We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan Wanglang Riverside
Ranked #176 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Place”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Situated right next to the river, this is a lovely little hotel with an extremely polite, helpful and friendly team of staff. The attached restaurant "The Olive Tree" has a small but great choice of tasty food, with an excellent view of the city. The "No 10 Café" downstairs is also very nice, and not too overpriced considering it's a Bangkok hotel.

The only major drawback for us was the placement of the air-conditioning condenser; it was right outside on the balcony and as it made a lot of noise we did struggle to sleep but we needed to have the air-conditioning on as it was very very hot! We were in room 503 but we can't speak for all the other rooms, they may not all be like this!

The hotel is also only accessible down a rather small and busy side road which made it a little hard to find to begin with and our taxi driver certainly struggled to turn around and leave after he dropped us off! We spent most of our time walking to and from our hotel though and being close to the river ferry and main roads it was a great base to see the sights.

Overall though we had a lovely stay for our first few nights in Bangkok and the good certainly outweighed the bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWRadmin, Owner at Baan Wanglang Riverside, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear Richie A,
Thank you for sharing your review and constructive feedback of experience at Baan Wanglang Riverside, Bangkok

It was our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Olive Tree restaurant and N10cafe.

However, we truly apologized about the noise of air-conditioning in your room 503. We have fixed the problem and will keep monitoring more closely from now.
Moreover, hotel accessibility, Baan Wanglang Riverside, is located down the very old historic part of Bangkok, which make the road very narrow toward the hotel. We also provide Tuk Tuk shuttle service to pick you up at the main road in case the taxi driver don't know the location or drop you off anywhere.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write to us and we wish to welcome you back in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Navatep C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    137
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
162
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here multiple times now within the last few months, and I've enjoyed every stay. It's very well located for navigating Bangkok via the Chao Phraya river and there are many good authentic Thai restaurants nearby. The market is on your doorstep and you can buy everything you will ever need there. Major temples like Wat Arun and Wat phra keow are only a few ferry stops away also.

The staff are very friendly and welcoming, a big thanks to Channy, Tip, Toey and Sujittra as they were very helpful and offered great advice about getting around Bangkok and getting to the airports. I've since spoken to the staff and plan on going back again very soon to catch up with them.

The restaurant serves a good variety of food and the service is very swift. The food itself is also extremely nice. Also the rooftop bar has some incredible views of Bangkok and the staff are very pleasant too.

Overall I'd highly recommend to anyone visiting Bangkok that they stay here as I don't have a bad thing to say about it.

Kind regards,
Mike

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

After a struggle for the taxi to find the hotel in an inaccessible alley, the receptionists were friendly and helpful. It seems like the hotel was converted from an old apartment block as the bathrooms were tiny, the room was small but comfortable enough. The from the room was looking over rusty rooftops and barely saw the river, however the view from the rooftop bar was great!
I guess the hotel was OK, it was just not what we expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MattNiemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at Baan Wanglang in April, 2014. We found the location to be ideal for interesting and fun things to do. With the river right in front of the hotel, relaxing with a drink or having breakfast, overlooking the river and its traffic was entertaining. The ferry pier was just a short walk away and the price for a crossing was cheap. We visited the palace and Wat Pho for the reclining Buddha---so easily accessible with a quick trip across the river. Also, took a longtail boat ride on the river. The facility was clean and staff friendly and helpful. We took the hotel shuttle from the airport, which I would recommend as the hotel is not easily found, which other travelers stated. When we took a taxi to a nearby shopping center, we had a difficult time finding a taxi who knew how to get us back to the hotel, despite having the hotel card with us. We stayed in a basic room with not much view, but it was quiet and very nice. That's all we needed as we spent most of our time exploring the nearby alleyways filled with local shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor in a basic room on the southeast side of the building (standing on balcony the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Zurich Area
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have been several times in Bangkok, but was the first time, we had the Hotel on the Thonburi-Side of BKK, but it was absolutely great. Fantastic view from the room, original Thai Neighborhood with Thai-Market-Feeling (with the exception of other hotel guests of this hotel you do not see tourists in this area), good food in the restaurant, nice rooftop bar, fantastic big room. Sure, it is not cheap but it is worth the money. With express boat you are very fast in other parts of BKK so this is really okay to stay here and if you want to have a Kaosan-Party Night (which is okay for have some dirty cheap drinks in a moody touristic area :-)) then you are there within 15 minutes by boat and walking. Great. Short: Baan Wang Lang is good Hotel at a great place, really good boutique value, Breakfast is small but okay and the sights of the River are fantastic - we will come again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Climber70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWRadmin, Front Office Manager at Baan Wanglang Riverside, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Mr. Climber70,

We thank you for choosing Baan Wanglang Riverside as your selected choice of staying in old town Bangkok area, and we sincerely appreciate your comments. The hotel is located closed to many famous can-not-miss temples and right next to a local market which makes us a perfect choice for guests who seek for real Thai journey experiences.

We are delighted you had a great time staying with us and one day when you come back I promise you that time our quality will be beyond your expectation.

Regards,

Naruedon Duriyaprapan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Simply stated, this place is located across the main parts of Bangkok and somewhat difficult to get to. If you're a tourist here, don't bother. This place is primarily for locals. For parking, you need to park at a nearby Wat Rhakang (about a 10 minute walk). The staff, at least on the phone, don't speak English and even hung up on me! So, had to have a Thai friend ask for directions. And in person, the staff are nice but curt and not friendly. The food menu is limited and usually half the menu is not available. The food itself is either packaged frozen or pre-made and kept for days. Portions are small and really charge high prices that bills itself more as a local outlet. I know the food cost for them and they're charging 6x the food cost; most restaurants or cafés usually charge 2-3x food cost. So, a real disappoint.

As for the river outside, a disappointment. There's nothing to see and the place is maybe 1-2 kilometers downriver from Wat Arun (coming away from Sathorn).

The only real highlight was honestly the walk from the local Wat ( Wat men's Temple in Thai) parking lot. There were some local Thai shops selling small little gifts and food snacks along the way. This was a near and fun diversion but probably only during the weekend though.

Room Tip: No fitness or pool. Meant for locals living in Thailand more. Would not recommend for non-local tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWRadmin, Front Office Manager at Baan Wanglang Riverside, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Mr. Shan

First of all we really appreciate your effort in sharing your honest review with us which could help us in improving our qualities to meet guest satisfaction. However, I would like to explain you in some points.

Baan Wanglang Riverside is located in an area where our guests can meet real Thai experiences such as real local market which is right next to the hotel, many famous temples which are reachable by walking for a short time (For example, Wat Rhakang, built in an early Rattanakosin period, really does take maximum five minutes) and they can experience the most famous temple in the country which is the Emarald Buddha temple by taking a boat to cross the river and walk there within ten minutes. Hence the hotel targets on those guests who seek for experiencing what the majority of the Thais really do. Moreover, from the parking building we offer the free 24 hours shuttle service everyday so the guests do not have to walk to the hotel which takes few minutes.

Most of our staffs speak English in an understandable level of making second language conversation and half of them can speak very excellently. We apologize for the miscommunication between our staff and you.

We sincerely apologize for our food did not reach your expectation. However the food price that we have set lies in the same direction as our food quality which we again apologize for not meeting your food taste.

We thank you for choosing us as your choice for staying in Bangkok and by any case we would like to invite you to stay with us again and this time we promise that we will not disappoint you in any circumstances.

Regards,

Naruedon D.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have just returned from Bangkok and spent our 5 nights at Baan WangLang Riverside. We had booked the Panoramic Suite (from hotel directly) and felt that it was just not really worth the money.

The response was swift during the booking however things were different when I asked them about the cancellation (I made my reservation last year)) in the event that the protest in Bangkok worsen and in case air lines cancel our flight. No response from them although I sent a few reminder after my initial email. And when finally they replied, nothing mention about the cancellation!
We booked airport pick up with the hotel as many taxi drivers are not familiar with the place. Guess what, the limo driver lost his way and it was his first time taking deal from the hotel! It took us almost 2 hours to reach our destination!
The "suite" is merely a bigger room with view. Very small bathroom and bathroom door (smaller than those in Hong Kong), no shelving for you to place your toiletries etc. Noisy air cond compressor, limited TV channels etc. For those who wish to wake up late, you may want to consider to have room away from the river as boats will wake you up early in the morning (with their noisy engines).
We were on the 5th floor and 342 Bar was just above us. We didn't have a good sleep throughout the stay. Staff dragging furnishing (pass midnite), people jumping etc causing loud noise and we can feel the vibration.
Service-expect basic service. Although, we had feedback (3 times, on different days and to different people) the noise from the bar above our room, nothing much was done.
The hotel is far away from the major shopping belts, taking taxi may not be a good option, as it will take about 1.5hours. Next best alternative will be taking the boat to the Central Pier and get on to BTS. However, do note that the last boat will end it service at 9.30pm from the Central Pier (do check). We missed the last boat by 10mins, ended up taking taxi from the Central Pier which cost 150baht and 45mins!
There isn't much eatery (especially during the night) nearby the hotel, unless, you don't mind having your meals at the roadsides stalls. Do avoid Black Canyon Coffee at the WangLang Pier, it was the worst meal we had, uncooked Chicken, salty soup and a big fat rat running across the counter!
Breakfast-a real disappointment. Usually hotels in Thailand serve very good breakfast but not here. We took egg and 2 mouthful of noodles for the 1st day, a cup of lukewarm coffee on the 2nd and had breakfast at the local shops for the rest of our stay. Food were cold, staff more interested to play with their phones etc.

We probably wouldn't be back to this hotel again as there are other better option around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvonneSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Aurum The River Place
#293 of 858 in Bangkok
190 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#209 of 858 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#17 of 858 in Bangkok
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#144 of 858 in Bangkok
1,511 reviews
Praya Palazzo
#258 of 858 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Ibrik Resort by the River
#285 of 858 in Bangkok
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Wanglang Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Wanglang Riverside

Property: Baan Wanglang Riverside
Address: 342 Soi Wat Rakang, Prannok Rd. | Siriraj Bangkoknoi, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Wanglang Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Wanglang Riverside is a newly established boutique hotel, situated by Chao Phraya River in Wanglang area - between Siriraj Pier and Wat Rakang Pier, which ensures a convenient connection to many of Bangkok's most famous tourist attractions. Standing amidst the lively vintage Wanglang Market (best known for its savory local food). Baan Wanglang Riverside is beautifully hidden away in a serene ambience of riverfront haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Wanglang Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing