We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam
Ranked #228 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam isn't Shangri-La, but if you're looking for a decent, inexpensive, no-frills hotel, this is it.

LOCATION:

The Good -- The hotel is within the shopping area of Bangkok. The major malls are within walking distance (if you are an experienced walker) or within one or two train stops to where the hotel is. The hotel is adjacent to the Palladium World Shopping Mall. Even outside the hotel, street merchants sell their wares at night.

The Bad -- The hotel vicinity looks a bit depressed. Not too many places to eat in the area, unless of course, you go to the malls.

ROOM:

The Good -- Air-conditioning, bed/linen, toilet/bath, TV, Free WiFi in room. The family room is spacious.

The Bad -- Walls are not sound proof. Sometimes, you can hear the bathroom faucet of your next-door neighbor being used or the closet door being closed. But, this not too much of a bother.

SERVICE:

The Good -- Fast check-in

The Bad -- Concierge is not very helpful in getting a fair taxi. What they get are contracted taxis that charge tourists 2 or 3 times what was is metered/fair.

FOOD:

The Good -- On the 1st day of breakfast

The Bad -- As every day went by, it was the same (as in the same) breakfast

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    667
    334
    122
    111
See reviews for
495
502
67
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Big n clean room. Near to shopping areas n staff is very courteous and help. Buffet breakfast is very good. Will be back again for family holiday. Many nearby street delicious food n cheap also. Easy access to let n taxi. Like the night market. Cheap stuff n nice

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenkek2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

worse place to stay, newly opened big but workers don't even speak english, we arrived at like 10pm rooms not ready, failed to organise two big rooms next to each other (family rooms)
terrible service, then our room was located ALL THE WAY AT THE BACK of the hotel, it was about a 10 min walk from the hotel lobby, catching 2 lifts just to get to our room, the back hotel has no air con, just poor service never ever book this hotel. Our room air con was loud, lights was twitching and it then broke and didn't turn off, worse ever, our toilet got clogged worse service i tell you don't ever come here, worse than a 2 star hotel. hate it and will never come back. Worse experience my family has ever had. If i could rate this a 0 i would!!!!!!

Room Tip: don't choose any room at this hotel thats my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We just checked out of this hotel after a 1 night stay. Room was on the 30th floor. Upon stepping off the elevator you are greeted by a strong smell of sewage - alarmingly bad - trust me. Staff could have cared less. Do not stay here....avoid avoid avoid.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Devin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Good location. Well appointed rooms but not properly cleaned. We had to call in the cleaning lady to show her the dust and fallen hair.
Breakfast is ok but tiring if you stay more than 3 days.
I didnt like the plastic flowers throughout when Thailand has orchids everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

When I got there no porter service to help with the bags no minibar in the room but they did ask for a cash deposit as the room was paid for so I don't understand the resin for a deposit hotel is no more than 3 star at best. And the breakfast was not very nice at all

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cainta, rizal philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Hotel rooms are clean and spacious. We all had a good sleep. The location is near platinum, pratunam market. It is also walking distance to big c. It is connected to palladium mall and has a night market everynight outside the hotel. Food was good and filling but almost same everyday. It had wide variety though. The shower was difficult to manipulate for hot water. The hotel too had to charge 300+++ baht because we misplaced one of the 2 keys that was given to us. Quite disappointed because other hotels don't charge. In fact they give the card key to guests as souveneir upon request. Housekeeping can hardly understand english.

Room Tip: Get a room located at main tower to avoid transfers.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mylene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
GLOW Pratunam
#90 of 858 in Bangkok
1,548 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#68 of 858 in Bangkok
5,329 reviews
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#331 of 858 in Bangkok
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam

Property: The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam
Address: 559 Ratchaprarop Road, Makkasan, Ratchathewi | Close to Palladium (Ex-Pratunam Center), Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam 4*
Number of rooms: 788
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing