We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location right next to platinum mall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Ranked #322 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location right next to platinum mall”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

stayed in the junior suite from 16 - 20 oct 2013. staff were really great, friendly and helpful. the living area w a mini kitchenette was a little small but cosy for our family of 3, just a bit tight for an active toddler to run around in. no complains abt the room, we find them okay and quite comfy, clean and well maintained for the price paid - and worth it! breakfast was limited (they have a halal corner) - but it's almost the same menu everyday.

plus points about this hotel is the location; right next to platinum mall and a short taxi ride away from siam paragon, mbk etc. a metered fare to siam paragon costs us just 50bht, agreed fares are ard 100 - 200bht. v cut throat if you ask me as a metered fare to chatuchak with a longer route due to the traffic jam costs us less than 120bht!! and the way back to platinum mall for agreed prices are from 250bht for a tuktuk, 400bht for a taxi. chatuchak's very touristy and very overpriced. still worth a walk thru just to see what's up for grabs. my opinion is that you're better off shopping along the streets opposite the hotel towards baiyoke sky. they have really cheap stuff along the streets there! overall, a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    718
    259
    79
    35
See reviews for
218
147
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in early October 2013 together with another family. The reception was located at the ground floor right next to shops and a Starbucks. Check-in was prompt. There was free wifi, which was a bonus except that we were not told (not clearly anyway) that they only allowed two devices to connect to the network and you cannot logout to allow another device to login so we were basically stuck with the wifi access for the first two devices that logged in. It was not a major issue however as the Thai phone companies offer a 299baht phone/data SIM card that had free unlimited data usage for 7 days(!!!) and 85baht worth of local calls, with the 1gb data at very fast access. This package was more than enough for surfing on the go and YouTube to entertain our 4year old girl for the 5 days in Bangkok. The room was big and comfortable. The double bed was a bit soft but ok and the air-con was nice and cold. No complaints about the bathroom. Breakfast is served at the 8th floor Teochew restaurant from 6am to 10am with a good and adequate spread of food, both local and Western. There were two chefs on duty to make eggs/omelettes. Our companion travelers ordered the restaurant's Chinese food for dinner and room service and had no complaints as well. Location wise, the hotel is situated in between the local IT mall and Platinum fashion mall to satisfy the retail therapy needs of the men and women. It was also a reasonably short walk to the Central World if you are interested in branded stuff. Taxis are plentiful outside the hotel and the bell boys were helpful to hail the taxis for hotel guests. Taxi fares to Chinatown ranged between the metered fare of 80baht to agreed fares of 100, 150 or 200 Bahts depending on how anxious you are to go and take the sharks fin!! Overall, we felt that it was an excellent hotel in an excellent location with the ability for last minute access to Platinum and without paying the much higher prices (based on the rates in Agoda) for Novotel and Glow Pratunam or Amari Watergate (which by the way the lobby oozed with luxury when we visited the tailor there)!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JeromeLiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is my first trip to bangkok with my aunty. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in junior suite. Their service was not bad but their receptionist don't seem to understand english. Their furniture was old and our bedroom light was not working but it got fixed by their maintenance. I find their lights was dim. Beside that, it was still comfortable for us to sleep. We tried their breakfast the first morning, and we don't really like the foods and find it steep. We also tried their teochew restaurant, their service was good and their foods was nice too. The hotel was close to platinum mall and other shopping malls was walking distance. I hope they can do some renovation. I will like to try others hotel for my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confusedlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel's not brand new but strategically located in Bangkok. We were actually expecting something bad because it was cheap. And what a surprise,the room was nice! The bed was comfortable and big, the bathroom was nice, big and clean. I have no complaints at all. There was also a mini kitchen/dining area and a small living room with a rotating big TV, which you turn if you like to watch from the other side (living area & bedroom). There were also stocks of food there which you could eat...but was not necessary actually. There were lots of places to eat downstairs.

The stay comes with a free breakfast. Boy do I love asian breakfast! It's almost like a brunch...a heavy breakfast. Of course for my husband who was not fond of rice in the morning, had his bread and traditional european breakfast.

Don't expect good service in Thailand. Those at the reception were not so friendly looking and not very accommodating. maybe this was their way to avoid long conversation as they struggle communicating in English.

We chose to transfer to this hotel because of shopping! Shopping centers left and right. I was overwhelmed by the cheap stuffs they sell. But actually, shopping is not advisable in Thailand. You could not even fit the dresses you buy...it's not allowed and they get angry when you ask them if you could fit it. So cheap stuff and very bad quality.

Anyway, I was surprised to have a nice room since I read many bad reviews about this hotel. Maybe they were given an old room. Ours was certainly renovated. It had a modern look.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joclaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

stayed here many times before,but this time was by far the worst room we have had. GD needs too improve, better options around for your money. only certain rooms are worth the money you pay. 1. bathroom the worst i have seen. 2. front desk needs people skills

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank boom_for_real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

To echo most reviews, yes the furniture's old. but the room is of a good size, with separate living area. The location is an advantage. Breakfast was basic. Staff was friendly, but could do better, especially in their English language proficiency. Housekeeping/Maintenance was a tad slow, taking more than 30 mins to come up to our room after we reported a power trip. However all in all, it was not a bad stay, and we don't mind returning to Grand Diamond again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4D3N, great location to Platinum mall & Pantip plaza. Hotel is located in-between. Busy traffic and vibrant night activities around the hotel area.

Wifi provided but sometimes disconnected by itself. Room interior is old and noisy aircon. Big bathroom with basic amenities. Breakfast spread is international.

Hotel is good for it's location if you like shopping. The comfort level is of average standard.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank G_Kwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
GLOW Pratunam
#84 of 852 in Bangkok
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Siam
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
#257 of 852 in Bangkok
213 reviews
Hotel Vista Express
#342 of 852 in Bangkok
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Diamond Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Diamond Suites Hotel

Property: Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Address: 888 New Petchburi Road,Rajthevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#205 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Diamond Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Diamond Suites Hotel Bangkok, is located on New Petchburi Road, with Platinum Mall and Panthip Plaza on either side. Other shopping malls in the nearby area include Siam Paragon, MBK, Central World Plaza, and Siam Square. The Bangkok hotel is also near the BTS sky train line, thereby providing guests easy access to the various shopping centers and markets that Bangkok is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Diamond Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Diamond Hotel Bangkok
Grand Diamond Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing