We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor; but might be okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Ranked #191 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Poor; but might be okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel is rather poor; but clean. Worn out; but functional. Far away of anything interesting; but cheap. So it really depends what you are looking for. There are more nicer hotels in this price range and there are more bad hotels in this price range. For myself i did not like it; but was able to sleep nice

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    561
    171
    65
    47
See reviews for
323
432
60
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed 3 nights, but did not want to leave, The Eastin caters for all. I met the nicest person in Bangkok at the Eastin Hotel by the name of Champ, his name suits him, as he is a champion. Thank you Champ for making me feel at home in the beautiful hotel.
The hotel is beautiful, clean and close to where ever you want to go. Champ I will see you soon

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pcroukamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Thank you to Champ for the amazing concierge services ,The great staff , friendly smiles and most important quality, friendly,warm and effiecient service is amazing . I was a lady alone in Bangkok but my fears where taken away when i realised that the number 1 priority of Champ and his staff was my safety and well being . i was looked after so well that doing Bangkok alone was not only easy but enjoyable . i have had nothing but good experiences in this city and I know that is mainly because Champ was able to help me do everything that intrested me . the bell service staff were kind and helpful and constantly looked out for my safety , the tips i recieved from everyone at the eastin has ensured that everythinmg has been smooth and effortless. i will defnitely be back and now i know that i will have no issues if i stray at the Eastin . i would like to thank Champ and the team for the care they have shown me . kaaphunka

from South africa
i will enasure that many of my fellow countryman know that there is a home away from home in Bangkok

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tashiani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg south africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great service from all staff at the eastin hotel especially Champ. He was a great help and made my stay extra special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travell3r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. It is close by tuk tuk to the malls and has a market street very close. there is an atm across the road, and has a tourism assistant in house.
the staff were very efficient, they stored our bags, as we arrived at 7 am and could not check in until 1pm.
the attica bar on the 23rd floor has a lovely view.
the pool is a good size, and there is a gym, although we never used it.
the only negative thing about this hotel is that it is closely situated to the highways and you hear the traffic at night.
the breakfasts were well organised and served a good variety.
the cocktails at happy hour were very reasonable and the majority of the reception staff spoke good English.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppins22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We booked this hotel for two reasons and it turned out to be a good choice - it was our last night in Thailand and after a couple of weeks of travelling and staying in some characterful but basic places we fancied a bit more comfort, as well as wanting easy access to the airport.

We arrived hot and dishevelled after a long journey involving a ferry, a plane, a coach, a train and 2 taxi's. From the moment we walked in the service was good and we felt welcome.

We enjoyed a dip in the nice pool, and enjoyed our first really hot shower for almost 2 weeks before relaxing in the complimentary robe and slippers. We then headed upto the roof terrace bar which has a nice view over the city and then tried the buffet meal in the lobby restaurant which had a varied choice and good quality of food. I tucked into the salad bar which made a nice change from Thai food.

Next morning we missed breakfast as we had an early start but got a taxi from the hotel no worries at 6am for the 5 minute journey to Makkasan station for the airport express which was a really hassle free way of travelling back to the airport and only took 15 minutes for 90 baht.

I probably would not recommend this hotel for an extended stay in Tahiland as it could be any room in any hotel in the worls, and is a bit far out from the main sights, but it was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: The view from higher up rooms is great - we were on the 19th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponytales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

like a lot of city based hotels this hotel provides all the necessary essentials but nothing special to make this the holiday to remember. All rooms appear to have either two twin beds or 1 single and are clean and fresh looking. They all have independently controlled air con units (esential for travel in Thailand) andare supplied with complimentary tea/coffee making facility with two free bottles of water daily. the cleaning standard is high with sheets & used towels replaced daily.
the hotel is spread over 28 floors so you don't get that individual service at some smaller hotels. one member of our party faced some confusion over her bill with bar charges in the region of £600 for one g&t but this was soon rectified.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWH_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#423 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#82 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vince Hotel
#194 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Sukhumvit
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
#134 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Hotel Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Property: Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Address: 1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#153 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastin Hotel Makkasan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for all occasions hotel in Bangkok. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is designed with an emphasis on supreme comfort and style featuring a contemporary interior reflecting our international chain brand essence. Our 4 star hotel in Bangkok provides excellent in-room facilities, various dining options, fully equipped function rooms and all the amenities expected of a deluxe hotel including complimentary Wi-Fi Internet throughout the property. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is the ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, providing family floors with child friendly facilities, a boardroom located on the 31st floor catering for small corporate meetings and The Attica Sky Lounge for private events featuring unparalleled panoramic views of the city skyline. Eastin 4 star hotel in Bangkok is conveniently located on Makkasan Road in the Pratunam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastin Hotel Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Eastin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing