We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull view and the best service!”

Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar
Ranked #62 of 11,473 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, International, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Thong Lor & Ekamai
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The rooftop is incredible. You have a 360• view of Bangkok, no other skyscraper directly next to it, what would disturb your view. The service is awesome, same for the drinks they serve. Also during the week you should try it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Hansihansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKMS_Marriott, Director of Beverage & Bars at Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Hansihansi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your latest vist to Octave.

We're very happy you enjoyed your experience especially the wonderful view. The Octave team takes pride in their work and will be glad to hear both the service and the drinks were to your liking. Your kind words gives them the extra confidence in there approach to their work for the future.

Kind regards
Blake Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 935 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

After visiting various rooftop bars in Bangkok, I must say that the Octave definitely stole my heart. Located on the 47th floor of the Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit, this "open air" rooftop bar provides the most beautiful, scenic view of Bangkok city - the view being equally amazing during the day as well as during night time.

In contrast to other famous rooftop bars - the most prominent one being the "Hangover Bar": Sky Bar at Sirocco, which is extremely overcrowded (no seating!), hectic and expensive, Octave is characterized by a very laid-back, comfortable and friendly atmosphere.

The blue LED bar is located in the middle of the deck while the numerous seating options are located in the remaining deck area. The comfortable lounge-typical sofas and armchairs create a very relaxing atmosphere and paired with the breathtaking view drinking cocktails has never been more enjoyable! There is a DJ Booth on the deck as well - while I have only seen a live DJ during the weekends. In any case the music played is an absolute PLUS and one of the reasons why I love this bar - the mix of popular hits into deep house remixes fits perfectly to the ambience!

Another strong feature of Octave is the extremely fair price-quality ratio - which is hard to find amongst rooftop bars in Bangkok. Their signature cocktails start at 350 baht (e.g. Thai Mojito) and all of the options I have tried so far were absolutely pleasant. They even offer "Specials" such as the daily Happy Hour from 5-7pm (Buy 1, Get 1 Free) and Ladies Night on Wednesdays - where the Buy 1, Get 1 Free motto is valid for the entire evening (for ladies). The friendly and attentive staff is just another strength the Octave can show off with.

I have visited the Octave about 7 times and each visit was a lovely experience! I cannot wait to come again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
3  Thank Sady_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKMS_Marriott, Director of Beverage & Bars at Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Sady_MS,

Greetings from Octave,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review on Tripadvisor. Each comment we receive helps us develop the operation and improve our experience for the future.

We're glad to hear that you've had such enjoyable evenings with us and hope to see you again very soon.

We are currently in the process of developing our new cocktail list to be launched in October - we would love to take this opportunity to invite you to let us know if there is anything you would like to see on our next menu.

Please feel free to contact me at 'blake.walker@marriott.com'

Kind regards
Blake Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I went with one of my best friends in May 2014. They had two for 1 drinks between 5 and 7pm. The staff were attentive and lovely and make you feel all fancy. They have a DJ up there too so after a couple you can move a little :) it gets hot really quickly so if you go early bring an umbrella or wear sunscreen :P The sunset is gorgeous and same with the night lights. You can't get food on the very top because people can smoke (and order cigars from the menu) so if you want food you have to go down a level. Still great views. They do give you beer nuts and cashews to munch

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NikkiHbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKMS_Marriott, Director of Beverage & Bars at Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear NikkiHbr,

Thanks for taking the time to post feedback on your recent trip to Octave.

We’re happy to hear you managed to experience sunset whilst enjoying a few of our signature cocktails.

Our ‘Sundowner’ happy hour runs 5pm – 7pm daily and we offer 2-4-1 on signature cocktails and house spirit and mixers.

Kind regards
Blake Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It's worth it to go up there for the view and atmosphere. The drinks are not special, but they're good and not horribly expensive for American standards - maybe 300-400THB. Definitely worth it for the view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank Marcellaella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKMS_Marriott, Director of Beverage at Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Marcellaella,

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor posting following your visit to Octave.

We’re glad you enjoyed your evening and in particular the view and ambience. The team work hard at achieving consistency and will be happy you compare the drinks favorable against those you have had in the U.S.

Kind regards
Blake Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing root top bar I've ever visit before! Good music, all staffs are passionate and professional! Especially Maxim, recommended many good place for local street food and.. Tourist spot!
Unexpected bar ! Good one :)

2  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKKMS_Marriott, Director of Beverage & Bars at Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Stephanie L,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent experience to Octave.

We take pride in the fact we have an excellent music program and a lineup of talented DJ’s performing every night.

Maxim will be extremely happy that you enjoyed your evening and we all hope that you have the opportunity to return soon.

Kind regards
Blake Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing