We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and potential to be amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam
Ranked #226 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was a little concerned by some of the previous reviews having booked the hotel months before it had opened at a bargain rate. However on arrival I found that mostly all of the issues had been resolved. The reception was very quick to process us and upgraded us to Tower 1 (which is the more convenient of the two) and our bags were taken straight up by the bellboy. Breakfast was pretty good with a blend of Euro, Asian and Indian dishes - the usual processed juices and a great mix of fruit each day. The pool was spectacular and any previous comments of it being dirty were obviously now outdated - it was very clean and had amazing views of the city AND nobody was using it (always a bonus!). The staff were very friendly and attentive, their English was great considering some previous comments of language issues. The room itself was spacious and we had a view of Central World/Zen etc which was spectacular of a night. Only thing missing was an iron but crumpled shirts soon fix themselves in the humidity outside!

Room Tip: Tower 1 is more convenient for access to the pool, breakfast and main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank warrencammack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,520 - 1,526 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights , meeting up in Thailand after long haul flights from distant places, Great place, very comfortable, room service great, close to shopping malls, good views over Bangkok..lovely staff, feeling of warmth, help on hand for everything. Reasonable price for the location, no complaints.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are going to be similar, we stayed on the 19 th floor, it was quiet, and we had su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkiittiiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel has been open less than 4 months and is having some normal teething problems whilst training up their staff and finishing off details. The special opening deals they have make the teething problems acceptable as it is a fantastic hotel in a good location. There are 2 large towers holding hundreds of rooms and I simply don't think there were enough experienced staff to man it. Once completely finished (fitness centre and all the restaurants) this will be one of the top hotels in Bangkok. You would have a right to complain if paying full price but as I say, the opening specials make it fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: Be patient - the staff are in training!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Hotel is really big and we were in the Tower behind the Hotel entrance.. so you are Walking about 5 min. to get there.... the room was really big with all u Need... excellent view over Bangkok..we were located in the 31st floor... only Thing missing: plug in the bathroom for shaver..

recommendable for everyone staying in Bangkok...

bad Thing at last, the Swimming pools with nice City view closing 7 pm.. i think a Little bit early.. for nice pool area...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dude_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I brought my mum for a 4 day getaway in Bangkok and wanted to stay near the Platinum shopping mall. The Berkeley is new (less than 1 year) and very reasonably priced. However none of the taxi or tuktuk drivers know about this new hotel and we ended up having to call the hotel for directions every time we board one. To cross over to the Platinum, Central World, Pratunam, etc, we need to brace through the heavy traffic which can be quite dangerous. Our hotel room is in the north tower which is a long way in. Every night, we can hear the water flushing in the bathroom throughout the night, think it's the water pipe behind the toilet bowl that's making the noise. On our last night, there's a noise that sound like the opening of the hotel lock which lasted throughout the night too. Other than that, we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Most taxi/tuktuk drivers don't know about this hotel since it's too new. Be prepared to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulineyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stay in this hotel for 5D4N, Upon check in we were greeted by the bell boy which help us to carry the luggage. The receptionist is a bit of disorganize, probably due to the high traffic flow checking in the same time. The hotel is big with 2 towers. We checked into our room which is located on the 29 floor, On the 2nd day, our toilet choked, the staff quickly help us to clear the choke. Breakfast was served at the 11 floor- not bad. The staff there is very polite, they greeted us every morning without fail during our stay there. The Hotel is also located near the Big C and The Platinum Fashion Mall and Intra, within walking distance, There is also night blazer every night just right below the hotel. The Hotel also have a big shopping mall just right beside but was not fully open yet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank raymond_tck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We booked The Berkeley hotel for our last night in Bangkok.
First impressions of the hotel were great. Checking in was kind of a pain, but overall good.
We were upgraded rooms which was an amazing plus!
Upon arriving I wanted to take a shower, to my disgust there were long public hairs on the floor of the shower and the separate bathtub. It seemed like nobody had cleaned the bathroom before we arrived. Also there were a couple shower tiles missing from the floor. It wasn't just my room in that condition. My parents room had the same issue.
That was one issue. Later that night I find a 5 inch blood stain on the sheets lining our bed.
I went down stairs and complained to the lady at front desk and she just said sorry and she'll send someone.
That someone came and gave us new sheets and a "complimentary bucket of ice" oh yeah they charge 60 baht for ice. Kind of defeats having an empty ice bucket in your room and no ice machines around"
but nobody came to clean out shower and tube.
Overall a nice looking hotel in a busy location, but horrible cleaning staff! That needs to clean the pubes out of the shower!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pootie219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
GLOW Pratunam
#81 of 894 in Bangkok
1,650 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 894 in Bangkok
6,124 reviews
Siam
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#412 of 894 in Bangkok
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam

Address: 559 Ratchaprarop Road, Makkasan, Ratchathewi | Adjacent to The Palladium World Shopping Centre, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £50 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam 4*
Number of rooms: 788
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam, true to its ethos of “A Touch of Elegance,” is Bangkok’s full-service luxury hotel in the heart of the city. The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam features modern and luxurious interior, the perfect mixture of Thai and European design. Spacious, Functionality yet Comfort are the concept of the hotel. Near By Tourist Attraction: - The Palladium World Shopping Centre - The Platinum Fashion Mall - Pratunam Market - Big C Super Center - CentralWorld - Gaysorn Village Luxury and Brandname Mall - Pantip Plaza - Four Face Buddha - Airport Rail Link : Ratchaprarop Station - BTS Sky Train : Chidlom Station - Central Embassy - Siam Paragon - MBK Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing