We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet hotel off the city center”
Review of Bangkok Rama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bangkok Rama Hotel
Ranked #515 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Lombok, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“quiet hotel off the city center”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The hotel is quite far from the city center and especially the famous Khao San Road but it doesn't mean that you can't easily go there. Its only a taxi away and if you're a real adventurous person, you can get a bus from the main road just in front of the hotel.
The room is spacious, with its own living room and kitchen area. There is a tea/coffee maker in the room which make it a better value! As well as a big fridge to keep your food and drink fresh and cool!!
The hotel provides self service laundry which is convenient. The swimming pool is quite big and tranquil, but make sure you get the towel from the reception before you go there.
The spa was good and the price is average considering it's in the hotel. They also provides in room treatment but there's an additional charge for that.
Breakfast mostly are local food, which is great and it has quite varieties too. Business center is just next to reception and you can use it anytime for free.
I like the place as its quiet, i like to spend the evening just having a Chang in my room with tv on after a long tour or shopping. It's a perfect evening to end a perfect day!

Room Tip: the bungalow is better than the room in the main building. Feels like staying at home instead of a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rk-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
9
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel is 6 times. The hotel area is a large garden with cottages. Very quietly, it is not possible to imagine that you are in an industrial Bangkok. Is perfectly restaurant with great service. If asked, the kitchen will not adapt that to me is very important. There is Wi fi only fee. The cottages have air conditioning,
huge fridge, shower with hot water and food delivery to the room. The hotel has two drawbacks 1) old, very old furniture in the rooms 2) for a long time to get to center of Bangkok
3) a lot of cats in the territory, if you do not love animals - you do not like. I really love cats. They should not be seen from the huge green trees and can not be heard because of the birds. The hotel also has a high case.The hotel also has a high case. Perhaps it terms of placement of others. I did not stop there

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golovindenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

What can I say..... the Rama or Baan Siri or 4 Dance Studio or Restaurant Live Band Bar... ?

As with most things Thai, this simply did not know what it wanted to be. Was it a Hotel, a Dance Studio, a Bar and or Restaurant or, whatever, we didn't know?

Be warned, you are outside of Bangkok Central and as such you are cut off from the world. You have to pay for the internet and it isn't cheap at 500 Bht for 500 minutes, it isn't fast either! The views are frustrating, especially if you are facing Bangkok Central. We stayed within the Hotel itself, not having the courage to try the huts (cottages) on site, given the reviews on here.

On a plus note, it is very near to Hua Mak City Line Station and until the end of 2010 all trips on the line are 15Bht, both ways. Sadly, the hotel does not provide shuttles into or out of Bangkok Central and as such you are left to fend for a taxi home, which can cost more than it did to get into the city.

There are no Western restaurants in the surrounding area and, if you do want to eat, you have the overpriced aforementioned restaurant. The food is nothing special and costs quite a bit. My advice, walk out of the complex, turn right and keep walking for 15 minutes, there is a McDonald's, Pizza House, Supermarket, KFC and others to choose from. But, it is not the real Thailand that you might want or expect.

On the plus side, the staff are friendly. Although, why they employ four people to chaperone breakfast when not one lifts a finger is beyond my comprehension? There is a limited egg station, whereby the eggs happened to be undercooked every time I ordered some. And make sure you check the expiry dates on the dairy products. Some of the yoghurts were out of date.

The room was spacious, so much so our voices echoed and the air-con noisy. Keep it on mid, that way the drone doesn't eat away at you all night. The bathrooms were clean-ish but the showers were a little on the pathetic side.

TV was a no go, there were very limited English channels and the reception was laughable.

The decor was terrible, circa 1970s.

The pool was OK, but full of bugs and needed a clean, .... scum around the edges etc. The gym was hot and under kept and overall tatty, to say the least.

The only plus point was the laundry option. At 50Bht, you can do you own laundry and hang dry your clothes. Make sure to check the hotel folder for details if you are staying.

Whilst all these things niggled us, it was a comfortable stay on a budget. There were no bed bugs and the bed was big and comfy (note: we prefer harder beds to soft). It simply wasn't the best choice given our circumstances and requirements.

For an overnight airport stop, it would do. For anything else, check elsewhere and move your focus towards the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandomGeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINCOLN
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Have been 5 times now, Thim the manageress and owner is a wonderful woman and all the staff are fantastic. The food is amazing, the restaurant comes very highly recommended and is used by locals. Rooms are very large and airy, pool is fantastic, couldnt fault at all. Just love it there. We stayed there for 6 weeks a few years ago and we now class it as our second home.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hideyspidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkokramahotel1989, Owner at Bangkok Rama Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2015
Dear Emma,
Thank you for your review and your appreciation to the hotel.
It is very delighted to inform you that we are now undergoing to freshen up the room almost refurbish. New bedding, new linens, new wallpaper, new curtain, new bathroom floor, some more lighting for early bird leaving when it is still dark so the guests can find things and packing easier.
Still no coffee maker and ironing board due to some guests' behavior may cause fire in the main building. The breakfast is somewhat break fast meal of Thai and Chinese prefer choice. But you may enjoy swimming in the pool and if you may card of dancing and music in the evening at our restaurant hearty tasty dishes. Hope you will have time to visit us again soon.
See you.
Warm regards,
Thim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The hotel is old and have the typical "Soviet 1970 style" over it. The air condition works well but is awful loudly. Don't bet too much on the hotel restaurant, the food there wasn't too good. However, there is plenty of good restaurants nearby. All in all a well below average hotel, however there is one reason I might actually stay here again: The service. Room maids, front desk, security, all was extremely helpful and service minded, all the time and they all made you feel very welcome and gave you a touch of personal service.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Just returned from a month-long holiday in asia. This was by far the worst place we stayed. We couldn't sleep because the dirty and smelly atmosphere and when the night had finally passed we had bites all over us. I'm guessing it's bed bugs.

The service was great but that doesn't do much when the facilities are so disgusting.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wornoutshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
1.0 mi away
The Silver Palm Rama 9 - Bangkok
0.6 mi away
Nine Forty One Hotel
Nine Forty One Hotel
#643 of 861 in Bangkok
18 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
13 Coins Airport Grand Resort
13 Coins Airport Grand Resort
#773 of 861 in Bangkok
60 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Lord (Boutique) Hotel
Grand Lord (Boutique) Hotel
#622 of 861 in Bangkok
8 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Platinum Suite
The Platinum Suite
#463 of 861 in Bangkok
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok Rama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Rama Hotel

Property: Bangkok Rama Hotel
Address: 1546 Pattanakarn Road | between Pattanakarn 48 and 50, Bangkok 10250, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #515 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bangkok Rama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation is valuable,make the most of yours.Welcome to the Bangkok Rama Hotel & Spa. Set away from the city noise & pollution, this charming 3 star is a resort with extensive facilities that include a swimming pool, cottages, lovely gardens, free welcome WiFi hour and pets are welcome(with extra charge implied. Unique tropical gardens with floral and fauna walk ways surrounding 64 well appointed cottages, an idyllic stay that will call you back again and again. Supremely comfortable individual spacious cottages, excellent facilities and all with private terrace. The cottages are a short walk to a swimming whirled pool, most interesting above 3 stars concept and restaurant with Thai & Chinese fusion menu. This concept of a resort style accommodation is unique to Bangkok City; attract discerning international guests year after year. Here, you are in the quiet tropical surroundings yet easy access to Suvarnbhum international airport and about 20 minutes to the inner Bangkok. This is the perfect vacation spot for couples or families and we also have especially fitted out cottages for the elderly or physical challenged guests and for those bound to wheel chair, the cottages have sliding doors and fitted with grab bars for toilet and shower. Cottages & gardens that offer real comfort and warmth with tropical style cottage set in stylish retreat from the world.Our hotel rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and have all necessary amenities required. We also provide excellent security service that patrols the property 24 hour a day and have CCTV that cover all the premises, hence, insuring our guest will feel safe and protected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bangkok Rama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing