We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - awesome location, clean room and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #190 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel - awesome location, clean room and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This was our first time at Buddy Lodge Hotel & Khaosan Road - we'd been referred to Buddy Lodge by friends that had stayed there in their previous travels to Bangkok and we're glad we listened to them and stayed at Buddy Lodge. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay, our room was clean and had everything we needed (air-con, safe, fridge, spacious bed and enough room for us to have both our backpacks open and partly unpacked).

We arrived at Buddy Lodge at about 9am and we had originally planned to ask if we could leave our luggage there until we check-in time. To our surprise, they allowed us to check-in straight away. Our flight out was the following day at 8pm, so we asked for a late check-out time of 6pm, which the staff happily arranged for us for an extra charge - 1000 THB - we didn't see this as a problem considering we were checking out 6 hours later than normal check-out time.

Buddy Lodge is really well located on Khaosan Road - plenty of food and drinking options around. But if you're planning on going to MBK via tuktuk, be sure to allow yourself about 15-25 mins to get there - there can be a fair bit of traffic for your driver to battle.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Buddy Lodge even though it was only for 1 night, but we both agree that we wouldn't stay anywhere else on our future trips to Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabysCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    503
    218
    64
    53
See reviews for
101
518
127
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Buddy lodge is a boutique hotel located at Kaosan Rd. Kaosan rd. is close to Palace, Wat Pho, Dusit, and many other attractions in Bangkok. So, you can enjoy the geographic advantage. This hotel provides free wi-fi and pool.
I visited the palace, and other attractions in the morning and enjoyed the pool in the afternoon. There are many restaurants, bars, clubs, markets, and Thai massage shops in the Kaosan Rd. I really enjoyed the nightlife there.
But I recommend to get a higher floor suite if possible because it is little noisy at night until 2~3am. Also, I didn't have breakfast at the hotel but many people said it is not that good but there are many cheap places that you can have breakfast.
Warning: Do not take a TukTuk or a taxi waiting foreign customers on the road. They are rip-off. I recommend to take a taxi on the road and say "meter".

Room Tip: lower floors can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJbulgom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I was excited to stay at Buddy Lodge Hotel in Bangkok.. I made this reservation after having stayed a week at the Buddy Oriental in Koh Samui..... great service.. great room.. great everything.. loved my time there... so.. one would expect the same level of professionalism and standards would be equal to the Buddy Lodge Hotel on Khaosan....

I was duly dissapointed in all aspects.. it is the same hotel group.. that is a fact.. however it is a far cry from the Buddy Koh Samui...

The evening crew handling reception was at best.. mediocre... They did there job.. don't get me wrong.. but it would be like driving a BMW 7 2011 series (Samui) thinking that all BMW's are the same.. and renting the same one, from the same people in Bangkok only to discover that the BMW 7 Series BKK is a worn out, 1999 model that has just been around the block too many times.. sure.. it drives like a BMW, looks like a BMW and is a BMW.. however.. she needs a serious tune up..

The rooms are.. the same, but feel worn out and drab... the service is there, but could be overhauled.. I assume that this is the first Buddy of the 3.. and it is disappointing as I would have expected it to be the standard, not the ugly step child.

Enough to say that I will, upon my departure.... having once been a newly "loyal" Buddy Group Customer.. I am now going to be a "one night stand" customer and seek my accommodation elsewhere in the future..

I don't mind paying the same money for the same service.... but I don't like paying the same money for less service and a downgrade in style and accommodation..

Room Tip: Not dirty.. but.. well.. dirty... walls have a permeant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

First time in the Khaosan area. I would stay at Buddy Lodge again, but don't think I could do it more than 1-2 nights at a shot. The hotel is in the center of the "action", yet a quiet get-a-way. The hotel complex has bars, tatoo parlour, Coffee shop...everything you need if you've had enough of the street action. The action on the street, however, provides incredible people watching, some touristy items, awesome street food...and should be seen at least once whilst in Bangkok.

Hotel staff were friendly, and I would come back. Free WiFi is nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
942 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Located on Khao San road (thus requiring a bit of a walk if you arrive after the road shuts at 4pm), we nevertheless had a room that was far enough back to be quiet. It was well appointed wih wood panelling, had a large deck and a decent bathroom. Breakfast was adequate. Staff were extremely slow (even by Asian hotel standards). The pool was good but crowded and we only got one free entry pass for a three night stay.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Good room with everything one needs and good location. Wasn't too loud, but not a place to go if you want peace - suited me fine. Will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckellygoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at a fancier hotel, but then while walking down on kao san rd saw this jewel...
we inmediately moved in and i have recomendad to several friendo, who have alse loved it.
It is not fancy, but at the same time it is exactly what you need: clean, comfortable, pretty and you just need to walk outside the door to be in bangkok´s most fun street.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompougnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#343 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#141 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#182 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#367 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#352 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Property: Buddy Lodge Hotel
Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing