We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location and nice room!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam
Ranked #219 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I am staying in this hotel for my birthday celebration in bangkok! When we first step into the hotel lobby, a bellman approaches us and keeps the luggage for us. Upon check in, we are being welcomed by a duty manager at the reception quickly. The receptionist did not confirm details of our reservation and then we were given a room with a king bed instead of twin bed (our request is twin bed). We are not being informed about the bed type. I believe that, they actually gave us a complimentary upgrade for the room as our original booking is a premier room in north tower (room given is in main tower). Before going up to our room, we went to the concierge counter to collect our luggage, NO ONE attend to us, in the end, and we just grab our luggage and walk away.
We are being WOW by the room! It is spacious, clean and facing the main road which you can see the platinum mall and novotel is just right in front! The king bed is comfortable too! Everything is good till we came back from our shopping on the first day. I wanted to order some in room dining, and I couldn't find any menu in my room. I went down the reception and it is crowded (a lot of people just crowd at the reception), and I approach the cashier counter to enquire about room service menu. The guy told us to call from the room to ask for menu. BUT when I try to call in room dining, they transferred my call to another department! We waited for very long just for a menu to be sent, and then we call them one more time, the lady over the phone sound annoyed and irritated right she picked up the call, she just answer me: madam, we already just our staff send the menu to the room already! (WHAT KIND OF VERBIAGE IS IT? )
On the last night we stay in the hotel, I would like to request for later check out at 1pm. There is only one staff at the reception and I waited for 20 mins, and there is so many people cutting the queue by just approaching the receptionist. WHEN FINALLY IS MY TURN, the receptionist did not acknowledge me but only staring at her computer when I was standing in front of her. There is so many guests cutting our conversation but the receptionist did not advise the guest to join the queue! AM I INVISIBLE?
In conclusion, this hotel have a good location (platinum mall is right opposite and walk-able distance to other shopping mall as well!) However, if you are looking for the 5 stars service, their service is only 2 stars. It will be better if they can have queue management at the reception, and more well trained staff who can speak better English :DDDD

Room Tip: choose the room that is located at main tower and a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IO0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,404 - 1,410 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Sewerage system sucks big time!!!! Stayed here 4 nights. First night toilet flooded as water was unable to flow down the drain. Engineer came to clear the choke but still no difference. Next night also same problem but even worst! Toilet bowl unable to flush!!!! Changed another room for us but still no difference, water still not able to drain out from the shower area, flood the whole toilet!!! REALLY SUFFERING!!!!
After a whole day out, when return to hotel we look forward to a nice shower and settle to rest but every damn night we are faced with this bloody problem. After the first person shower, the next person have to wait for the engineer to come clear the choke, wait for the housekeeping to come clean the flood! By the time we can go to bed will be past midnight!!!!
Those who are looking to have an enjoyable & fuss free time in Bangkok... Advice to you... Best to avoid staying here!!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
10  Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Check in was slow and not very well organize. Hotel look classy but I guess there are still plenty to improve on and their facility too. Not recommended for people that require quiet cosy stay as there are lots of tour groups.
The breakfast is average and was like a market in the morning....maybe due to the acoustic in there.

Platinum mall and Central World is just about 5-10 minutes walk away. The nearest BTS is Chit Lom and is about 15 min walk.

Overall is you pay what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neukid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Newly established hotel was obvious from the entrance it all looked fancy and beautiful.
All staff were friendly and helpful, check in was slow but only one staff member was at the desk for it. House keeping was very friendly and attended our request with a smile, afterwards the next day he noticed we had some washing left to dry so he left us a heap of clothes hangers at no cost, a nice gesture that is rare these days.
Room was very large and the beds comfortable. Our room was in the second tower and to get from the main tower to our room confused us at most times, having to change lifts the lift area look identical so we kept forgetting which tower we were in and which button to press. Sure it sounds simple but in holiday mode it is so easy to get confused.
The pool is much smaller than it looks in the pictures.
Breakfast was a variety of food but for a fussy eater it was nothing special.
There is an adjoining shopping centre which was quite cheap compared to surrounding shopping centres and night market. Thai massages were cheap in here, had one every day!
Concierge organised a tour for us but wouldn't accept card so make sure you have cash handy, if you don't then avoid using the atm around the corner that may charge a 250 baht fee and use the cash converter for free located through the doors that are next to the atm.
overall loved my stay at this hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JetLagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I love this hotels so much, big room, clean, nice breakfast.
They have many elevator, huge lobby...
Just turn right you will see platinum shopping mall.

Because of Brand new opening they have some minus :
- they are lack of staff, so when we going to check in, it's takes more than 30minutes.
- No money changer service at lobby (on progress)

Other's is ok

Room Tip: high floor is recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is very new, first open in July this year. We book a room for 3 person. We were given a big corner unit with many big windows. The room comes with 2 Queen beds which can comfortably sleep 4 adults. The Berkeley hotel is very big & they have both Main & North tower. Our room is located at North Tower which is a long walk from the main lobby. Pratunam is directly opposite the hotel where you can find many cheap shopping and eateries. Platinum mall & Central World is just about 5-10 minutes walk away. It is a great location to stay as the hotel is basically located at the shopping area. However, if you want to travel out of Pratunam area, the nearest BTS station is about 15 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IJayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is clean and the service reasonable. I found the staff was not so good in English but managed okay. The staff over worked as not enough staff to cover all the work. No one manning the well set up business centre and had to wait for service which was excellent when it happened. The internet connection excellent once they provided me with a backup plug. the room service over worked but the room clean and a decent size even if unusable.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apple92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
GLOW Pratunam
#93 of 885 in Bangkok
1,591 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#72 of 885 in Bangkok
5,738 reviews
Siam
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#371 of 885 in Bangkok
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam

Address: 559 Ratchaprarop Road, Makkasan, Ratchathewi | Close to Palladium, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam 4*
Number of rooms: 788
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing