We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Clean and pretty new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam
Ranked #219 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are looking for shopping in bangkok, that's good place. Walking distance to Central world and platinum wholesale markets. About 20 mins walk to BTS Chitlom. Very clean and pretty new hotel. Very reasonably price. Very spacious room. Nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livreders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room is very spacious, so spacious and due to lack of furniture, it seems quite bare. But good for me, because I will have ample space for the shopping bags!

The bathroom is also quite spacious. I love it especially there is seperate shower cubicle and bath tub.

Location wise, Berkeley Hotel Pratunam is just diagonally from Platinum Shopping Mall. If you still do not know where is it. It is the same stretch of road with Amari Watergate Hotel. With the reasonable pricing - SGD80 per night, spacious hotel room, good location, I would definitely book with them again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilpixie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for the serious shopper as it is surrounded by shops. The rooms are spacious and amenities are excellent. We enjoyed having The High Tea it was so elegant and particularly refreshing after a morning of shopping. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryG392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a short stay in Berkeley Hotel over the weekend. the hotel location was easy. However, service did not meet my expectation.

We have placed in a room which we had to switch lift lobby to get to. We bought food back to the hotel and requested to borrow a fork, the servers asked us to wait for 20mins. Which was not acceptable.

We asked to borrow 2 adapters which the hotel staff also refused.

As we checked out, we asked for a cabby to the Don Minug airport. the hotel staff recommended for us to use their cabby which cost 500baht which included the toll charges. We refused and got a cab from the street charging by meter instead. And the cost of the cabby was only 200baht. We remembered clearly, we did not have to pass any Toll stations at all. Totally dishonest hotel staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights on 13th and 14th of may . We were upgraded when they knew it was my birthday at check in.Breakfast was good and the waiters were very attentive. We had dinner there one night and the food was excellent. For the money we paid I would highly recommend this hotel for the service, food and location. We will be back next year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank goodoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Check in experience was nice but then the trouble started: Room was dirty, Minibar completely empty. Light bulb in the bathroom broken, toilet seat loose. We informed staff, they promised to fix it but they did not do anything. Breakfast has a lot of variety but it is very noisy due to the architecture and lots of Chinese people. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveburkard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in the Main Tower with our 21 month old daughter and found it to be fabulous!

The Good:

It seems very "American" and its lobby door into the Palladium Mall was excellent and convenient!

The staff were the most hospitable we encountered in Thailand and were so accommodating to ours and our daughters needs.

We had dinner at The Mulberry Restaurant and even though I ordered something that wasn't available on the Menu they went to the hotels other restaurants to get it for me.

Our daughter turned into a noisy handful in the Restaurant (Something she never does at the local bistro or KFC but picks the nicer places to exercise her naughty behaviour) and we began to feel like a hindrance to other diners... HOWEVER, The Thai people love children and before we knew it, the staff had her giggling and entertained while we enjoyed our meals peacefully and comfortably and the food was outstanding.

Recommendations for future guests:

The tuk tuk and cab drivers to the right of the entrance are naturally there to get as much tourist money as they can and we found that when we used one, one day he took us all over the place to shops etc. in a bid to earn commission/fuel stamps from each shop we entered and after seeing what we spent in one shop he began to pester us to others which we found incredibly annoying. You MUST be FIRM with them no matter what. We also found that as we came out of the hotel the next day, the same cabbie was waiting for us to come out which was a little uncomfortable as we felt ambushed but this isn't necessarily the hotels fault, just a warning to future guests.

The Hotels Spa is beautiful, ambient and the staff are delightful however a 90 minute Thai massage will set you back 900Baht and a 90 minute aromatherapy massage is 1500Baht. If your just after a cheap massage instead then I'd recommend going through the hotel lobby door to the palladium and using one of the massage places on level 2 who charge 199Baht per hour and are open till around 10pm

Recommendations to the Hotel:

The glass shutters that separate the Bathroom and Sleeping area are beautiful however they were noticeably "streaky". A real minor note but that's all I have to mention as our stay was wonderful!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main tower over looking the pool and it was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vokaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
GLOW Pratunam
#95 of 885 in Bangkok
1,591 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#72 of 885 in Bangkok
5,740 reviews
Siam
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#376 of 885 in Bangkok
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam

Address: 559 Ratchaprarop Road, Makkasan, Ratchathewi | Close to Palladium, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £52 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam 4*
Number of rooms: 788
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing