We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a gallery”

Gems Gallery International Manufacturer
Book In Advance
US$235.14*
and up
Ranked #162 of 480 Shopping in Bangkok
Attraction details
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A gem of a gallery”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was asking our taxi driver where else in Bangkok could we possibly drop by after an exhausting temple run, and he led us to this Gem Gallery which is quite a reward. Said to be the world's biggest jewelry store and an ISO9002 certified. So expect the stones to be precious, right? Witness jewelers in action here. Strictly no cameras allowed inside.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ECLadines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    38
    27
    18
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High pressure sales tactics”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On a recent tour of Asia we were taken into this jewelry store. Numerous sales persons waiting to follow you around the store. Will not leave you browse, showing you one counter after another until you're worn down. I'm convinced the tour and guide get kickbacks because you are there so long. I ended up purchasing a ring I was immediately sorry doing. Upon returning home I attempted to get a refund, however, it's impossible unless you want to hand carry it to Thailand (according to the store). I then offered to have it appraised. Correspondence said their jewelry always appraised low so I have chalked this up to a bad experience. The tour company doesn't guarantee anything purchased there but did attempt to help me by writing the store. Please warn your readers to be very careful when taken here. You can buy jewelry in this country much less expensive and you know what you're getting. Mine was supposedly saffire and diamond chips ($1600) but now has no luster even after cleaning. Avoid unless you want to be relieved of your money!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BB310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Precious Jewelry”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Wonderful place with all the glitters around.
Just can't stop admiring.
There is a tour around to show how it started and what are the different stages through which the Jewelry goes through.
People are seated there making each piece like the earing , neck piece , finger ring etc.
Simply fabulous!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Only if you are a pro with gems”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Although it was a complimentary visit for us along with the Temples' Tour, we didn't enjoy much. Felt like that you are actually forced to go around all the souvenirs and the gems on display. One of the sections where the actual polishing and processing takes place was simply rushed through despite showing an interest towards it. The prices are very high (can't say for gems, but other souvenirs were available at lesser prices elsewhere in the market - so I assume same for gems as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mishra712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We first were shown a video on how the gems were made. Then were taken on a tour to see the real thing. Then went to see the sale and then bought souvenirs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gems Gallery International Manufacturer also viewed

 

Been to Gems Gallery International Manufacturer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing