We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short walk to Asiatique”
Review of Tongtara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tongtara Hotel
Ranked #413 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The moment we arrived, we were stunning with the lobby decoration which was styish. We booked the Superior room , which is quite dated but clean enough. Even though the TV is not a flat screen, it has clear signal. The room has lots of spaces to put our things. Very convenient light and air con controller just next to bed.
Another pros for this hotel is thier location, which is close to Asiateaque. Just 2 mins walk. So you can go there for dinner and shopping.
So it's a quite good value for price. But if you are planing to explore other part of Bangkok, Then just 1 night here is enough ans they are quite far from BTS and Underground trian. Taxi would be the most convenient option available if you don't mind high price. [ At least cheaper that Phuket Taxi ]

Room Tip: Choose high floor. Some of them has river view but it will be in a higher category room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanmai_Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Its an ok hotel, nothing special. The room is nice as the windows are from floor to ceiling and it looks nice. The pool area is kind of boring but ok. Close to shopping centre asiatique but far from all the other famous Bangkok attractions

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It was a pleasant stay for me for two nights in a big superior double bed room! Hot water and buffet breakfast are overwhelming! Staff are attentive to your need. Overall pleasant and excellent stay plus the view i got when i requested was given riverside view! Happy with my stay.

Room Tip: Riverside view is good refreshing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nepal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Late review, have been meaning to do for a while...
Certainly not a 5-star resort, but good value for money. I stayed on a higher-up floor on my own for a few nights about a year ago. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Some of the furniture was a little dated, but everything worked fine. There was a huge window with a gorgeous view over Bangkok.

Room was cleaned nicely every day, the staff were friendly and tried to be helpful (with a bit of a language barrier). 5 minute walk to Asistique, 5 min taxi to BTS. Lots of convienience stores and small food vendors in walking distance. I would stay again if I wanted to be in this part of the city.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for great views of the city/ river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erini86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Me and my sister booked a superior room for three nights. When we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel's exterior and the nice and interesting decor at the hotel lobby. The location was also really nice.

However, when we got out of the elevator at 10th floor where our room located, the mixture of mold and air fresher stroked us. The carpets in the hallway and in our room were old and stained. The room and its decoration (television, refrigerator) were shabby and looked like more than 20 years old. We felt cheated and by this point I already had a terrible headache (I do not recommend the hotel for anyone who is sensitive or suffers from migraine).

We went back to the lobby and checked out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ansku2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here twice during a prolonged tour of south East Asia. I am a married young professional from London who wanted to travel on a modest, but higher budget than the average back packer. I include this info as with any review so much relates to your expectations and desires... I booked a Superior room on the 12th floor for a total of 8 nights
Pros:
Extremely friendly, professional and helpful staff all proficient in English.
Very spacious room with very large bed (extra pillows were provided on request)
I was provided with 2 free wifi tokens for 7 days each. Good connectivity in rooms
Good amount of TV channels and good reception including 3 eng language movie channels
Very clean room and hotel in general
Beautiful and well decorated reception and restaurant areas
Beautiful views of downtown river
Very quiet hotel both in terms of surrounding areas and no noisy guests giving a peaceful nights sleep
Bathrooms have a bath - a big plus for an Englishman!
Close to Asiatique and plug ins to main bangkok public transport, River taxi
Well located for airport taxi as south east based and close to required connecting road avoiding BKK city centre
Hair dryer, mini bar etc in rooms

Cons / negative angles
Breakfast buffet costs 300b per head - quite good food but expensive with little local alternatives
5th floor pool is shaded most of the day as it's west facing and shaded by the 14 floor hotel itself
Hot water In room was not alway pipping hot
Room decor is not quite as fine / opulent as the common areas but still a 7 out of 10 (...you may see the odd stain on the carpet - this was not a big deal to me :) )
Being a large establishment you won't enjoy the advantages of a personally owned, smaller guest house but that is good and bad...I include as you may find things done a bit 'by the book'
Other than Asiatique you're always a journey away from attractions, restaurants etc.

Things to note - Stop reading if you're bored ;)
The hotel not quite 'on the river' the hotel is set back some 500m as you'll see from the west facing rooms
It is about a 5 to 10 min walk to Asiatique - great place
The river taxi pier is another 2 minutes onwards - reception will give you a map and direct you
Your pier stop is the end of line named Wat Rajsingkorn pier. It is 2 stops to Saphan Taksin BTS sky train station at Sathorn Central Pier which connects you to the whole city
The river taxi is a fixed 15b fee on the orange line (which stops everywhere) and is quick, the longest journey I took to the other end of town was c35 mins)
The river taxi gets extremely busy at weekends
From 16:00 to circa midnight there is a free shuttle boat from Asiatique to Sathorn Pier - also extremely busy, particularly at WEs however this can be a useful connector from BTS to Tongtara even if you're not using Asiatique
The walk to taxi pier and A is along Charoen Krung, road which is a typical busy main BKK thoroughfare, but easily navigable. NB - the pavements / sidewalks are narrow and uneven so note if you have luggage or reduced mobility it can be tricky
Charoen Krung road is extremely busy for traffic, taxis , tuk tuks may sit in traffic for some time and even occasionally refuse to go there (BKK taxis are often worth avoiding anyway, thy refuse fares, won't use meters etc - it's a city wide issue). You can navigate using the metro, BTS and river taxi system once you get the hang of it and save money and frustration!
My conclusion would be if you are a person like me or on a similar budget who doesn't mind being a little out of the thick of it it's a great hotel for a few days to a week.
Hope the long read was helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ironside3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very near to Asiatique riverfront. Not too bad on the location. You may access public transport by Chao Phraya express boat transits to Saphan Taksin (BTS).

Room and facilities are old but clean. Apparently riverview is not the stuff you imagine because the hotel not just on the shore of river like Shangri la, Hilton etc.

Good staff and you may request them to call metered taxi without waiting on the roadside and cause any risks of unmetered taxi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Grand Howard Hotel
#527 of 891 in Bangkok
99 reviews
Bangkholaem
Grand Tower Inn Sathorn Hotel
Grand Tower Inn Sathorn Hotel
#843 of 891 in Bangkok
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montien Riverside Hotel
#270 of 891 in Bangkok
679 reviews
Sathorn
CNR House Hotel
CNR House Hotel
#764 of 891 in Bangkok
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongtara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongtara Hotel

Address: 9/99 Charoen Krung Road | Bangkoleam, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#86 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#125 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £29 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tongtara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongtara Riverview Hotel is located within the old historical Bangkok Chinese community on Charoen Krung road and lies next to the Chao Phaya River, locally known as the River of Kings. Well located for business, shopping, and entertainment together with easy access to The Sky Train, River Boats, and local busses for your transportation requirements.Enjoy breathtaking views of Bangkok's city skyline and sunsets at the end of an exciting day from your room and the Sky Pool on the fifth floor. With easy controlled room lighting controls and air comfort, you will enjoy a peaceful night and wake up refreshed for another day of activities and new memories to take back home.The hospitality of the Kingdom of Siam, as it was known before, is offered by our hotel to provide comfort, security, and satisfaction for your stay. Centered within the old area of the former riverside Chinese business centers and shipping port, Tongtara has a local ambiance, style, and traditions which will provide you with different experiences as you walk along the streets meeting the local people and trying some of the local foods sold by the street vendors.Down side streets and pathways will take you to the Chao Phaya, River of Kings filled with ships coming in and going out of the main port area and local river barges carrying supplies to other cities outside Bangkok, together with public taxi transport boats which will take you up and down the river while enjoying the different scenery along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tongtara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongtara Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing