We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent thai-fushion cuisine”
Review of Paste Bangkok

Paste Bangkok
Ranked #322 of 10,821 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Guiding Food Philosophy at Paste is to maintain a compact & focused menu. That strives for quality, attention to detail and is deeply linked to the natural terroir and produce of Thailand. The process begins with sourcing the best native produce in Thailand, often sourced direct from the grower, river beds and wild in forests. Paste avoids preservatives and chemicals wherever possible. Dishes are constructed by chef/owner Bee Satongun. Her menu is focused on the sophisticated interplay and balance of Thai flavors and textures. Which in-turn produces a dynamic result.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent thai-fushion cuisine”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Innovative and tasty thai-fushion dishes. Though the food was slightly on the spicy side. Reasonably priced. Would have preferred a wider-choice menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jggang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    53
    25
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Good but certainly not worth a second visit”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

It is one of those places everyone is talking about and I had to go yet I will not return as I do not think it is worth all the hype. The food is expensive, good but the fusion and modern Thai elements in this case just do not do it for me and I do not see much creativity here. My pu nim (soft shell crab delicately deep fried in tempura) was totally ruined by a very lemony and spicy sauce fused with a bed of what I think was papaya salad (á la som tam). In fact, all the food we ordered came with some sort of som tam type salad. The beef cheek and spicy squid were delicious but not outstanding as I expected. The pork dumplings were boring and I could not figure out what taste the chef expected us to get. I only got chilly and ginger. The pork belly was just fat and fat (annoying paying 10 dollars for just four small pieces of fat on a bed of papaya salad and an extremely sweet sauce). The betel leaves with pomelo and a tiny prawns was an uninteresting and rather mean take on a usually very very tasty Thai pomelo salad. The restaurant scene in Bangkok is one of the most interesting in the world, restaurants come and go and some remain at the top for years. I cannot really see Paste lasting a long while unless they improve their unique selling point. The fusion and modern Thai cuisine do not work here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Paste serves a high quality Thai cuisine. The ingredients are quality and well prepared. Each dishes give an interesting and unique taste. Looking forward to the next visit already!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKKPin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pak Chong, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well presented food but overly salty!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Paste Bangkok was one of those restaurants that kept appearing on Facebook advertisements. It looked good, and there were some reviews on the net that made it appealing. We called on New Year's Eve in the morning and made a reservation for that evening. We heard it was difficult to find but they had written on their website that it was opposite the Samitivej Hospital so it wasn't too hard. We walked from the BTS which took about 20 minutes. The restaurant itself is inviting and it has a nice feel about it. There aren't a lot of tables so it would be best to book. When we arrived (around 7pm) we were one of two tables so the service was prompt and our starters arrived fairly quickly. We ordered some dumplings (which were nice but I wouldn't say outstanding for fusion food) and some dry spiced squid. The squid was covered in sichuan pepper, which I like, but there was so much it really overpowered the dish. Then the restaurant became nearly full and there were only two wait staff so they were having a pretty hard time covering everything. Our mains took a long time to arrive. We ordered the beef, slow-cooked pork and soft shell crab salad. The crab was nice, it came with a mango salad (similar to som-tham), the pork was divine (by far the best dish). The beef, again, was covered with way too much sichuan pepper and salt, so much that it was basically inedible. The sichuan pepper wasn't ground finely enough so the beef basically tasted like it had been rolled around in sand and covered in salty gravy. If the restaurant wasn't so busy, I would've sent it back but the table behind us (who arrived at 8pm) were still waiting for their mains at 9:45pm! Not good for a dish that cost 600 baht. We ordered 2 starters, 3 mains and a bottle of sparkling at the total price of 4,500 (the sparkling was around 1,500). The price of the food would be reasonable if it wasn't so salty! The most disappointing thing to see were people who turned up at the restaurant after 8:30pm (who had made reservations) and the waitress was turning them away as they didn't have enough staff to cover the tables. Pretty poor in my opinion. Not once did anyone come to apologise to the customers for the length of time they had to wait for food or to offer any complimentary drinks/coffee. The waitress was doing her best but really appeared to not know how to work efficiently in a restaurant or how to prioritize things. One table were waiting so long for their bottle of champagne they had brought (to have a nice NYE toast) that one of the customers just went out the back to get it himself. I see other people have written favourable reviews so maybe we will try again sometime.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKKF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delicious cocktails, quality food”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

its worth hunting out Paste for a modern twist on Thai cooking. Quality ingredients well prepared and beautifully spiced. Do try their Asian inspired cocktails the chilli martini was fab! it is a quiet restaurant so don't expect a party atmosphere

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjgr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paste Bangkok also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Paste Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing