We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable”
Review of Jim Thompson House

Jim Thompson House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.76*
and up
Half-Day Tour of Jim Thompson House in Bangkok
More Info
US$42.80*
and up
Half-Day Jim Thompson House Tour
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Private Tour: Jim Thompson House and Suan Pakkad Palace Museum Tour
Ranked #11 of 552 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This former home of an American named Jim Thompson, who started the Thai silk industry after World War II, houses a magnificent collection of Asian art and many unique displays.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The architect and textile designer Jim Thompson loved Bangkok so much that he built himself a house. It is very special and well worth seeing, you can only visit it via an excellent and informative 40 minute guided tour (in english if required). There's a fantastic shop - but if you can bear to wait until leaving prices are cheaper at the airport shops.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nice-Nous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,205
    3,879
    1,171
    207
    68
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Finally found this place!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This place is not easy to find (before the time of Google Maps) but I finally managed to visit the place. It's tucked away at the end of a soi near National Stadium BTS.

All trips through the property are guided by tourguides who speak a variety of languages. We have the fortune of having a guide who spoke excellent English and has an exceptional sense of humour. Her punchlines and witty anecdotes kept us laughing away throughout the 35-min tour, which took us through the few different stilt houses that Jim Thompson combined to become his palace in the tropics.

Felt the tour's a tad short but still a very fulfilling experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ellcrius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tour guide Jim Thomson's make fun to my ear :(”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

While I'm deep with Jim Thomson house The tour guide point to me in front of another tourists. She said I have big ear and she laughing??? She said my life was long or short it depend on my ear and try to make everyone continue analized what she just said with my ear! Next room I keeping quiet and keeping space to her but the room was tiny so still not to far from her. Then she bring it to me again she call everyone and start story with my ear again c'mon what a manners I was so up set. I really want to disappear why she did it to me? I told her " I'm sorry I'm not your friend please stop playing with my ear I knew I have big ear but I don't want you to mention it I am your customer ... Please stop and continue your job." About 20 tourist was silent some are looking at her and walk away. This is very bad.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank totos265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating Story”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We didn't think we would have time to visit Jim Thompson's House but I am glad we did.
The house is situated near the National Stadium & is a short walk from the Skytrain station.
Everyone has to go on a tour & you have to wait until the next tour in your chosen language. If you do have a wait, check out the grounds which have lovely ponds with Koi Carp & turtles as well as flowers & silk buds.
The tour guides are very well informed, providing a detail insight into Jim Thompson's life & where/how he acquired the mass of antiques within his home. It is a beautiful building & I would thoroughly recommend a visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glowworm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Jim Thompson House”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very interssting house with a good story well worth a visit. Very close to MBK Shopping centre and Skytrain. Has a nice restaurant on site as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dazm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jim Thompson House also viewed

 

Been to Jim Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing