We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly cleaned, and generally bad rooms but good location”
Review of Tongtara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tongtara Hotel
Ranked #390 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
1 review
“Badly cleaned, and generally bad rooms but good location”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The room was very badly cleaned and there were stains and dead bugs everywhere. Even stains on the sheets.. Really nasty. I would not stay here again, altough the location is pretty good, close to Asiatique.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linde12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    107
    79
    13
    11
See reviews for
32
79
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I love to stay in this Hotel in every trip to Bangkok ... Its just awesome property. I have stayed in this Hotel 11 times... Breakfast is awesome.. Reception awesome .... From the Windows of the Room you may enjoy River view...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tejpreet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at Tongtara Hotel as I needed to spend time with friends around Asiatique area which is very closeby. The rooms are okay - a bit old but generally clean. Prices were also relatively lower compared to the trendy Sukhumvit area. Overall I think this place is good for one or two nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pozkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nan Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
331 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 night. Located at Charoen Krung road it is not really riverside but yes you have riverview from your room. And it is only 700 meter from Asiatique. Lobby and restaurant are beautiful & modern renovated. The rooms are a bit less good renovated. But the rooms are old fashion big, have airco, tv, fridge and bathroom with tub.

The staff is friendly & professional.

Room has old fashioned safe, wifi is not free, breakfast was good. The hotel has free private parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangNoi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I decided to booked because my family wanted to see Asiatique Riverfront ( which according to the advertisement, very close to it ); which turned out real: we strolled for 5 mnts to Asiatique. The hotel was also close by the BTS station ( around 10mnts ), hotel staff, reception and doorman were very friendly. The receptionist were very helpful, they even provide me a guide map, they called a taxi for us and talked to the driver so we dont need to explain more to the driver for our direction. Our hotel room was marvelous! The whole Bangkok riverside with beautiful Bangkok high rise building at the background...and... the most amazing view : stunning Bangkok eye ^_^ Our room was very large, huge bed, a nice bathroom; it was large and clean and wonderful smell...it got a nice looking dramatic lobby interior, cozy restaurant with great wall colour and lightning... for me and my family, this is the best hotel ever stayed in Thailand ^_^

Room Tip: High floor got amazing view ( we stayed at 12th floor )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyLia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Went to Bangkok and stayed here for 2 nights. I've tried earlier to make online reservation but can't go through.. Then we've decided to just walk in.. Surprisingly, the price much differ from what shown in website.. Almost MYR100.00 different. We tried our best to asked the front desk lady to gave us cheaper price as stated in website.. Unfortunately, she refused and said that it is a normal procedure..

At first we planned to stay for 1 night. But since the hotel is nice, also location is superb (near to Asiatique-night mall and 7-e) just 15 min walking distance, we decided to stay for 1 more night.

Highly recommended for those who love quiet environment, and love to walk..

My recommendation - Please make online reservation prior to your visit.. Definitely cheaper than walk in.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovemalaysia_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel for four nights and our stay was absolutely appalling. The staff were extremely rude from the outset (with the exception of the doorman who was very friendly) but the reception staff, room service staff and housekeeping were all exceptionally unfriendly and made no effort to make us feel welcome or make our stay pleasant. After our room was cleaned on the first day, we returned after a day out to see that empty glasses and bottles had not been cleared away, there was no new toilet roll which made things slightly awkward, to say the least. The rooms were incredibly dated, the bathroom was dirty, the staff could not understand a word of English and did not make any attempt to understand what we were asking for, whether it be directions or a coffee on room service. We ate in the restaurant once and had to wait 35 minutes for our lunch (a salad and a club sandwich). The sandwich was inedible - it was cold and tasted as if it had just been taken out the freezer. They then charged us 10% service charge even though we nearly missed our plane as we had waited so long for our inedible food. The location is completely undesirable with no useful amenities close by. The river taxis are around a twenty minute walk but these stop at 10pm and the roads are heavily congested so it takes hours to get anywhere. All in all, I would not wish a stay at Tongtara on my worst enemy. Unfriendly, dirty, rude staff and terrible location. It might be cheap but there is a reason for that.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Bangkok Centre Hotel
Bangkok Centre Hotel
#652 of 858 in Bangkok
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#205 of 858 in Bangkok
1,337 reviews
Sathorn
CNR House Hotel
CNR House Hotel
#634 of 858 in Bangkok
24 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Manhattan Sukhumvit Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongtara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongtara Hotel

Property: Tongtara Hotel
Address: 9/99 Charoen Krung Road | Bangkoleam, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#122 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tongtara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongtara Riverview Hotel is located within the old historical Bangkok Chinese community on Charoen Krung road and lies next to the Chao Phaya River, locally known as the River of Kings. Well located for business, shopping, and entertainment together with easy access to The Sky Train, River Boats, and local busses for your transportation requirements.Enjoy breathtaking views of Bangkok's city skyline and sunsets at the end of an exciting day from your room and the Sky Pool on the fifth floor. With easy controlled room lighting controls and air comfort, you will enjoy a peaceful night and wake up refreshed for another day of activities and new memories to take back home.The hospitality of the Kingdom of Siam, as it was known before, is offered by our hotel to provide comfort, security, and satisfaction for your stay. Centered within the old area of the former riverside Chinese business centers and shipping port, Tongtara has a local ambiance, style, and traditions which will provide you with different experiences as you walk along the streets meeting the local people and trying some of the local foods sold by the street vendors.Down side streets and pathways will take you to the Chao Phaya, River of Kings filled with ships coming in and going out of the main port area and local river barges carrying supplies to other cities outside Bangkok, together with public taxi transport boats which will take you up and down the river while enjoying the different scenery along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tongtara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongtara Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing