. Nice friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess8888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Arkansas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here several nights as a base for hopping a public boat taxi to various destinations around Bangkok. It was clean, had a fairly good restaurant and reasonably priced. Nice views of the river and also has a terrace restaurant overlooking the river.

Room Tip: They charge westerners more, so if you have a Thai friend have them make the reservations and do the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickBeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Andre, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The staff was very kind, the restaurant is good and it's easy to go from the hotel to the main touristic places.
It's important to have a map to get to the hotel because most of the taxi drivers don't know how to get to the hotel.
We had a great time!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucianagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We spent a couple of nights at Baan Wanglang Riverside and really enjoyed being able to view the bustling activity on the Chao Phraya river from our room and the riverfront restaurant. As previous reviewers have stated, taxi drivers do have a bit of trouble finding the hotel, but this a minor hassle when weighed up against the benefits of the hotel's proximity to the ferry station, tourist sights and the local markets. Thonburi train station is also easily accessible (5 minutes in a taxi) for those wishing to catch the train to Kanchanaburi.

Rooms were clean and comfortable (although the bathroom was a little claustrophobic). Reception staff, cleaners and restaurant staff were all friendly and efficient. Restaurant meals and breakfast were high quality. A great place to stay if you're keen to see some of Bangkok's sights via the river.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitster04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Aurum The River Place
#291 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#22 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#226 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praya Palazzo
#242 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#136 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#70 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Wanglang Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Wanglang Riverside

Property: Baan Wanglang Riverside
Address: 342 Soi Wat Rakang, Prannok Rd. | Siriraj Bangkoknoi, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Wanglang Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Wanglang Riverside is a newly established boutique hotel, situated by Chao Phraya River in Wanglang area - between Siriraj Pier and Wat Rakang Pier, which ensures a convenient connection to many of Bangkok's most famous tourist attractions. Standing amidst the lively vintage Wanglang Market (best known for its savory local food). Baan Wanglang Riverside is beautifully hidden away in a serene ambience of riverfront haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Wanglang Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing