We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam
Ranked #225 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The Berkeley is centrally located in a shopping district, close to a Skytrain station, numerous malls, and restaurants/street food. The room was clean, nothing spectacular but comfortable. The pool was nice, no pool bar but you can order food/drinks at the tables by the pool. There was a generous and and varied breakfast, didn't get bored of it in the 4 days we were there. Service was always friendly but not everyone spoke fluent English--not a big deal but something to be aware of. Overall, this isn't the Four Seasons or anything, but it is a nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    682
    341
    122
    111
See reviews for
510
503
70
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Hi guys..

I would like to write a review about this hotel which I stayed for my 8 days holidays in Bkk. Firstly, the reason why we choose to stay in this hotel is because of the good location which is surrounded by shopping malls & it is convenient to walk around from the hotel to MBK, Central World, Big C supermarket and etc.

On our first day upon our arrival to the hotel, we don't feel that "warm welcome' by the hotel staff. We feel like we just entered into a shopping mall instead of a hotel. We ourselves are a hotelier, we don't expect much but at least a simple gesture to welcome all your guests upon arriving would be much appreciated. We managed to checked in straight away upon arriving. The hotel lobby is too crowded with "china guests".

We got ourselves a room on the 15th floor in the main tower which doesn't require us to transfer to another lift. Our room was perfect, facing the overview of the swimming pool, clean and tidy.

Throughout our stay in The Berkeley Hotel, almost everyday we request for a make up room to be done. But one thing which we were disappointed with is the housekeeping who did change our bedsheet only 2-3 times throughout our stay there, And YES!! It's true. How do we know?? Cos on one of the night, I accidentally spill tea onto the bedsheet. And expect it to be change by the housekeeping on the next day but NOPE! She just make up our room without changing our bedsheet. And of course we do monitor our make up room everyday each time when we are back to our room. We try to see the difference of our bedsheet & blanket. We don't understand why they didn't change our bedsheet. Is it beacuse of saving water??? Unbelievable.

Layout and interior of the hotel is fine, From outside of the main door, it looks like a 5 star hotel. We find the hotel Concierge "try too hard" to get the guests to go for their tours and etc. They don't really speak well and it's kinda hard to communicate with them. We don't find the hotel Concierge approachable. But base on the service provided, I doubt me & my partner would ever want to come back and stay again in this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Whomyrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Pros
- new hotel
- very spacious room
- no spooky feelings when we were there
- daily night market just outside the hotel
- good location (at Pratunam area) - walkable distance to many shopping centers

Cons
- the side tower don't feel like a 5 star hotel
- room service was not very good, only packed the bedsheets and changed our towels. toilet floor is sticky.

More details and photos: http://blog.myfatpocket.com/eijgniy/2014/02/18/my-bangkok-trip-transport-hotel-where-to-go/

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The location is great close to airport rail and metro station - I don't think you can ask for a better location. Street food is at an abundance so I can't comment on the food at the hotel. Would definitely recommend thr pink tshirt chicken rice restaurant across from the hotel.

Similar to everyone's feedback, the hotel is dark and so are the rooms. The trek to the North tower is far and also dimly lit. Even though it is fairly new, the washrooms are moldy and also the showers don't work very well. Not sure on how well they clean the room as I found some clothes still in the room from the previous guests. All in all it was an ok hotel. Bellhops are really friendly. Use Sam as a driver if you can. He hangs around outside the hotel. Very nice and reliable

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lingc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, MA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here Feb 14 to 16, 2014. Would not recommend staying here until the protests are done. The hotel itself is fine, but the protesters have set up these enormous loudspeakers and are blasting music and singing bad karaoke. I'm writing this on at 10:30 on a Saturday night because we can't sleep! I even have ear plugs on! Hotel receptionist said that they won't stop until 1am. Hotel would have gotten 4 stars from me if we could sleep.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Chang, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. They have a great location directly in center of Bangkok. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. Super personal..only reception was very slow..breakfasts was SUPER...offererd a good variety of choices. Bangkok is terrible but this hotel is perfect when you must be there :)) beautifull swimming pool..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emanuelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Here I was bracing myself to share some not so nice things but as i recall our stay on the 34th floor looking at the city skyline it wasn't so bad after all. There are two towers connected on the 11th floor where the pool is also located. Further down is the gym and the resto where you'll have your buffet breakfast which can improve on their choices a little. The room is quite huge bordering to quite empty-looking but ok. The hotel is attached to a small mall. At night the streets outside will be full of vendors selling clothes bags and shoes. So alive. You have to walk around 20 minutes to reach the bts though but you have lots to see on your way there so you wouldn't mind it. It's located centrally and all you have to do is walk walk and enjoy the experience in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Get the ones on the higher floors... nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc_doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
GLOW Pratunam
#90 of 862 in Bangkok
1,559 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#72 of 862 in Bangkok
5,446 reviews
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#343 of 862 in Bangkok
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam

Property: The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam
Address: 559 Ratchaprarop Road, Makkasan, Ratchathewi | Close to Palladium, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam 4*
Number of rooms: 788
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing