We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Standards have dropped since 2009”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Ranked #203 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Standards have dropped since 2009”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We used this hotel in 2009 and it was amazing. Went back there March 2012 and found that the standard of the rooms and breakfast really dropped. It is still a good hotel though. Value for money and centrally located!

Next time when i visit Bangkok i will definitely try another hotel!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Suite is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SihlabaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    590
    193
    70
    54
See reviews for
360
470
60
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kermanshah, Bakhtaran, Iran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

very good room & bad location & excellnt breakfast

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omidniazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

It was my first time in Thailand and what an experience it was to stay at the Eastin Hotel Makkasan! On the day of arrival in Bangkok, we were stuck in a massive traffic jam from Pattaya and were already unhappy about losing several hours of our trip. However the great welcome we got at Eastin upon arrival made up for everything.

First interaction at the hotel was with Mr. Somroek Hundee a.k.a. CHAMP at the Concierge desk. As soon as I narrated my traffic story, he ensured that my wife and I cheered up and made sure our check in was quick n easy so that we don't waste too much more time! He also took us through all the places we wanted to visit and recommended some on his own... all neatly done on a Bangkok City Map (which he gave us!). Also, he gave us various discount coupons for shows, clubs, bars & other places which was a nice touch.

We got a room on the 16th floor overseeing the busy roads but what a view it was! The room was lovely with eveything so neatly placed. The bathroom was also fantastic with a neat bath tub and all that you need for your leisurely vacation. The guest name appears on the TV once you put it on! The TV has a nice interactive menu with Pay per view movies, music, internet and email capabilities. Nice though but using a wireless keyboard with an inbuilt mouse (hard to use) is quite boring. It's easier to go down to the lobby and use the free Wi-Fi!

It is very conveniently located with malls like Indra, Pantip Plaza & Platinum are at a quick walking distance of about 10 mins. MBK & Siam are also at a walking distance of about 20-30 mins but with all the heat, it's easier to use a Cab or take the Airport Link train to the next station and then change over to BTS to reach MBK & Siam. Lot of good street food is available in the street next to the hotel. Special mention to the Pork & Chicken BBQ stall at the corner! 7/11 is also right next door so it's easy to pick up daily essentials and a few beers from there.

Although we did not have lunch or dinner at Eastin, the breakfast on all 3 days was simply superb! It's a massive spread with everything you can think of - sausages, eggs, juices, rice, some curries, different breads, bacon, indian food etc. etc. Again the staff in the coffee shop is also very helpful & ever smiling! There are couple of other restaurants & bars in house with the highlight being the Attica Sky Lounge on the 23rd floor. It's a lovely setting for a romantic dinner and is open from 7 pm till 1 am!

Most hotels have great infrastructure, food & ambience but the USP of Eastin is it's staff! They're extremely friendly and always willing to help. The awesome CHAMP leads the way at the Concierge desk with everyone from the bell boys to the Info desk at the ground floor is always smiling and ready to help. In fact I had 2 customer service experiences that were really good - 1) The A/C stopped working properly on the 1st night so I called in the next day to have someone inspect it. I went out for the day however I found out that after coming back in, it wasn't fixed. So I called in again and explained the situation. Someone was sent to the room in 5 mins and first thing he did was apologize to me for not fixing this earlier in the day! I didn't expect that at all! The issue was fixed in 10 mins... 2) I used the electronic safe in the room to keep my passport & cash and locked it using one of my cards. It worked fine on the first 2 days however it refused to open on the night before I was scheduled to leave. I was quite worried as my passport & cash was inside. I called the guest desk and within 5 mins I had someone at the door to open the safe. He opened the safe in no time at all!

Honestly, the pictures on the hotel website do not do justice to the place. The place is huge (31 floors) with a nice looking swimming pool on the 10th floor. I loved the lifts too as they are quick & well lit up (unlike some boring lifts that I've seen before). I would totally recommend this place for anyone who's travelling to Bangkok - let it be business or leisure!

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the better view you get. Some floors are totally non-smoking so choose the right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed there for 6 days
Good location,walking distance from MBK and shopping malls
Very nice and clean rooms
Good and rich breakfast.The breakfast is served from 6 in the morning.It is very convenient to those going to an early trip
We went to a 2 day tour and need only hand lugagge,the agreed to keep our lugagge for free till we came back
Very friendly and helpfull staff
Free wifi at the loby and business center

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK5179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

A nice place to stay with swimming pool and very nice staff ranging from welcoming people on the desk office (special thanks to Mister Champ) to enthusiastic trainer in the gym and helpfull smiling room service.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agartala, Tripura
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Good hotel in good location with friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdsroyagartala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Without knowing why we were VIP guest. Free drinks and snacks in THE attica sky lounge, chocolate in THE room and newspaper in THE morning! When we arrived without booking, the reception of THE hotel advised us to book through booking.com/ agoda.com because that's cheaper. Great service and great views.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldhoogendoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#490 of 871 in Bangkok
811 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vince Hotel
#189 of 871 in Bangkok
265 reviews
Indra Regent Hotel
#303 of 871 in Bangkok
1,385 reviews
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#163 of 871 in Bangkok
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Hotel Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Property: Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Address: 1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#161 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastin Hotel Makkasan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for all occasions hotel in Bangkok. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is designed with an emphasis on supreme comfort and style featuring a contemporary interior reflecting our international chain brand essence. Our 4 star hotel in Bangkok provides excellent in-room facilities, various dining options, fully equipped function rooms and all the amenities expected of a deluxe hotel including complimentary Wi-Fi Internet throughout the property. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is the ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, providing family floors with child friendly facilities, a boardroom located on the 31st floor catering for small corporate meetings and The Attica Sky Lounge for private events featuring unparalleled panoramic views of the city skyline. Eastin 4 star hotel in Bangkok is conveniently located on Makkasan Road in the Pratunam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eastin Hotel Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Eastin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing