We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over my expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chan Cha La 99 Hostel
Ranked #161 of 1,389 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked on booking.com and stayed there 3 nights. It was such a great experience. The hostel offered reasonable price but what we received was over our expectation. Extremely clean and fresh atmosphere. Annie (i thought that everyone staying there can remember her name because of her being lovely and helpful. The room was so cute. Shared bathroom but always available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chabinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Once my taxi driver and I found the hotel, the staff were amazing. Very friendly and helpful - assisting me book bus travel to my next destination; register and activate my sim card; and help carry my bags to the street, hail a taxi, and tell them which bus station to go to the next morning. There is a full kitchen for those in need, as well as laundry service. Breakfast is minimal, but can easily be supplemented with street food around the corner.

The rooms are very clean and refreshing, especially if you are will to splurge the extra money for a room with a private bath and AC. For me, it was a great way to step off the plane and feel comfortable in the new setting.

Highly recommend for the most casual traveler and those who need more support to feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweatyBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Nice and clean rooms! Cool atmosphere. The girl at the reception is very nice and helpful. A great place to stay in Bangkok if you are on a budget, definitely would recommend it further. It is situated a bit away from the main attractions, but is very close to a metro station.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dobrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

i love this hostel so much.
Close to the BTS station.
Annie (the owner) and her bf are so helpfull ! Annie is so sweet and lovely !
The hotel itself is so clean. Loved the breakfast !

will definitely stay there again !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tietieutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Fantastically close to the BTS station (less than a minute walk) so although it is not on the doorstep of the main attractions it is so easy to get anywhere using the BTS and metro. Our room (a double) was perfect as a base to recover from jetlag and explore the city. It had blankets and towels and aircondition. There were more than enough bathrooms all of which were immaculate.
We also got given breakfast (toast and jams) each morning which made life easier.
Annie was such a fab host, she was really easy to get along with and very helpful with queries. She made the stay perfect.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosielouise92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed both in the dorm room and a en suite double whilst in Bangkok. This hostel is unbelievably clean, quiet, right next to a BTS station and local amenities . The hostel owner Annie really makes this place, nothing is too much trouble and she is a fountain of knowledge! She helped me book buses, flights and even a haircut! There is complimentary toast and coffee every morning which is great & the wifi is excellent throughout the hostel. I cannot fault this hostel and we will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Bangkok! Thank you Annie for everything :) Christian & Keeo

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dogpaw1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Chan cha la 99's biggest asset is Annie, it's owner and hostess. She's so sweet, caring, and full of tips, and information.
The location is literally right off the BTS. Not in the middle of the action though. There's a tops market one station down, when headed towards Siam area. (Be careful with the pavement right in front of BTS, as it's a little uneven-- my fiancé fell) We walked about half a block, if that.
The place has a gate, and a buzzer which cannot be heard in the rooms. Everything's very quiet. After you get a key you can use it to buzz yourself in. She has fire exit routes, fire extinguishers, CCTV cameras, speaks amazing English... Quite safe and secure.
On the first floor she has a fully-equipped kitchen at your disposal. Hot water and free instant coffee, cups, spoons, dishes, a sink, one sponge for glasses and one sponge for everything else, and a refrigerator where you can leave your labeled items. It's all self-serve. There are couches, a table, and chairs. A tv, and fans.

In the room everything is neat. Big, comfy bed. There are no closet or drawers to place clothes, so just use your suitcase or backpack. 2 outlets. Overhead lighting. 2 towels. And 3 hooks. No tv, or anything else. No frills. And extremely clean.
Also no elevator. We were on the 3rd floor, but thankfully didn't have much to carry up. Also she'll keep your bags on the first floor if you need to go run errands on the day you check out, like we did.
You can call and book with Annie over the phone as well.
Great place to stay! Have stayed 2 times after the first time there. Would highly recommend it! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stardew27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Solo Express Bangkok
#170 of 891 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 891 in Bangkok
8,761 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#85 of 891 in Bangkok
2,808 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan Cha La 99 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan Cha La 99 Hostel

Address: 6/3 Sukhumvit Soi 99, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 1,389 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £7 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chan Cha La 99 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chan Cha La 99 Hostel is a Bangkok budget hostel for travelers, located along Sukhumvit Road. We can accommodate all types of travellers. Whether you are a budget conscious traveller or after a little luxury, we offer mixed dormitory style hostel accommodation, as well as private rooms with or without an en-suite. Our rooms are clean, newly renovated and decorated for comfort and affordability. ***** Getting here (1) Take BTS to Bangchak station, use exit 3. (2) Walk down the stairs and you will see an SCB Bank on the corner of the Sukhumvit 99. (3) Turn left, the hostel is about 50 meters down the Soi 99 on the right hand side. ***** Important notes (1) Reception hours : 7.30 Am - 9.00 Pm. (2) Bookings are necessary for check-in after 9 pm.***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chan Cha La 99 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing