We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely Evening!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chon Thai Restaurant

Chon Thai Restaurant
Ranked #613 of 10,625 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Dusit
Bangkok
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A lovely Evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

So much about this hotel and restaurant is to be recommended. First the trip up river on the hotel's exclusive air conditioned boat from Saphan Thaksin was splendid (note: check the schedule in advance with the hotel as it varies). Our 6:00pm departure was ideal giving 40 minutes for viewing the important sights on the river banks, including the gold decoration of Wat Phra Keaw and the Grand Palace shimmering in the waning sun. Only a glass of champagne would have made it perfect - although no doubt at a price! Then drinks and light snacks on the terrace at dusk were delightful. This time we did indeed enjoy champagne!

We dined in the intimate Chon Thai Restaurant set in an old teak house. I found the lighting overly dark giving the space a somewhat austere look, unlike many similar establishments dotted around Bangkok. Although a Thai restaurant, there is also a western menu, and unlike most reviewers, we opted for the latter. Most of the dishes were excellent, especially the seared Hokkaido scallops (superb) and an excellent passion fruit creme brulee. Only the pizza seemed to lack flavour. There were some splendid wines on the limited list, but all on the pricey side. Our Pinot Gris was not sufficiently chilled on tasting, but soon cooled down in the ice bucket.

Rather than wait 30 minutes for the shuttle boat's return, the hotel organised a taxi. Only Bt. 115 to the centre of the city. I feel this is a venue for the total experience. All in all, a lovely experience. Only one caution: if it is raining and you cannot savour the atmosphere of this unique hotel outside before dining, it may devalue your evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fountainhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worthy of a return visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Just 200m from my Cottage, I've seen The Siam grow from nothing under GM Jason's firm hand. Now I had a chance to return for a dinner on Thursday, and a Sunday brunch today during this visit to Bangkok.

The hotel looks splendid by day or by evening light, and staff at Chon have a much greater confidence. Food was delicious. The hotel made special arrangements to have its launch pick up friends at the Oriental hotel and bring them to the lunch.

We were seated today in a private dining room that doubles as the cooking school, and that was a perfect location, and as attractive as the Thai dining room on the first floor.

All staff were extremely attentive, making perfect arrangements.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Superb, just needs more people to create an atmosphere....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

As stated in my main review of The Siam, this hotel is amazing. Amazing quality of food, amazing service from all staff, a complete joy. However, it was only us dining with one other couple arriving late when we were leaving. They need to market this superb restaurant better to the guests, you don't need to eat in central Bangkok with food this good on your hotel grounds. If not staying at The Siam, make the trip (albeit long), you will taste some fantastic food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollywood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teton Village, Wyoming
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant by its stunning decor, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

These days, it is hard to be impressed by hotel decors but this one is really worth the detour. The settings are beautiful. We went both ways by road and with no traffic it is 30/40mns away so with traffic who knows. The food was delicious (and better than the Celadon this year). I can highly recommend the soft shell crabs and the ribs. We paid 4500 bahts for two with one bottle of house wine. There are not many tables and I am sure that it will become a destination restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

unless you live in the neighbourhood, which is unlikely, you have to be ready to invest some time (a few hours) in order to enjoy a trip and a lunch or diner at Chon. But all together this makes a wonderful experience.
the best way to go is to take the hotel private boat from saphan taksin. it is a very nice boat, somewhat reminiscent of the Riva boats in venise. and that makes a pleasant trip on the river. it takes about 30/40 minutes.
the restaurant itself is at the Siam hotel. the place is wide and every area here is beautiful. May be the most beautiful hotel in bangkok. actually it looks more like a resort than a city hotel. but are we still in the city ? ...
the restaurant is up to it. you can sit either inside or outside. there are some thai style rooms as well. the decoration has been skilfully done.
the thai food is quite good. not too skewed towards western palates. no disappointing dish. portions are generous.
service is excellent.
one criticism though: wine the glass which is outrageously expensive 600/700 bahts a glass ! we sticked to beer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chon Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Chon Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing