We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but worth a visit”
Review of Jim Thompson House

Jim Thompson House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.75*
and up
Half-Day Jim Thompson House Tour
Ranked #10 of 536 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This former home of an American named Jim Thompson, who started the Thai silk industry after World War II, houses a magnificent collection of Asian art and many unique displays.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small but worth a visit”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The garden, architecture and antique collections at the house are very nice. I took quite a few nice photos at the small garden. Too bad that no photo is allowed inside the house. Admission is 100baht. The inside of the house is actually upstairs. So, if you have problem with stairs don't go.

On the way back to the BTS station (if you take their free shuttle golf carts), there is a nice new cafe, name "Cafe at Ease". Quite nice there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank beleebala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,141
    3,826
    1,156
    206
    67
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

A guided tour is good. The house is very pretty and well preserved. After a walk around the house, try iced lemon grass juice, it''s really refreshing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paploen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little gem in a big city.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The tour may only be 20 minutes and you can't take photos inside the house, but so what. The guided tour is an interesting look at Jim Thompson's house and life. There's plenty of chances for photos outside the buildings and in the garden. I wouldn't bother about the gift shop. There's a free courtesy shuttle to the train station. Well worth a look. It's not a traditional Thai house, but a great adaption.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Latte_With_One_Sugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“SPECIAL TRIP - NOT”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Jim Thompson house tour, retail shop, and restaurant are not worth a special trip. Do visit if you're in the area. Tour will take about 20 minutes and it is interesting to see how a wealthy man lived in the 1950-60s. He collected some antiques from China which are prominently displayed.

No photos are allowed in the main house and you must stay with the tour guide who keeps you moving at an easy pace.

The retail shop pricing is commiserate with Neiman Marcus. Selection is very limited but the quality is good. Why play $100 US dollars for a scarf when you can pay 100 baht (32.2 baht to the dollar)? If you're willing to pay $100 for a scarf Neiman Marcus will have a better selection and you don't have to carry it home in your luggage.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely visit”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to Jim Thomsons house a couple of days ago. This is my fourth visit to Bangkok and I'd not had the time before but this time I was determined to go and visit. I was not disappointed. A collection of traditional houses that have been beautifully kept, (including a house that was dismantled and brought from Ayuthia) and an interesting collection of antiques and statues. Some of the collection is damaged but each damaged piece has a story that is as fascinating as the man himself. I would also like to say a thank you to the lady who gave the guided tour for us in English on 1st May 2014 at 10:35. I'm sorry I can't remember her name but she was so good, very funny and informative.
Oh and proceeds from the house go to a local charity.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dude1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jim Thompson House also viewed

 

Been to Jim Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing