We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Sophisticated Hostel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Boxpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boxpackers Hostel
Ranked #10 of 1,158 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute and Sophisticated Hostel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The moment I saw this hostel, I fell in love with it right away. The exterior and interior design of this hostel is very cute! fitting for teenagers and teens at heart. very clean and well organized. The shower room is excellent! The box bed was genius! I slept comfortably there. The only thing i did not like is the time of the day that they switch the air-conditioner off. mostly around noon and they will switch it back on around early evening. I feel sometimes that the staff is not very friendly. But it was great hostel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    136
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
26
157
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

It's the best hostel I've ever seen because of its special design, the cleanliness of the bathrooms , the nice staff and good food (try the matcha frappé!). You can drive to khao san Road for about 5€ with the tuk tuk and you will be happy to come back to a quiet , cosy and air conditioned place at night . It's absolutely worth it , especially for the cheap price!:)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theres-we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Loved it! The pods give you "almost" your own private room. You have a mattress, power outlets, individual lighting, and they are so big I could almost stand up in it. The lockers are big enough for your luggage and there's a bathroom on every floor. The rooftop terrace was nice in the evenings for peace and quiet. Conveniences include restaurant, laundry, and a complimentary water purifier with hot and cold water. Would recommend this to anyone but beware the a/c only runs between 6pm-11am to "save the environment".

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get the 4 share...worth it to have the space and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Very easily accessible after taking train from airport city link. Everything you could be looking for in a hostel experience. Beds very comfortable with plenty of shops and facilities within walking distance. Not the ideal placing if you're looking for Khao San Road and the touristy parts of Bangkok but taxis and tuktuks cheap enough that only a minor issue

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

An exceptional hostel. More pricey than the Khao San area, but for this, you get a full (cooked) breakfast, spotless communal areas, bathrooms and dorms, private “boxes” with light, plug, and curtain for complete privacy. Lockable cupboards available, towels provided, sheets and duvet (!) soft and clean, ac in all dorms, free wifi everywhere, 2 skype enabled pcs, bar, food, in and outdoor seating, great security (key fobs) I can’t fault it, and have stayed 3 times. Staff are efficient but not overly friendly. Double “boxes” available. The canal boat is 7 min walk away, Skytrain 10 mins (with easy links to airport), day and night markets, street and seated food everywhere, row of massage spas 3 min walk. Great location.

Room Tip: Double boxes and boxes next to each other with sliding partial door between available Small luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldMoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

It was a clean and neatly tidy up place. Cozy and situated away from the best street it was a ideal place for backpackers! A bit small for its scale but it does great to have your own box area. Keep it up,great work

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Awesome3866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sakon Nakhon, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I spend few days in Boxpackers! I was totally speechless when i saw the "boxes" and how clean this hostel was! I've been living/travelling now 5 years in Thailand, this was the the best hostel i've ever been in this country. I stayed in 12 shared room..

Staff is very nice and helpful! Which is big plus for this hostel!

If you are looking good place to stay for few hundreds, you should go to Boxpackers. Location is good, if you want to explore Bangkok, nearest BTS-station only about 10-15 min.walk..

There's few bigger malls pretty close also. If you are looking for some phone or computer stuff, theres Panthip Plaza about 300m away.

Getting from airport is easy, I paid for taxi 209 (+100road tolls you must pay) baht from Don Muang airport. You can also take a free bus from Don Muang to Suvarnabhumi and take a airlink from there, get off in Phaya Thai-station and walk from there to hostel. Cheap, but takes about 2 hours..

Room Tip: Be vice, and ask for upper box from reception! A/C gives better profit upper ones. Take a free b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#64 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,010 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,158 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#4 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ari
The Yard Hostel
The Yard Hostel
#1 of 1,158 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#28 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#34 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxpackers Hostel

Property: Boxpackers Hostel
Address: 39/3, Soi Phetburi 15, Petchburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,158 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boxpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boxpackers Hostel is the boutique hostel with pod style bed. we provide you the best experience for staying with concept “ Living with Nature ” on location heart of Bangkok.We have 4 room types with pod style bed. you can meet up your new friends, but feel more private than normal hostel with many special features (box’s backlight, LED leading light, towel hanger, box’s curtain). Although you come with your friends, you can connect to you friend’s pod by “connecting slide door”. In case you need private room. Please make a reservation to “The Period Pratunam Hotel”, our co-branding. You can still enjoy with our facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boxpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing