We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old but cheap” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Ville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grande Ville Hotel
Ranked #597 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old but cheap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Old hotel, rooms need renovating. Roof top view is 360degrees. China town very busy and markets around all very much the same. Close to khao San road.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodazodpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    38
    37
    20
    13
See reviews for
17
23
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

I book this hotel from agoda.com. imake booking for 5 days.i like to stay in this hotel. very clean and wide room,bath room with bath tub.the room service is too good and the location is hotel very good near to indain market and near to china town just waking distance.
i will surly booking again this hotel again.but this time with trip adivser.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abebansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

The Grande Ville would be a fine, inexpensive hotel in Chinatown in Bangkok Thailand if it weren't for the fact that the air quality of the rooms is very very poor. The windows in the rooms don't open, and given the poor ventilation, mold and various pesticides and harsh chemical cleaners used in the hotel travelers are essentially trapped in unhealthy breathing enviornments for the duration of their trip. My floor (floor 18) was especially bad and smelled like urine, pesticides and mold from the minute I got off the elevator. Floor 20 was slightly better. The top floor slighly better still. But the smell of mold and cheimicals was still strong. I tried to get another room on another floor but the hotel management informed me that the floor was full, even though that was not the case. As a result of my stay I contracted bronchitis. I'm especially sensitive to mold as I'm allergic, but it's not healthy for anyone to stay in a hotel with bad ventilation. I'd say skip this hotel if at all possible. Especially if you are sensitive to mold, mildew and chemicals.

On a positive note, the rooms would have been nice if it weren't for the mold/smells. They are large and comfortable for a budget hotel. The breakfast buffet is very impressive for a budget hotel and was included in the price of the room.

I wish I could say more positive things about this hotel, but I can't. I got sick as a result of staying there.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vtgirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

i stayed in this hotel for 4 nights staff were nice. great roof top terrace with bar breakfast was ok location was fine short tuk tuk ride to ko san rd.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justin19811981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

The only pro about the stay was the breakfast on the second-floor restaurant which has been renovated. As for the rest of the hotel, it is way too outdated, especially the room itself. The matresses are absolutely uncomfortable, the carpet is dirty and the bathroom is really filthy. The edges of the tub had mold all over it! Will definitely not return again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv_earth_pls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Grande Ville is, like how the reviews state, is near China Town. The staff are very friendly, especially the doormen who helped and provided amazing suggestions on where to go and how much to expect to pay. They also negotiated taxi rides for me. In Bangkok, this is huge as everyone is looking to make a few bucks.

Back to the hotel; it is bearable. The best way to describe it is if you're looking for something romantic and elegant, this is not the hotel for you. If you just want a clean bed, washroom that works and nothing fancy, it is totally acceptable.

The breakfast buffet is decent. Not bad. A good way to get some food in you in the morning to fight the traffic and the heat.

The hotels lobby is nice and clean however the rest of the floors are in a major need of a renovation. The washrooms were old and dated with tile ceiling, the wallpaper in my room was ripped and the furniture was really old. There was a radio dresser in which the radio did not work but that was fine as I was not in Bangkok to listen to the radio.

All in all, it is a decent place for the price that you pay. It is near many markets if you're main goal is to shop. For affordability and an HONEST staff, yes, I do recommend. But do not expect anything extravagant!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyDraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a decent hotel, close to china town in Bangkok. They claim there is a swimmingpool, but that's no more than just a large jacuzzi. The hotel lacks atmosphere and is located at a very busy street. It's a nice place to explore bangkok from, but don't expect anything special

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
#637 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Grand China Hotel
Grand China Hotel
#371 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#425 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#403 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
New Empire Hotel
New Empire Hotel
#616 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Ville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Ville Hotel

Property: Grande Ville Hotel
Address: 903 Mahachai Road | Wang Burapa, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #597 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Ville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its uniquely high-rise structure overlooks the magnificent bird-eyed view of the city of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grande Ville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Ville Bangkok
Hotel Grande Ville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing